We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birdwood Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birdwood Guest House
Save
You added Birdwood Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   976 Arcadia Street, Pretoria 2004, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 311 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Comfortable and clean facilities, Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Staff went out of their way to accommodate my meal request.

Downside.
No window nor extractor in the toilet. Skimpy coffee provisions.
No Bar Fridge
Tacky and worn carpet

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed one week at Birdwood for business. A pleasant place, with the manor heritage giving it a homely feel.

Nothing to really complain about - staff were friendly, rooms were sizable and adequate and the included breakfast was very good. A few quirks - for example, they don't allow guests to use an iron and ironing board (which I personally find annoying as I don't feel the need to pay for small chores such as ironing clean shirts) - but nothing major.

Overall, I'd rate it as better for a tourist-type stay rather than business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Birdwood Guest House was a wonderful oasis in the middle of Pretoria. We were a group of 10 university students and 3 instructors from Canada, visiting South Africa for a geological fieldtrip. We stayed at the Birdwood for 3 nights, and our stay was much too short. The host and staff were professional, but also very friendly, and attentive to our needs. The rooms were clean, well decorated and charming. The meals were delicious and we had tasty packed lunches to take away each day. Our students felt that this guest house was the best of the trip, and many of us are considering staying there again one day.
A very big thank you to everyone a the Birdwood guest house!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the Birdwood are comfortable and quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm just back from two months in one of the Birdwood apartments, and I couldn't have had a better time. The service was so good: nothing ever seemed too much trouble. The flat itself was spacious and beautifully furnished (stunning bathroom and dressing room), with a delightful secluded patio outside. And the location is superb: a short stroll along a tree-lined street both to the train station and the Hatfield shopping centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I used to stay in the Courtyard in Arcadia until I discovered Birdwood by chance, and I never went back. I love the size, seclusion, and decoration of the rooms (well cottages mostly). There's a wonderful pool. Service is excellent; the waiters wear bow ties in the morning and the evening. And its the little touches, the attention to detail, the chocolates on the pillow, the dressing gown set out that makes this a five-star gem.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the cottages at the back and not the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sverige
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed here on two occasions, once upstairs in the main building and once in a garden room. On both occasions the hosts turned themselves inside out to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are each personally decorated, with lots of space and comfy beds. Food is very nice, and the kitchen staff are quite loveable. Home away from home!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the garden to also get a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago. My memories are of a lovely mini-village of rooms in a variety of buildings around verdant gardens. There is a pool, and excellent cooking from the friendly staff. Security is good. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birdwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdwood Guest House

Address: 976 Arcadia Street, Pretoria 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 311 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.