We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rivonia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 River Rd, (Edenburg) Rivonia | Gauteng, Rivonia 2128, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Shuttle bus service
Ranked #1 of 13 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Rivonia. It is a quiet guesthouse nestled away in a beautiful corner of Sandton. I had never been to Jo-Burg before but knew that I didn’t want to stay in a more commercial hotel; I wanted a feel for the real Johannesburg. Right away the staff made me feel at home. My room was located near the pool and in the morning I could hear the birds singing! Not to mention my room was beautiful and the dinners were delicious. The grounds were also very well maintained and I enjoyed my stroll through the gardens. If I ever come back to Johannesburg I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your first visit to Johannesburg gave you a feel of what our city is really about. We love 'Jozi' and its special vibe. We also love telling visitors about all the fun and interesting things to do around Sandton. You mention the bird life. The birds are part of the Rivonia B&B 'family' and every morning they're given a right royal breakfast served in their bird feeders. Thank you for your kind words. Gerard, Jill & the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
60
24
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I brought a group of 9 people to South Africa. Rivonia B&B was the ideal place to start our journey. The staff extended themselves beyond the normal bounds of hospitality in the welcome, warmth, friendliness and the way they are accommodating and helpful. The rooms are lovely and the grounds are beautiful. An ideal introduction to the country, we felt like we arrived as guests and left as family!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clustered around lovely gardens, and any will be a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We're so glad you chose our establishment and we're more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff make every effort to make our guests feel at home. We are continuously revamping and renovating our rooms and our gardens are our pride and joy; so many thanks for your appreciative review. Your words really inspire us. Gerard, Jill & the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

While traveling with a group of students to South Africa I was looking for a place to stay that was safe and outside of Johannesburg. I choose the Rivonia Bed & Breakfast sight unseen after finding it on TripAdvisor. I was NOT disappointed.

The staff is super friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and rooms are nice maintained.

The breakfasts are great and there is quite a variety with something for everyone.

This is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in and I highly recommend if you are looking for great accommodations for a reasonable price outside the hustle and bustle of Joburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tete, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Rivonia BB from 12-14 May and it was awesome! We're travelling for first time and were a bit not knowing what we would find in J'burg. Our fears, hesitations vanished as soon as we entered Rivonia BB. Fillitah and her team were great and we felt safe and at home.
The place is really a "little bit of country in town"; quite, very accommodative. The rooms were always clean and organized; the staff was warm, very friendly and always at hand whenever the guest needed some assistance.
We'll cherish the moments spent there and definitely Rivonia has become our place of choice for accommodation in J'burg. We'll come again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We really appreciate your complimentary review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as our aim is to make people feel welcome, secure and relaxed. Best wishes for any future travelling you may do and may we see you again soon. Gerard, Jill & the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We travelled 5500ks whilst in South Africa and stayed at 13 different locations. The start of our trip was at Rivonia B&B and we returned again after 3 days in Kruger national park. We also returned at the end of our trip. Rivonia B&B got our vote as being the best of all the places we stayed at. To me it deserves a hands up, 5 star rating. The staff were friendly and helpful, appeared happy and content and were just wonderful to be around. The rooms were very comfortable, well decorated and perfectly maintained. The grounds were beautiful and relaxing and the breakfast spread was just fantastic. Just wish it wasn't so far away from Australia so I could visit it again more readily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your greetings all the way from Australia. Our B&B is special to us, and ,when our guests say the same, we feel really encouraged. We appreciate that you rate us 5-star and that we made your South African experience special. We've just been awarded the 'Winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. 2013' so we are very excited. Gerard & Jill and the Rivonia B&B team send their best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palapye, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great experience. It is quiet. It is sane and safe. Nice gardens, fully serviced rooms (even the little things!) keep it up guys.
I will always cherish the moment I chose you as my accommodation partners! I am coming back in June/July for the food and beverages expo.
The customer service is excellent guys, the whole team is friendly…Mellitah you are the bomb... Mandla and the kitchen staff, Wow, what can I say, the breakfast was perfect, I just have to re-check my weight to avoid being on the offensive.
I have no other place in Jo/burg but Rivonia B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
'Rivonia defines Sandton'. Wow. We might just plagiarize your heading! Thank you for saying all those goods things. We agree, the breakfasts are so great one tends to lose sight of the scale.... Please visit us again whenever you come to Jo'burg. Gerard & Jill and the whole Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Rivonia B&B while attending a 2-day workshop at the nearby university campus. We added a couple of days to be tourists in Joburg. Everything about our experience was top quality. The room was pleasant and very comfortable, with all the amenities of a very good quality hotel. The grounds were beautifully maintained and a pleasure to walk through. The service in every part of the facility was always friendly. The food was delicious and varied. Our many questions were knowledgeably answered and reception staff provided able concierge services, making restaurant reservations and arranging tourist experiences. The driving service was convenient and helped to make our time away form the B&B stress free. All around an excellent experience. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We really love what we do and we're glad when others enjoy our guesthouse with its rambling gardens. Jo'burg, too, is exciting. There is so much to do and see in the surrounds - so glad you enjoyed exploring the sights. We have just been awarded the 'Winner of a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence.2013' ,so we are a little over-excited at the moment. Best wishes from Jill & Gerard and the whole Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 River Rd, (Edenburg) Rivonia | Gauteng, Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Mouth watering breakfasts, buffet & cooked-to-order, are served daily. Dinners are served Mondays - Thursdays (by arrangement). A shuttle service is available for transfers to & from OR Tambo & Lanseria Airports (charges apply). Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.