We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant
20 Maude Street, Sandton, South Africa
+27 (0)11 884 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Sandton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Continental, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“absolute fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Johannesburg and must admit that Bullsrun is really worth every cent and is definitely better than "The Grillhouse". The atmosphere is sizzling due to crews, hotel guests from next door and the locals.
The Restaurant looks great with its open and spacious design (love the terrace) but still allows you to have a candle light dinner somewhere in a cozy corner. I really would like to point out the fabulous beverage manager Clive. He knows exactly which wine suits which dish the best and has lot more to say about southafrican wines and other local beverages. A good host at every table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ‘Mat_thecat74’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive experience on ‘tripadvisor’. Yes, our atmosphere is ‘sizzling’ which is thanks to our awesome & wonderful Patrons. Your praise about Clive in particular is greatly appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated him on doing a super job!
We look forward in spoiling you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    104
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just had a fantastic meal at this restaurant-lovely atmosphere in a safe and secure environment-great service And absolutely superb Food-Well done everybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ‘Bambino145’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. We are very happy and pleased to read that your all round experience was so wonderful.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better options nearby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Steaks are OK but nothing outstanding. The so called creme brule is a very strange concoction bearing little resemblance to the real thing. Well worth paying a little more in Nelson Mandela Square if you are looking for a quality meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ‘maccaspooksralu’.

Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’
We are sorry to hear that you feel that the Crème Brule was a ‘strange concoction’.
If it had been brought to our Management Team’s attention, I can assure you that we would have rectified your dissatisfaction towards the shortcomings.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I wished there was a Bull Run @ home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've had dinner @ the Bull Run 10+ times over the past 7 years, a must when I visit Johannesburg and never being disappointed. The meat is just great and the wine of high quality. The service matches the product an last but not least the starter with Biltong delicious. One small remark, the rainbow salad with Biltong which was on the menu a few years ago, was even better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ‘Goldmember_51’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are greatly appreciated. How wonderful that the experiences you have had in the Bull Run have been so positive and keep making you return. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward in spoiling you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ate there 3 times during the last week.
Very friendly staff
Good and exact cooked meet
Nicely decorated
Reasonable price
Glass of wine , veggies, fillet minion and desert cost me 33$

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ‘PurpleLady_11’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jöerg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Run Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.