We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a safe area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1322 Backpackers International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1322 Backpackers International to your Saves list
1322 Backpackers International
1322 Arcadia Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in a safe area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hostel is located in Hatfield, which is probably one of the nicest areas in Pretoria and Joburg. The doubles/chalets are great value for less than 300, a bit tiny but you'll have enough space. They provide free breakfast, have a pool, a clean and well-equipped kitchen plus a really cozy common area in the garden. It would be nice to have free wifi, but unfortunately this is only the case in approx 50% of the hostels in South Africa. Would defintiely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

1322 is a classic backpacker's hostel. It is clean, safe and well run. Breakfast is standard. Nice lounge, bar and the outdoor areas are exceptional. Location is good. The restaurants and shops of Hatfield are a short walk away.

1322 has the ambiance of a traditional hostel. Interesting crowd of people. Excellent management. The hostel has good services - laundry, trip planning advice.

Room Tip: The singles are a bit small but very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights at the start of my backpacking adventure around South Africa.
The hostel staff are very friendly, (Alex and Monique) and there are several cats and a cute dog to keep you company as well.
It is a very secure hostel in a good location. Only about a 10minute walk from hatfield square.
Room pricing is good and the showers are hot.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Spend 4 nights here as a couple in a double room. The room was very comfortable, fan included. Small but decent bar, and nice big kitchen with plenty of refridgerator and storage space. Managers are very knowledgeable & helpful.

The backpackers is located in a typical Pretoria neighborhood and only a short walk from Hatfield Square which has shops, cinema, restaurants, and bars. Felt fine walking to and from day and night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Spent a couple of weeks at the 1322 in late 2009 early 2010 whilst touring South Africa.
This is a comfortable, reliable, safe kind of Hostel and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very friendly, welcoming backpackers in a quiet, safe neighborhood. It's a bit funny because the sleeping quarters are actually in a series of little storage sheds in the backyard. That said, we were there on a cold, rainy night, and it was perfectly dry and cozy in our room. The bed is comfy and there is a sink in the room; showers and toilets are coed and shared. Nice pool, bar/outdoor hangout area and a very nice kitchen. Pricewise, this was one of the best deals we had in S. Africa for a double room, and we really appreciated how easy it was to hold the room – a quick phone call, no deposit necessary.

Wifi works near the main house (not in the rooms in the back) and costs R20 per hour – honor system for payment. There is secure, gated parking.

One more note, we asked where we could find bobotie in town and the owner said if we'd told her in advance, she would have cooked it for us – now that is personalized backpacker service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I found 1322 through Trip Advisor, and I'm delighted I did. I stayed in three different hostels whilst I was in South Africa, and this was, by a long way, the best. Yzelle (the owner) and Maj (the other member of staff) were both fantastic. I left after 6 nights, but ended up coming back for my final 3 nights in SA because it was so good. I stayed in a few different rooms, all of which were nice, clean and functional.

In terms of its location, it's also ideal. Hatfield is a pretty safe suburb of Pretoria, has a good night life about 10 minutes walk away, and the Guatrain (the new, very safe, train to Pretoria, the airport, Sandton and other parts of Joburg) just round the corner.

Price wise it's also very reasonable, 9 nights there cost me in the region of £120. They also have a laundry service and a nice bar.There were always people about, and it had a very friendly atmosphere.

I can't sing the praises of 1322 loudly enough.

Room Tip: My tip would be: if you're booking far enough in advance, ask for one of the small single rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1322 Backpackers International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1322 Backpackers International

Address: 1322 Arcadia Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your 1322 Backpackers International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1322 Backpackers International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.