We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodmead Guest Lodge | 84 Edison Crescent, Sandton 2157, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed there on a saturday evening and the hotel was not at all busy. Nevertheless it took the receptionist 15 mins to check me in...

Location is not that great, it is located in a business park, which is secured, but accept a restaurant in the same building , there was nothing else in the neigbourhood that you could visit/do without a car.

Rooms were nice and descent but the airco was quite noisy.

Breakfast was not that good, choice was limited and quality was not that great.

Overall basic hotel good enough to sleep but that's it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    38
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
11
3
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pros:
- Good Business hotel
- Clean, Comfy rooms with all basic amenities. Functional room layout
- Great value!

Cons:
- Very small bathrooms
- Breakfast is limited
- Very far from anything. No shopping malls, restaurants nearby. Need a taxi to move around

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night while overnighting in Johannesburg. The location was fine for us since it is between the airport and midrand/sandton areas which made our travel a little easier. That said, you will need a car to get here and to get around.

The hotel facilities were OK (it is a holiday inn express, after all, not an intercontinental) so do not expect fantastic facilities. Even though the hotel is brand new it already looked a little worn.

Staff were fine and we have no complaints. Parking is plentiful.

Be aware that getting here is a little tricky: you need to enter the business park from the main entrance which is on Maxwell drive, about 1/2 mile east of the intersection of woodemead and maxwell drive. It looks like you are missing the hotel, but after you have entered the business park turn right at the t-junction and drive back to the hotel.
The reception is on the second floor, so you will need to take the elevator if you have luggage.

All in all, if you know what expect (remote location and it is a Holiday Inn Express) it is just fine for a short stay, but I would not stay here for anything over 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was here for about two to three weeks and that has been average. There was clear absence of an above average experience. The effort was also missing.

The only solace about this place is the fact that this is close to a mall, however, not really walkable. If you are looking for good food, it is a far cry. Butcher block is the only restaurant which is available to you and the food is extremely average. The only person who seems concerned about customers at Butcher Block is a person by name "Patience". Do ask for her. The rooms are extremely small and ends before it starts. If you are looking at staying here for more than a week, then god save you. The breakfast here is just about fine.

You should request for a room which faces the golf course and preferable on a higher floor.The funniest part about this hotel is that the reception is on the first floor.

This place is absolutely basic, no swimming pool, no gymnasium, no pub or proper bar etc. So, the bottom line is it is a "short stay hotel".

The front office is just average, nothing that you would typically expect from front office.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week in March 2012 for a business trip. No complaints about the hotel. It was close to the offices I had to visit and close to main exit roads. Rooms were neat, nice interior, good sized room, nice and helpfull staff, breakfast was good. However, nothing really special about the hotel either. It is situated on a business park and there is not really much to do around there, apart from the shopping center a mile further down the road. No bar, no gym and limited free wifi. There is only one restaurant near the hotel, I didn't eat there because I heard bad reviews. There are a few restaurants within a mile from the hotel, however you have to do everything by car or taxi. I found my stay a little bit too long, but it is a good hotel for just a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This really is a basic business hotel designed I think for the busy person that arrives at 8pm and leaves by 7am the next morning. That is the only reason I can think of for the lack of anything at the hotel except for a bed , bathroom and a breakfast area. The staff were lovely cant fault that. A few cheap additions in the room would be great like some foc bottled water or even a mini bar (would have been nice to have a coke or a mini wine in my room). Definately not somewhere to stay for vacation use or for the weekend.
The bed is a small double and I left with an aching back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear AllisonSA,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

If your trip is only few days and your work is in Woodmead or near to it the book here.
There is no swimming pool or gym. There is only one resturant still there people coming to it from outisde the Business Park area.
If you need to do some outs then ask the hotel only to get you a taxi for both trips.
People are so polite and very helpfull. Most of the staff are young people but they are keen on making your stay nice.
The nearst shoopting and eat area is Woodmead Retail (1km away)area still you need a taxi for both trips.
If you rent a car then your life will be easier at night.

The main reason for me to go there was that all my work is in the business park itself.

There is only one resturant, so if your looking for vigitrain, halal, kosher food then probably you need to go out.

There is free tea and coffe in your room and may be the lobby too( they did not charge me in the lobby) there is a 30MB free wifi per day per device also it was fit me.

TV channels are few still you can know what is going around.
This hotel is based on a rate that is saying 'fit to the cost' so don't expect that your in the real luxury one. It is aggod rate for a good service the best fit every thing

Room Tip: Ask for king bed and make sure if you are not somking to be in a non smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.0 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#28 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westford Hotel, Sandton
0.0 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
0.0 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Garden Court Sandton City
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Address: Woodmead Guest Lodge | 84 Edison Crescent, Sandton 2157, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.