We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Run Restaurant

The Bull Run Restaurant
20 Maude Street, Sandton, South Africa
+27 (0)11 884 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 133 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Very good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was at the bull Run 2 times in January. First time was fair... but the steak was overcooked. Second time we told the waiter about our experience, and he promised it would be better this time... It was the best, most tender steak i have EVER had. 400 g. fillet.... Go there.... you will be suprised :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear 'nvestrlund'.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ about your all-round experience at the Bull Run, are most appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your fillet so much. We thank you for your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    125
    41
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not Impressed at all!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We maded a reservation throught the website, but at the reception they didnot know this. So no reservation!
At the table, we had hardly any light to read the menu. We had no napkins.
Then the food was very average, the chips were super bad!
I had a nice desert, chocolat basker, jummie. But that was the only thing. The service was very poor!.
We are not going there any more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear ‘Annemieke N’.
Thank you for taking the time to voice your experience on ‘tripadvisor’.
We are sorry to hear that you feel that the food was average and the service was poor.
If it had been brought to our Management Team’s attention I can assure you that we would have rectified your dissatisfaction towards the shortcomings.

Kind regards
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Another top restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have eaten here several times now and I have even started to stay at the Balalaika hotel next door so I can use the room service occasionally when I'm not eating out.
Room service, the pork ribs are great, in the comfort and privacy of your room you can rip into the juicy ribs and not worry about making a mess, the ribs are great.
In the restaurant, a great vibe/atmosphere, great service and great steaks.
This place improves with every visit as the menu becomes more familiar. I can't recommend a particular steak as I have tried them all and they were all very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear ‘andyove’.
We kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are truly appreciated. How wonderful to read that you have enjoyed all your meals with us thus far. Yes, our pork ribs are very juicy and mouth watering. We look forward in spoiling your taste buds again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate there twice during our recent stay in Jo'burg, the steaks are delicious, best I had in South Africa. The chicken breast one of our dinner companions had was juicy and the salad outstanding, big portions. The absolute treat is the dessert, we had creme brulee with wild berries - too good to be true! This is in my opinion the best choice of restaurant in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear ‘shifrah14’.

Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ about your all-round experience at the Bull Run, are most appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your meals so much. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward in spoiling you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Steak Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited twice during our short trip to South Africa between Christmas and New Year. We don't normally seek out steak restaurants but the steaks are so good here. I had the fillet mignon and the other half had pepper steak, to start we shared the biltong salad with avocado (portion is very big) which was delicious, esp the avocado, For pudding we shared an amarula malva pudding with a glass of constantia wine. Delicious! We had the same meal twice but had different wines, first meal the cabernet sauvignon Knorhoek which was lovely, but second time had a pinotage which wasn't on the menu but recommended by the wine steward, very very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear ‘fru_sorteravn ’.

Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words are much appreciated and we are pleased to read to you enjoyed your all round meal expereince so much. We look forward to serving you ‘a wealth of good taste’ in the future.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Run Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.