We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Extremely laid back and causal attitude to hospitality.

1. The service at the restaurant is horrible - they don't bother to serve , will ignore as much as possible
2. The supposedly 24hr chairman's bar near the lobby won't serve ...not even coffee because the waiter is somewhere at the back -- wait time is more than 30mins after complaining to the hotel management
3. Expecting dinner after 9:30pm is being optimistic ....they have a long face coupled with slow service

Not coming back ....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear "Vikram_Rathi",

Thank you for taking the time to providing us feedback on your recent stay. It is very disappointing to know that we did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback have been discussed with our Food and Beverage team and corrective action will be taken to avoid any future reoccurrences.

We do hope that we will get another opportunity to welcome you back and show you our true Holiday Inn Sandton Hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    163
    80
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
52
32
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Regardless of who booked you..if you are black and slightly fatty. ... (no sir i am not fat...we have big bones in the family ).....you have to pay before getting a room...which is ok..apart from the fact that the confirmed booking rate which I got a day before had doubled and I was required to pay before getting the room...and no it doesnt matter that I arrived tried after midnight with the mother of all headaches or the hotel forex rate was "stand and deliver" or I had a booking confirmation with a different figure or I threatened to conjure the spirits of my forefathers for an immediate commision of enquiry on to the actual price per night

Phone on farthest corner of the room...beats the sense of being called at night

Toilet door doesn't close...not a big issue apart grom a faint smell...atleast was smoking and partly smashed

Room partitions. .big issues. .. could hear my neigbor snoring till 4am when I blacked out...musta been the whiskey

No smoking. ..have to take the elevator to ground floor to the corner in the rain...recommend a heavy all weather jacket and inhaler just in case..doesnt help if you are a smoker...which in this case I publicly admit to indulging once in a while (a while being hourly when awake)

Tv works depending on which side of technology you sit on..even then it is four sports channels and something in a foreign language

THIS ONE TOPS THE LIST...THE DOUBLED UP RSTE PER NIGHT IS NOT INCLUSIVE OF BREAKFAST. ....ME WHO IS INSURED AGAINST MISSING A SINGLE MEAL!!!! WHY OH WHY IS THERE NO BREAKFAST. ...OHH WELL...SIP MORE WHISKEY

Plus side..free WIFI

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

At the outset, let me express my and my team’s most sincere regret regarding any inconvenience experienced whilst you were a guest at the Holiday Inn Sandton. I do however want to clarify a few matters mentioned in your review:

First and foremost, the fact that you were requested to pay for your room on arrival had absolutely nothing to do with your race, gender or posture. Your booking was made as a settle direct booking, meaning the guest is requested to pay in full on arrival. This type of booking was made by your organisation and was not influenced by our reservation team. I am not impressed with your allegations that this would be a racial matter, and can assure you that no one at the Holiday Inn in Sandton would act on such basis.

Your room rate charged was as per the room rate confirmed during the booking process on the day before arrival and has not changed in the interim. The room package booked was indeed excluding breakfast as communicated during the reservation process. Clearly, this was not clear to you on arrival, which we regret. A room only rate is quite a common package type, as some of our guests prefer to have breakfast outside the hotel or on their way to an appointment.

The fact that we organised a complimentary upgrade for you to a King size bedroom, led to the situation that we only were able to offer you an interconnecting room when arriving late at night. Our interconnecting rooms are separated by 2 fire resistant doors and generally provide adequate soundproofing. However, in case a neighbouring guest produces specific sound levels, the interconnecting doors might be a bit more sensitive than our normal hotel rooms. Our apologies for this unfortunate inconvenience experienced.

I am somewhat surprised to read your comments around the TV channels on offer, as we have a total of 21 channels and 3 radio stations available, providing a wide variety of news, sport and entertainment channels. Combined with our free Wi-Fi, in the rooms and public areas, this is always positively perceived by our guests.

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. Your interest and concern are much appreciated.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.


Garnet Basson – General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the HI Sandton (2 adults and 2 children) and booked 1 double room with a queen bed and an inter leading room with 2 single beds. The hotel is fantastic. Rooms were airy, spacious with a 24 hour room service menu...bonus. The location is central with Sandton City being less then a 3 minute drive away. The Village walk mall adjacent to the hotel is closed though. The Chairman bar in the foyer is amazing with exotic coffees and pastries and is open till 11pm. The Skye Bar is beautiful and really worth a cocktail or two.

The downside was that breakfast was R170 per person incl. kids, a bit much for little ones, I thought....so we just ate at Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton city which was a short drive away.

Besides that, we had a lovely stay and will definitely return to the HI Sandton

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear "Durban21",

Thank you so much for the "amazing" review. Your kind words is much appreciated and will be shared with all the Holiday Inn Sandton Team Members.

We truly look forward to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was our first stop in Johannesburg, very clean and small hotel. I liked the idea of walking around in 5 minutes such as malls and restaurants. The room was designed well, and there was a complimentary kettle to make coffee and tea. Highly recommend if you looking a hotel in this area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear "UgurYal",

Thank you very much for the wonderful positive feedback. It is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the rest of the team.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This revue divided into 3 parts: accommodation (rooms), conference facilities and meals.

To say upfront, I am a B&B person: I much prefer the intimacy of smaller establishments, and so am not a fan of big hotels. But on this occasion I was pleasantly surprised.

Firstly, accommodation. We were certainly impressed with the overall look of the place, and level of service has been great, right from the shuttle pick up at the airport and check-in procedures on arrival. The staff is very well trained: all friendly, all obliging, and all ready to greet you anywhere on the premises. So, top marks for that. The rooms are comfortable, with a nice workdesk with both a three-pin and two-pin plug. (There's also another connection for non-South African plugs.

The one niggle was that the lights work on a key-system, such that they go off when you are out the room. That's fine for the lights, but it means you can't leave a laptop charging when you are out the room.

The hotel also has a small gym, located next to the swimming, both of which have nice view across the city.

All this doesn't come cheap though, but I suppose it is Sandton.

Secondly, the conference facilities. Again, superb service from all the staff, all of whom are exceptionally obliging. We especially appreciated the support from the IT guys. Food and snacks provided were all good.

But the room itself was a bit odd. The lighting was very dull, and there was no mechanism to brighten the lights. They said that normally during the day there's enough light from outside. But, what about when it is a dull day, or during the evening? They also didn't want us to use press-stick to put up things on the wall - fair enough, it can damage them. But that's what you do when you have a workshop! They did provide us with masking tape, which I suppose served the purpose.

Then there were the meals. Although we had breakfast as part of the package, but if you don't it is VERY expensive, for a perfectly standard breakfast you'd expect to get any big hotel. But it was the evening meal that caused the most consternation. It wasn't like the restaurant was busy, but the service was literally laughable. Our poor waiter was quite overwhelmed, continually running and for the most part not with much effect. There was an inordinate wait between courses, or for drinks orders to arrive. The food was ho-hum, and pricey! There are lots of restaurants around in the area that serve much better food for less. (And oh, I tried to introduce my colleague to crème brûlée, which we shared. Let's just say I don't think she'll try it again!) Drinks' prices are ridiculous - R65 for a glass of wine, R30 for a beer. This is South Africa, for goodness sake, not the UK.

So, overall? Yes, I'd recommend it as a conference venue, though you could perhaps try to negotiate more reasonable prices. But don't go for a DB&B rate: rather go out to eat in the evening - you'll get a much better meal for much less.

Room Tip: Better view on the south side (I think the evenly numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
"Dear ""NautieZA "",

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. Thank you very much for the kind word and commendations, it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

At the same time I would like to sincerely apologise for not living up to all your expectations and would like to assure you that we have taken corrective action. We do appreciate your feedback to assist us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed there last week and I loved the experience especially the mini gym. Great rooms, the breakfast was ideal and the service friendly. I stayed there for 4 days. It is located closed to the Sandton City Mall and so walking there ad back to the hotel is very convinient. Would definitely love to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ''Tindi R'',

I am delighted to receive your review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton. It is always wonderful to know that we can create a home away from home for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for almost 3 weeks and service is perfect. We arrived early and our room wasnt ready yet since they said were fully booked so we had to wait a while. But all staff is very courteous and happy. Breakfast is quite complete. Wi fi throughout the entire hotel something might turn it a little bit slow during day since they have to many conferences and turn to be quite crowded during week. Pool was under maintenance so couldn't enjoy it but they do have a small gym on the same floor that was ok. Parking is avail but I find it awkward that you have to pay for it during your stay and is not complimentary for guests. Also since everything in SA starts going on early I think they should change their room service for earlier during day since always found room not ready by mid day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear "Carlita08",

Excellent review! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton! We much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and to the Holiday Inn brand.

Thank you for pointing out some areas of improvement such as the timing of housekeeping services as well as wifi connectivity during busy conference hours. We will discuss your comments in detail with the relevant team members and take action accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Warm regards,


Burnedette Jordaan - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.