We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, especially for meat !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant
20 Maude Street, Sandton, South Africa
+27 (0)11 884 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Sandton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Continental, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, especially for meat !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Service is a bit slow, but you can ask for an assortment of starters (including garlic snales). Meat is extremely tasty and can be huge, if you want to. They have a good selection of wine.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear “FabianLoos”.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so.
How wonderful that that your all round experience was so enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    104
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ede
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nicely located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

nice restaurant, with open view on the bar and the butcher.
Friendly staff. Some good wines. Effordable prices

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ‘kees h’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We are pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward to you future patronage.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Balalaika 4 times in the last 6 months. Our first visit to the Bull Run was superb with excellent food and even better service. Clive is outstanding and very patiently went through a wine tasting with us on our first visit. We returned 6 months later and were not disappointed as we returned to the Bull Run several times to enjoy the excellent steaks and the fantastic service. Again Clive showed how well he knows his trade with excellent wine and food recommendations. We received fabulous service from our waiter, Busani. Thanks to Clive, Busani and all the staff at the Bull Run for making our visits so memorable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear ‘Alan W’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor. How wonderful that you enjoyed your dining experience so much. Your kind words about Clive, Busani and TEAM especially are greatly appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated them for doing a superb job.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

In our 4 night stay in sandton, we had dinner three times in Bull Run. It was full all these times. Had to wait some minutes to get a table, but always worth the wait. Absolutely great service, great steaks. Love the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“3 visits & 3 great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ate here 3 times during our 2 weeks in Jo'burg. Our servers Vance & Julie always had big, warm smiles and suggetsed various meals. Neither suggested the most expensive wine but paired hte wine with our food selections. Then there is Clive, a hands on manager who made us feels at home and offered valuable insight and history to the fine South African wines. The South African Knorhoek HvN Port was great as was the intro to the fine sample of Vin de Constance. Clive and his staff made our visit very enjoyable, don't miss this gem in the Sandton area, it beats Mandela Square eateries and puts the Butcher Shop to shame. As we were preparing to leave on our last night in Jo'burg, Clive went out of his way to introduce us to the Delta flight crew that were taking us home so that our trip would be more enjoyable. When we return to Jo'burg the Bull Run will be one of the places we will surely revisit. We have already passed on our recommendations to our local contacts in Jo'burg based on our excellent treatement. Thank you Clive, Jim & Sherlene Peterson - Huntington Beach, California

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear ‘Jim P’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful to read that your experience each time was such a positive one. Your praise about Julia, Verant and Clive is much appreciated. This has been passed on to them and they were very happy. Thank you. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Run Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.