We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a Five Star Guest House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oasis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Homestead Road | (enter Homestead Rd off 10th Ave), Rivonia 2128, South Africa (Formerly The Oasis Guest House)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long Stay Discounts 5-15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
“Indeed a Five Star Guest House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the first time I stayed in a guest house and the experience was fantastic. The owners, Anita, Greyham and Alexandra, as well as the staff make one feel at home. The place is finely decorated and surrounded by lush green gardens in which there is a lapa (typical African thatched roof hut where you can sit to relax, watch TV or get into the Internet through a high-speed wi fi connection. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet, and well equipped. Breakfast is included in the room rate and consists, inter alia, of a wide selection of cereals and dried fruits. The location of this Guest House in a quiet residential área guarantees safety day and night. I highly recommend it for pleasure and business travellers alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are particularly proud of our team who are naturally friendly and helpful and we are pleased that they helped to make a memorable first impression. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to SA. Fond regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
59
21
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our first experience in a guest house, we did not know what to expect. Me and my family of four, all adults, decided to stay here during a short visit to Johannesburg. Definitively, we found a true Oasis. Our first impression was that of arriving to our own home. Not only due to comfort, elegance and service, we were very delighted of the attention that Anita and her family provided to all of us. The food (dinner and breakfast) as well as snacks were excellent and the personnel was very kind. And the south african box wine to Die for. Anita and her family assist you in the most efficient manner, from booking city tours to restaurant reservations and any request you might have without a hesitation.The location is quiet and within reach by taxi, as everything else as Johannesburg since there is no walking. We are most grateful and we would recommend and return to The Oasis Luxury Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
What a treat it was to meet you all! One of our regulars commented on how fortunate we were to meet such interesting people from all over the world and I agree, we are continually amazed at the personalities, dynamics, professions and travel stories that people share with us. We are particularly happy when people say that they feel "at home" I was touched by your enthusiasm for our country and know that you will be back for a longer visit next time. Know that you are most welcome at The Oasis on your next trip. Fond regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

though you aren't in the middle of a desert, this place certainly is an oasis in a city that isn't always the most hospitable. i will start with the food... the breakfast spread was regal and they successfully address one of my few peeves about b&b's, namely, no food available during off hours. the toasted sandwiches were a godsend! pool is also lovely, and overall service was just fantastic. everyone does a fabulous job and makes one feel at home. highest recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
"Regal" I like that! Thank you for the compliment. Breakfast fit for a king! A right royal treat! . We try hard to please in both the "bed" and "breakfast" department. Since your visit, we have had the swimming pool re-surfaced and although far too cold to swim now, it still looks rather inviting. Look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The positive feedback we saw for Oasis Luxury Guesthouse on tripadvisor was significant in our decision to stay at Anita, Grayham, and Alex’s wonderful guesthouse, and it seems fitting to continue the accolades based on our own experience. Even before we left for Johannesburg, Oasis was very helpful: providing information about the rooms, securing a crib for our 5-month old, and arranging transport to and from the airport.

And upon arriving at Oasis we truly slipped into vacation mode and felt pampered with all the luxuries the guesthouse has to offer. The lovely property features a well-manicured garden and grounds with a refreshing pool and accompanying water features. Our room was well-appointed, clean, and very comfortable. Also, there were excellent meal options, including an expansive breakfast buffet with cereals, fruits, baked goods, yogurts, and eggs prepared to order. The dinners were equally well prepared and delicious.

While it would have been easy to luxuriate all day in the Oasis’s wonderful accommodations, with Anita’s help in arranging tours and local transportation, we found it very easy to get out and see the sites, including the Liliesleaf Museum, which is only a short walk from the Oasis.

All in all, for an incredible value, we found the Oasis Luxury Guesthouse to be comfortable, luxurious, clean, well-staffed, safe, and a truly relaxing way to stay in Johannesburg. We highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Communicate any special requirements to Oasis prior to arrival. They can help identify the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oasis. We certainly enjoyed having you here and thank you for sharing your little Harry with us - what a treat to have this bundle of joy here. Hopefully your visit here and to Mozambique will tempt you to come back to Africa. Fond regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

One of the most amazing B&Bs I've ever stayed at. The owners are absolutely amazing with personal attention to detail, helping you all the way from booking to check out. They were attentive and friendly. The rooms were excellent and surrounding gardens great for relaxing and having a drink. Self-service toasted sandwiches 24-7 were a nice touch along with the very well stocked honesty bar. You could easily enjoy your entire holiday here at the guest house. Graham (owner) even shared a bottle a wine with us in the sunshine on the front porch. If you're looking for a good place to stay in this vicinity, then this is definitely the place to choose.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrhodie, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and for sharing the wine! It must have been interesting visiting all the childhood memories.. and creating new ones! Hope to see you all again sometime in the future and wish your mum all the best with her guest house in France. Kind regards Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at Oasis from Jan until Mar as a business traveler and it was like my second home. The owners (Graham and Anita) welcomed me on my first day and tried to make my stay as comfortable as possible. My room was nice furnished and very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and I enjoyed every day.

Therefore I can honestly recommened Oasis to everyone who wanna spend a great time in Johannesburg.

Thank you again Graham and Anita. It was a pleasure to stay at your Guest House.

Best regards from Germany,
Tobias

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrhodie, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tobias. Thank you for choosing The Oasis as your temporary home - we enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return. Fond regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Johannesburg can be an intimidating city. The high fences, the razor wire, the security checkpoints. All of that can easily be forgotten at Oasis, with its gardens, pool, luxurious rooms and outdoor entertainment area. The meals are excellent - and we were pleasantly surprised when the young waiter thanked us for the compliments about the food, to find that someone so young can cook so well (we had no idea he also prepared the meals). Graham (not the correct spelling) and Anita were very helpful with suggestions for things to do and places to go, and for organising taxis. The staff were wonderful, although sometimes you might get an alternative impression from the owners, which would be unfair.

You can get the feeling that Oasis is more geared to the business traveller, but certainly we (who were there on holidays) did not feel out of place or an inconvenience. There's not much immediately nearby (other than the excellent Lilliesleaf Museum, where the ANC leadership was caught during the apartheid era), so any meals out will have to factor in a taxi trip or hire car, but that seems to be the nature of Johannesburg.

There's also a fair DVD library and pillow library, and at about 5-6 pm you can usually find someone at the honesty bar for a drink and peanuts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrhodie, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We put up all the Tripadvisor comments on the staff notice board and they are always delighted when their efforts are praised. I am also pleased that you mentioned Liliesleaf. As an outing, it close enough to walk and the modern take on a "museum" is quite refreshing! Kind regards, Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oasis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Boutique Hotel

Address: 29 Homestead Road | (enter Homestead Rd off 10th Ave), Rivonia 2128, South Africa (Formerly The Oasis Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The little luxuries make you feel special...silver service, crystal glassware, Persian carpets, an eclectic art collection, pillow topped mattresses and 400 thread count linen. The attention to detail catches your eye...the breakfasts, the filter coffee, the welcome drink. The added extras make it value for money...free wireless internet, IPod docking station, DVD player and it's the superb service and warm hospitality that will keep you coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Oasis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Boutique Hotel Rivonia/Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.