We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHAPSODY'S (MENLYN)

RHAPSODY'S (MENLYN)
Lois Ave, Pretoria, South Africa
(+27) 012 348 6000
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 364 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: International, Vegetarian, Grill, Fusion
Restaurant details
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have visited this restaurant 4 times in this last year during business trips tp SA.
The quality of the food is really good, the menu gives you a lot of choice.
They even have a fresh sushi bar! Which was surprisingly well, actually..My favourite dish: Espetada Chicken!
Nice wines and a very nice atmosphere. In the weekends the place turns into a club after 11pm, with live music and dj's. I was there on a saturday and it was packed after midnight with a very nice crowd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile


Went there recently on different occasions, not impressed on both.
1st time was group/ business finger snacks and cocktails, could pick up a bit of racism with manager who brought out platters, my table was never offered the sushi, we kept getting same thing chicken wings & ribs, mind u the wings tasted like they'd been boiled before they tried to grill them.
2nd time was a girls nite out for drinks after movies, place (not my choice after being there previous week) looked more like a club/tavern when we got there, we left without ordering anything, a friend even said it was noisier than the centurion branch, at least there people could still a conversation.
10 years ago was nice place to go for good food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britstown, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had a friends welcome home party there and it was a blast. Great place to go with a large group of friends for drinks, food, dancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Trendy bar with nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Large selection of cocktails and good wines. Highly recommend to book in advance for dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Busy place for the social crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

More a bar type vibe for the young and sociable. They do have an extensive menu. Service is good and the food well-prepared. Can get very loud. Good place for cocktails with a bunch of friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RHAPSODY'S (MENLYN) also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to RHAPSODY'S (MENLYN)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHAPSODY'S (MENLYN), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.