We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne Guest House

Save Saved
You added Osborne Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Osborne Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 Anderson St. | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 294 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked at the last minute to stay at for first 1, than 2 nights. Sunette was a welcoming, lovely host. The house was beautiful, with the most amazing artwork. Our room lead directly onto the pool, where we were able to sit under an umbrella and enjoy a glass of wine. It was very well situated, close to everything we wanted to see and do. Our only request, would be to have a fan in the room, as the nights are pretty warm. Really fabulous, thank you Sunette!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We lived 4 years in South Africa (Pretoria) and left in 2002. We have visited every year since then and have stayed in various Hotels/Guest Houses. Osborne House is the best guest house that we have stayed in and we will be returning there again in 2013. It is a really lovely old house, beautifully decorated and run by a very friendly family. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the courtyard and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights attending a course at the University of Pretoria (an easy stroll). The guest house is in a lovely area, the room was a very decent size, service was great, and Sunette is an excellent cook for both breakfast and dinner. The breakfast spread is definitely a cut above most B&Bs.

Two niggles, first a minor one: the tea/coffee selection in room very limited (only Ceylon tea, no decaf, no sweetener). They also only provide Cremora, but happily gave me a jug of milk. The other niggle may be more important for some - there is free wifi, but I found it very unstable, with the connection often being dropped or simply not able to connect, and slow when it did.

All in all though a great stay at a very reasonable rate and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and Sunette made sure we were comfortable and relaxed. Breakfast was amazing, our room was beautiful, we were close to our work and the entire experience made our stay and work in Pretoria a definite pleasure. Our room had every possible comfort.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We spent 5 nights at Obsborne Guest House in April. It is one of the best guest houses I have stayed in, in South Africa - if not the best.

The room was huge, extremely comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was delicious and quite a spread and Sunette couldn't have done anything more to make our stay more pleasant.

If I ever needed to stay in Pretoria on business, Sunette would be the first person I contacted.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

A super find. This guest house is in a leafy suburban area well placed for access to Pretoria and the motorway network. The house is Victorian, beautifully decorated and crammed to the rafters with antiques. There is a quiet courtyard with pool and each of the rooms opens onto this area. The rooms are all different and individually furnished. Hearty breakfasts and a very helpful owner who went out of her way to give us local recommendations and advice. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

A friend recommended this guest house, which turned out to be delightful. It's probably the most beautiful property I have ever stayed at.

Highlights:
-Friendly owners
-Quiet neighborhood (not counting the songbirds!), with several churches and embassies nearby.
-Beautiful garden and small pool
-Very nice hot breakfasts to order plus fruit cereal, toast, coffee, tea, juice.
-Large rooms with high ceilings
-Very attractive decor
-Just a few blocks from the University of Pretoria
-Clean
-Laundry service available
-Reasonably-priced mini-bar in room
-Good rates (credit cards accepted)
-Lovely hot showers with lots of water pressure (though I couldn't keep water off of the bathroom floor)

Possible issues for some travelers:
-Limited outlets in room
-No in-room telephone
-Real animal skins and antlers in room
-Area is residential, so a car or willingness to walk 20 min to shops or restaurants are necessary
-The property itself is small

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. It is just a really nice place and a great value. A very nice choice for couples. Other guests were mostly South Africans in town for business and Dutch tourists.

There are only a few rooms and I saw most of them. Though the rooms do vary, most are large, and all are clean and well-appointed.

Breakfasts were a highlight for me, with fresh papaya and other fruit, and beautifully-presented hot eggs/omelet/croissant sandwich. I also enjoyed having tea and biscuits (provided in the room), by the pool.

Some rooms may have telephones, and internet access may also be available, but I didn't ask. The owners were communicative by email. If you have specific needs, it would make sense to email in advance to see if they can be accommodated.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings and decor, friendly hosts, and great breakfasts
  • Disliked — You must ask to find out what services are available
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osborne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Guest House

Address: 82 Anderson St. | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Osborne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.