We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, cool decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Thai

Lotus Thai
Pretoria, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 355 Restaurants in Pretoria
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Great sushi, cool decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I had sushi here and found it to be among the nicest we've had in Pretoria so far. Really liked the ambiance they created with the beautiful wall murals, the umbrella lamps and the 'hole-in-the-floor' tables. Service was reasonable. Book ahead on Thursday nights though as the place can get busy due to their current specials.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Found this restaurant by accident during the day last week, so booked for dinner later that evening. Food was very,very, very good and authentic and the deep fried ice cream was a real treat. Prices are very reasonable and service was efficient. Recommended...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was totally impressed with the food.
Everybody at our table raved about the fantastic food and good service.
Pretoria definitely needs more restaurants like this.
I can definitely recommend any of the green curry dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is not a five-star restaurant but the food is good. It has a nice ambiance. But the service during lunch can be improved. There is nice Thai music in the backround.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of our regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant. Intimate and the service is a notch up from the mainstream in Pretoria. Their sushi are really good and we actually enjoy their whole menu. Always a struggle to decide what we will have when we dine there, since everything is so good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Lotus Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.