We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis indeed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Signature Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oasis Signature Hotel to your Saves list
The Oasis Signature Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Homestead Road | (enter Homestead Rd off 10th Ave), Rivonia 2128, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long Stay Discounts 5-25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Oasis indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I travel widely for work and am becoming increasingly allergic to large hotels, no matter how many stars they have behind their name, but when I choose a guest house for a more homely and peaceful environment, I am often disappointed by the lack of comfort and service. Not so here! I stayed at the Oasis for approximately 4 weeks for work in June / July and was extremely impressed by how welcoming and friendly Anita and Grahame were, without being in any way intrusive or invasive of privacy. The level of attention to detail in the furnishings and finishings rival the most excellent larger hotels, the garden is a delight and the practice of hanging left-over fruit in the enormous trees, makes sure that the garden is always populated by magnificent birds of all colours and sizes. In all a really great choice form just about every aspect I can think of. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: the garden rooms were my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We so enjoyed having you and your crew here to liven up the place and we were particularly delighted when you chose to bring your family to stay here as well. What confident young gentlemen you have both parented! We strapped a Barbet breeding log on to that "feeding tree" and the Barbets' now have a younster peeping out - too cute! I will post a photo of him for you. We also have two tiny babies in their flimsy "spider web nest" This is the third set of fledglings form this Sunbird family. Fond regards and good memories, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
53
21
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On our 4-week trip throughout the region, the folks at Oasis were one of the friendliest and warmest we met. The service level is high and we can't think of something they didn't think of! You can even make your own sandwiches for lunch for free. The chef taught cooking himself, but is a real natural - what a great food. Although the interior of Oasis is very classic, it suits the place perfectly. Rooms are big, comfortable and have big en-suite bathrooms. The garden and pool area are also very well-kept. Furthermore, the guesthouse is very close to "Lillisleaf", the hideout of the 'Rivonia-12' (including Nelson Mandela) which now turned into a very nice modern museum and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
What a breath of fresh air to meet two such young, enthusiastic and adventurous travellers! Thank you for the review and I will definitely let Owen know that his skill in the kitchen is appreciated! We look forward to your next visit where your travels take you further south into our wonderful country. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this guest house highly enough, everything about it has been absolutely faultless. The welcome from everyone was warm and friendly ( including the pets), the room was spotless, the staff are kind and efficient, the grounds are beautiful and as a single female business traveller in ZA I have always felt secure and comfortable. I may have stayed on business but I will be coming back and staying with my husband for pleasure. Many thanks to all of you for making my stay so enjoyable and comfortable

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled when guests rave about The Oasis - we try really hard to be "a cut above the rest" and are delighted to be termed a "gem" Hopefully your comment about feeling secure and comfortable as a single female business traveller will encourage more ladies to take the plunge and try out The Oasis. See you soon. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to South Africa more than 10 times in the last 24 months and always staying in Oasis Guest House. It is the best place you can ever chose to stay at in Johannesburg. Very friendly staff and owners. From the moment you arrive till you check out you will never feel away from home. Well decorated guest house with lots of old and traditional stuff. Food is great and taste just like home. Highly recommended .....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you Mr.M. We enjoy the fact that you keep coming back here. It is a compliment that you highly recommend us and that you find The Oasis a home like your own - looking forward to the next visit. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I with my wife stayed in Aug 2012.
A five star B&B .
This property along with owner and staff is flawless.

I am a frequent traveller and always use public transport . This property just a street away from main bus route. Some good Indian restaurants are very nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for putting pen to paper! We are indeed fortunate to have a huge selection of restaurants in the area and Raj (the Indian restaurant up the road) is one of my favourites. Looking forward to your next trip down south. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the 5 star b&b in August 2013. From the moment we arrived we were treated well. The owner and his daughter were very friendly and helped us with our luggage . The place is very tastefully decorated and the location is superb. The breakfast was scrumptious and we felt right at home . The only upsetting thing was that there was no ironing board in the room and no regular iron but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. There is also a pillow room so you can choose your own pillow , be it down, latex etc. The staff are efficient and very professional. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: 5 star with difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. Hopefully this will encourage some of your own wedding guests to spend time here as well at the end of the year! Although we have put a steam iron in each room, your comments about the regular iron are noted. There are obviously times when the steam iron will not suffice. An iron was the cause of a huge fire in a nearby guest house a few years back and has made us very hesitant to send irons to the bedrooms. Since your outfits were for a special occasion, we did not mind lending you our own iron and board. We look forward to another visit to your "hood" Best wishes for the preparations in the coming months. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Oasis for 3 nights in late July. I can honestly say I have never stayed at a more welcoming and charming hotel/guest house. The grounds are beautiful, the interior decor is an eclectic mix of old world charm, and is very comfortable, clean and welcoming. The food was excellent, as was the service, and Graham and Anita are clearly focussed on providing a world class experience for their guests. I'll be staying at the Oasis the next time I visit Joburg!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Signature Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Clean, comfortable, interesting, welcoming, world class experience… all words we love to hear! I will pass on the message to all the staff members that made your stay here with us a memorable one. Hopefully your next visit will be warm enough to swim in our pool! Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oasis Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Signature Hotel

Address: 29 Homestead Road | (enter Homestead Rd off 10th Ave), Rivonia 2128, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The little luxuries make you feel special...silver service, crystal glassware, Persian carpets, an eclectic art collection, pillow topped mattresses and 400 thread count linen. The attention to detail catches your eye...the breakfasts, the filter coffee, the welcome drink. The added extras make it value for money...free wireless internet, IPod docking station, DVD player and it's the superb service and warm hospitality that will keep you coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oasis Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Signature Hotel Rivonia/Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Signature Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.