We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
5 Riviera Galleries | Well Street, Pretoria 0084, South Africa
(012) 329-4028 / 9123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 355 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Pentola established in 1995 is the perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. The atmosphere is cozy, romantic and relaxed. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood (Mozambique Style Prawns, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, hand made pasta, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.
Krugersdorp
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my birthday and were treated like royalty - although the staff did not know it was my birthday at all! If this is the way they treat all customers, they should be rated even higher.

The waiter was friendly and very knowledgable, and made us feel welcome in no time. Our drinks orders were handled professionally and drinks were derved very quickly afterwards.

The menu is certainly "classier" than your average family restaurant and when the food arrived, it was really good. Our orders were executed perfectly and everyone at my table was satisfied with their meals.

The ambience of this place is such that you don't really want to leave - you just want to stay a bit longer and feel totally relaxed. This is certainly one of the best restaurants in Pretoria and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've been going to La Pentola for nine years, it is our special restaurant, lots of fabulous food and fond memories!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“La Pentola is TOPS !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great SPECIAL occasion intimate restaurant.
Booked on a night that chef/owner Shaun Sauvage was present, and he came to our table, signed my recipe book. What a great dinner, atmosphere and exceptional good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was a lovely restaurant.
Initially I was sceptical after reading a few reviews saying that there is a long wait for the food.
...but because we were aware of it, my boyfriend and I didn't mind, and the wait didn't even seem that long.
It is a nice, cozy atmosphere.
We had a friendly waiter and the service was good.
Food was very interesting. If you don't mind being adventurous with food, then definitely pay them a visit. If not, you can still enjoy the restaurant, and stick to the parts of the menu that you prefer and know.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service at La Pentola”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there on Tuesday 30 April, and the food was absolutely fantastic!! We had a wonderful evening but unfortunately it ended with a bitter taste in our mouths. The waitress was really nice the whole evening until the bill came. We gave a 10% gratuity, and then her attitude changed completely. She was rude, started handling glasses and crockery very harshly and was blatantly abrubt. She did not even answer my husband's question and turned her back on us and walked away. When we left she did not even look at us. I paid a lot of money to eat there, and gave her a gratuity that was in my view fair to the level of service she gave. I will never go back to La Pentola, and will further more tell all my freinds and family about the ungrateful and insulting attitude that this staff member had. I find it unacceptable and hope that the management of La Pentola find this as unacceptable as we did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pentola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.