We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B in the heart of Joburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rivonia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 River Rd, (Edenburg), Rivonia 2128, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome B&B in the heart of Joburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I spent a week at Rivonia during a recent business trip to South Africa. It was terrific. The breakfasts are delicious and service is great. I love the fact that the B&B owner personally makes you a cappuccino each morning. The setting is very nice whether it be for a business traveller or family. The next time I go back to Joburg, I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
56
23
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

It was so refresing,the staff were all so humble and nice to us.The front office lady(FIlter) was particularly outstanding.she always had the perfect smile and made us feel more than at home.we are from Finland and wouldnt hesitate to refer all our friends and families to Rivonia Bed and breakfast.Thank you guys

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just one night and could not stop talking about it. The rooms are PERFECT. And the grounds are beautiful. The staff made sure we had EVERYTHING we needed. The room we stayed in had a mini fridge and microwave so we never had to leave. I will never stay anywhere else in Jo'burg!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

If you want a clean, friendly and central place to stay, this is the place to be!
The exceptional friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the convenient location , the charm of the accommodations, and the high quality of the breakfast are good reasons for anyone to consider staying at Rivonia B&B
This is my Home away from home 1 week a month for the past 9 months and it will be for as long as my company require me to travel to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

What a gem. Staff couldnt do enough for us and made our stay pefect! A home away from home. We will come again..and again. Thank you Zani and Fillitah!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I totally agree with all the other reviews. A really great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. We were a family group of 11 and it met all our needs from 4 - 76 years old. Perfect. Very well equipped, very helpful and friendly staff, great breakfasts, very clean and comfortable rooms and surroundings. And safe too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent 6 weeks with a German TV station during the World Cup Football 2010 and found it was the perfect accomodation. Everything worked perfectly throughout. The location in Rivonia/Sandton is very good - walking distance to shopping, restaurants and fitness, short drive to Sandton City, easy access to the N1 motorway. The rooms leave nothing to be desired with TV, wifi internet, heating, all nicely decorated. We found very handy that every room comes with microwave and cattle. Full 4-star standard! Breakfast was excellent, very extensive from Continental to cooked breakfast, fresh and always a perfect variety. Transport is available through the hotel shuttle minivan. The best about the hotel is the service though: wonderful staff, extremely competent and helpful. They accommodated every wish (from shopping for vuvuzelas to print out airplane boarding passes) and our special thanks goes out to Fillitah, Zani and Maryna, the manageresses. Rivonia B&B's description would not be complete though without mentioning the owners/hosts Jill and Gerard Marais, the most delightful people we met. Thanks to all and yes, we can definitely recommend the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 River Rd, (Edenburg), Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.