We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast, modern holiday inn, but with many flaws and in the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodmead Guest Lodge | 84 Edison Crescent, Sandton 2157, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #32 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast, modern holiday inn, but with many flaws and in the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

It looks like a pretty new hotel, modern design, fresh look. But there are tons of problems. I moved to a different room because the AC didn't work. Then the water in the shower didn't rinse away and the maintenance had to come and fix the clogged pipes. The free internet is only for up to 30Mb per day. That gives you about 45 minutes with an iPhone...
Breakfast was really good and free. Although the coffee/chocolate machine was out of order. Then one more comment. They are very anal about letting you pay before you get your room. Or they pre-authoroze your card. This causes huge lines at the reception.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear gobitz,

Thank you for your review. I certainly apologize for the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
3
8
3
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel is in an interesting environment amongst offices, a nice place to stay over if you are travelling to Pretoria in the morning for a meeting and do not want to be held in traffic.

The Express hotels are generally really difficult to be fair to when making an evaluation, because of the market in which they are designed to operate, but they are still 3-star hotels and there are expectations because they charge a price that should provide a service, which they don't provide!

Personally, I didn't like the reception arrangement, the breakfast food nor the fact that I had to go and pick up my room service dinner downstairs, I thought the whole idea of "room service" is food delivered to the comfort of your room!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

I booked some of the family into the hotel for Christmas due to the excellent service i had before. No complaints again. The staff is superb and the rooms are very good.

Double rooms are big and also have a sleeper couch...

The area is right next to a massive mall. There is also news cafe where you can have a few drinks and relax.

Overall a stunning place for both teens and adults!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Be warned - this is one property that required you to have a car....did I mention you need a car? Situated literally in the middle-of-nowhere alongside a series of highways, this pretty good and brand-new Holiday Inn Express is comfortable, modern and a pleasure to stay in. Rooms are fresh and clean and of decent size but I do miss an under-sheet on the bed instead of just an average duvet. I was disappointed with a very snowy television set and a rather chaotic breakfast where the coffee machine was not working. Another problem is the lack of choice for dinner as it is impossible to walk anywhere for additional restaurants. The on-site Butchers Block steakhouse (the only dining facility available) was pretty average and lacked a necessary professionalism. Having said all of this, if you are on business in the adjacent business park or area, you cannot go wrong with this hotel and you will be pleased to stay there. But, avoid as a tourst as its simply too isolated - although to be fair a very efficient shuttle car was arranged for me to take me to a nearby business meeting at a cost of R90. This hotel is certainly more Good than Average, but its location and poor dining options remains its biggest downfall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Booked this hotel accidentally for a business trip, thinking it was the other Holiday Inn in central Sandton, where I normally stay (and which I'm very fond of) ... and was to be honest disappointed - the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, next to a motorway in an office park estate, with the hotel restaurant as the only place to go unless you take a taxi. The room was clean but spartan and felt rather poky. Breakfast was (excessively!) frugal; evening meals in the restaurant were a bit better but hardly gourmet. The staff were friendly and efficient though. I shall be careful which Holiday Inn I book in future ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel was typical Holiday Inn Express with no porter service. Not bad, but nothing special either. In the evening, you have relatively no choice for dinner. There was no hot water when we were there. Even if there was hot water, there were no wash cloths. There was a restaurant outside of the restaurant called the Chopping Block. It was small, had a very loud group and the service was pathetically slow. This would not be high on my recommendation list.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed in many holiday inn / holiday inn express and all were good expectation. This hotel particulary had a serious non comfortable restaurant.
The reason of my disappointment is that when food/juice is over it is not being replaced quickly. Same thing happened to the cups. I had to go and ask for cups for someone to bring it in. Espresso cups were present first day but none in the second or third.
The other disappointment is the cleaning of the tables. And please don't tell me were busy. I entered the restaurant with three tables occupied and most of the tables were still having plates from previous guests or plates removed but tables are not cleaned nor having any forks /knives. Again I had to ask to get things sorted out.

The positive part is the receptionist team, they were quite helpful and fast in their service.

Internet is free for the first 30mb and after thatis charged. I was using my iPad and didn't cross that limit. The restaurant was not properly covered with wifi.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Address: Woodmead Guest Lodge | 84 Edison Crescent, Sandton 2157, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.