We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Service and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Good Service and value, provided you book in advance and get a good rate. The rate usually includes breakfast which is good. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with most amenities one would need. Convenient location and close proximity to sandton city

Room Tip: High floor room as I always recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Pavanjugroop,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is highly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nikola Jelenovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    148
    71
    23
    19
See reviews for
20
45
31
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The service was good and i enjoyed the VIP status because of my award points. Felt like a princess, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Its a good place to stay if you want to feel secure and relaxed.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms away from the on-going construction next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "Thandeka Grace S"

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel on your most recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Rodney Bull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Mountain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We found the Concierge and and the people at the reception very polite, helpful and efficient. The rooms were as you'd expect. The service in the restaurant/coffee bar the first night was slack, but the meals were fine, but this was compensated for by the excellent service at breakfast. It's in a safe location and close to the best steak restaurant I'bve ebver exper4ienced, The Bull Run.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "BarbaraanBruceD",
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel on your most recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Rodney Bull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always a pleasure to come here in sandton. The hotel is walking distance from the nice restaurants and shopping malls in Sandton. They also have a very good parking underneath the hotel. But most importantly is the friendliness of the entire staff. Always smiling and willing to help :) I love it

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Bernard F

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel on your most recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Rodney Bull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A convenient hotel with some of the most slow-paced staff on earth. Apparently nice people with almost inexistent customer care focus. Good location, good offer for day trips and amusement options. Transfer services not cheap at all, but drivers are efficient. Polite staff but truly, incredibly slow. In the executive lounge we could see one of the waiting staff members just wiping used glasses and placing them with the ready-to-be-used ones. Needless to say we never visited this lounge again. Service and working procedures desperately need supervision and improvement.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest.


Thank you for taking time to do a review on our hotel on your most recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated.

I am very disappointed to read that we fell short on great service due to the inefficiency of some of the staff. It must have been very frustrating. Please accept my humble apologies for this lack of customer care. I have shared your feedback with the team and we are confident that the necessary adjustments have been made in order for this not to happen again. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for bring this to my attention as this is the only way we can make sure that you get the hotel experience you deserve. I do however hope that you will afford us another opportunity of hosting you in true Holiday Inn style when you next visit.


Kind Regards
RODNEY BULL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

stayed here at nights on way to Kruger and back from Kruger. facility is excellent and staff were very helpful. the breakfast buffet is very good. Well located. Felt safe. Mandela square and shopping is quite close by.

dont plan to sleep late as there is heavy duty construction going on right behind the hotel.

The first room had a shower which was immovable and i have to be pasted on the wall to get a decent shower.

Definitely on the pricier side and looks they are attracting business travellers

Room Tip: Please ask to be put in a room twoards the front side so you dont have to SEE the heavy constuction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear "Rob K"

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your most recent stay with us, while we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel, the service of the friendly staff and the breakfast buffet, it is equally disappointing to read that you were not able to enjoy your sleep due the civil works taking place next door to the hotel and also the immovable shower in your bathroom, please accept my humble apologies for any inconvenience caused by these two occurrences.

whilst we have failed to entirely meet all your expectations on this occasion, I do hope you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Holiday Inn Sandton.


Kind Regards
Rodney Bull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The location was actually extremely good for Johannesburg, at the middle of business center, near all highways, close to a bunch of big hotels and banks.

Also in a walking distance of Nelson Mandela Square.

The hotel covers all the expected standards compare to category and pricing.

Rooms are of basic size and comfort with the exception of the corner rooms at each floor which are more spacious than you can imagine.

Breakfast and restaurant are of basic variety but of good quality.

Service needs improvement in my opinion.

Reception and Lobby quite pleasant I must say.

Concierge Service and drivers excellent at good pricing also.

Cheers,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel in relation to your most recent stay with us, your comments are highly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be ideally located for all your business needs and that you enjoyed our service, the modern and spacious rooms as well as the hotel lobby, restaurant and concierge. The team welcomes your constructive comments on the service as an opportunity to improve the standards.

We look forward to your next visit which we hope will be soon.

Kind Regards
Rodney Bull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sandton
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road offers premier quality and service, providing the ultimate in comfort and style, while aiming to create a positively unforgettable guest experience, allowing you to just be yourself! Experience an unsurpassed warm and friendly welcome upon entering this luxurious Sandton hotel. Conveniently located in Sandton Central, the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping Mecca and highly sought after destination for the cosmopolitan individual. Located within walking distance from Sandton City Shopping Centre, the Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road is also situated conveniently near the head offices of some of South Africa's most important corporate businesses, including Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE), Deutsche Bank, ABN Amro Bank and Nedbank. Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road is also central to the Sandton Convention Centre; Sandton City, one of the largest shopping centres in the southern hemisphere, and Nelson Mandela Square; which offers a diverse range of restaurants, shops, entertainment and vibrant nightlife. The Gauteng Train Station is a stone's throw away. Therefore this Sandton hotel offers the ideal base for the business and leisure traveler. Whether you're overnighting for business or leisure, or simply enjoying sundowner cocktails or dinner with friends, Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road provides a memorable experience catering for all your requirements! You're at the heart of everything we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.