We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIvonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rivonia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 River Rd, (Edenburg), Rivonia 2128, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPECIAL RATES. Dec. 2014
Ranked #1 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
“RIvonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a family friendly environment, Liked the idea of a kitchen because you have the option of cooking for your self if you want to. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. Thanks Filtah and your friends

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We really appreciate your review! Our staff try their very best and it certainly motivates them when we print out your comments and share it with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
56
23
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed in the Rivonia Bed & Breakfast for 5 months and it is a real home from home. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, the staff is super friendly and the breakfast is an absolute dream. It is a must to stay there whenenver you are in Johannesburg! I definitely will be back. Thanks so much again to the Rivonia B&B team for looking after me and our whole team so well!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
It was a pleasure hosting you and your team. We send you our best wishes and hope to see you again some day soon. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of spending some time at the Rivonia B and B. Everything, from the warm and friendly welcome, to the helpful porters, lovely rooms, peaceful and beautiful gardens and facilities and superb breakfast made this an experience to cherish. I have travelled widely and no other B and B has come close to offering what I recently experienced. The staff have just the right knack of making you feel instantly right at home, but also combining this with a top quality, attentive and professional service. Rivonia B and B is located in a quiet residential area but within easy access to any facilities that are required. I will gladly recommend Rovonia B and B to anyone and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I would suggest, until building renovations have been completed that you request a room on the River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
My husband and I always stay in guest houses when we travel overseas. We take note of exciting new ideas which we encounter. We rush home and try to implement all the little touches that made our B&B stays so comfortable. So when you call us 'truly world class' we really appreciate it, as that is what we are trying to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Med
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've stayed here before on business and when an airline rescheduled our flight home and we needed to stay in the Joburg area, it was a no brainer.

Rivonia B&B is a gracious and old fashioned (in the nicest sense) journey into a world of comfort, courtesy and beauty.

The grounds are relaxing and the breakfast room has a gorgeous view of guineau fowl and other creatures walking aound the pretty pool area.

A very good meal delivery service rounds off what is an unbeatable experience - best wises to Mr and Mrs Marais and congratulations on what you have built over the years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We like our guest house being called 'gracious' and a little 'old fashioned'. We like our guests to feel 'cosy' and 'comfortable'. Thanks for taking the time to write good things about us. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

one of the best places i have stayed in and i have traveled to 65 countries. Excellent service and attention to detail. Floor heating during the winter was a huge plus. The breakfast alone was of 5 star quality. 5 minutes by car to rivonia central. I will definitely go back

ramesh

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
65 countries - and we are the best. Thanks for the HUGE compliment. We love adding variety to our breakfast menu and really have fun dreaming up new dishes to serve. Yes, we are also sold on the underfloor heating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

As noted this a home away from home. Owners and staff are fully engaged in making a stay the most comfortable and relaxing as possible.

Room Tip: Have yet to have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. So glad you like Rivonia Bed & Breakfast. Gerard and I enjoyed hearing your USA news as we have family there too. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I spent over four weeks in one stretch and I loved every day. The setup is excellent for people like me who need a home away from home. Great location and facilities. The outstanding bit is the personalized service which is not too invasive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
We are so glad you felt at home at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast. Four weeks is a long time to be away from friends and family. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We, the owners, and our hard working staff, love to bask in in the warmth of kind words. They make us try even harder. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 River Rd, (Edenburg), Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.