We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand River Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand River Guest House to your Saves list
Sand River Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Rodwiella Road, Rivonia 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Bronwyn and staff will make you stay very comfortable. Staying here is like staying in your own home but with full service. There is everything you need to be comfortable. I have been using thiem for years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: There are 4 identical rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at Sand River recently when we travelled to SA to watch the World Cup. We couldn't get a room at any of the usual hotels and our agent managed to get us a room at Sand River. Having never stayed in a guesthouse in Jo'burg before, we weren't sure what to expect. I did know however that Sandton is a safe and affluent area in Jo'burg so security wouldn't have been an issue.

We found the guest room to be comfortable (though one must not expect luxury), clean and most importantly, WARM. They have underfloor heating here in Sand River which was a godsend because we experienced two of the coldest winter days in Jo'burg for many years (according to the locals).

Bev, Margaret and the rest of the staff made us feel very at home here. Bev especially makes a special effort to chat with you and she is full of helpful tips. The common living room with its roaring fire place is a nice place to while time if you don't feel like going out. There's also a TV in the living room which was running all the matches when we were there. They also keep an honesty bar in the common living room (no mini bar in the guest rooms).

The breakfast is pretty standard fare - cereal, fruit, eggs and bacon, coffee and tea.

Sand River is very close by to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Mall (two large malls in Jo'burg). Less than 10 mins away by car. However, I'm not sure whether the private taxis are out to fleece you because that 10 min ride there cost us Rand 130 (an equivalent ride in Cape Town cost us Rand 60). Maybe it was due to the World Cup?

Most of Sand River's guests are business travellers but it's great for a leisure traveller as well. Feels more like being in someone's home than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My friends and I were here for the World Cup, and were witness to some award-winning hospitality by Bev, Margaret and her team. They were accomodating, helpful and extremely friendly.

The guest house itself is beautiful. Very often, photos can disguise what might be a somewhat disappointingly ordinary residence, but in this case, we felt Sand River was a real treat, complete with a genuine wood fireplace.

Some travellers might find some of the standard (non-courtyard, I think?) rooms on the small side, but overall I myself found it comfortable enough, and the underfloor heating and heated blankets more than made up for it.

While we were here in winter, I suspect Sand River Guest House will be absolutely gorgeous in the summer.

The only possible downside is the slightly spotty Wi-Fi, but don't let that stop you from staying at Sand River as the service, hospitality and indeed everything else more than makes up for it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, Kzn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Staying at Sand River Guest House is always such a pleasure. The rooms are spotless, spacious and open onto a wonderful garden and river area where one can quite easily forget this is the centre of Sandton. Margaret and her team provide brilliant service and no request is a problem. Friendly touches such as the honesty bar make you feel quite at home, and make sure to leave enough time to enjoy the breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand River Guest House

Address: 6 Rodwiella Road, Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sand River Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning guesthouse conveniently located in Rivonia, Sandton. 6 rooms on the river property and 2 self-catering cottages 1 block away. Rivonia Valley is a security suburb and safety is paramount. It's hard to believe you are in a big city when absorbing the sounds of the local bird life whilst appreciating the river view. Wireless internet, full breakfasts, conference room (10), under-carpet heating in winter and air-conditioners in summer. 7km from the Sandton Convention Centre and 10km from Monte Casino. Plenty of restaurants in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sand River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand River Guest House Rivonia/Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand River Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.