We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, secure and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tree Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Tree Guest House to your Saves list
Bay Tree Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   489 Roper Street | Bailey's Muckleneuk, Pretoria 181, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 303 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Maun, North West, Botswana
1 review
“Central, secure and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Coming from north-west Botswana, I had to spend a night in Pretoria with my children for passport renewal. Bay tree lies centrally in the Pretoria embassy area, is secure, quite affordable and offers quality service. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a swim meet in Pretoria and our team stayed with Renee and Fred at Bay Tree. We were treated like royalty and were made to feel right at home. As a sporting team we had our already reasonable rate discounted to a point where it was the best value for money ever. The guest house is one of the best that i have ever stayed in and have no problem recommending Bay Tree to both sporting teams and private travelers alike.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've been staying at the Baytree every year for the past three years (my wife has known the place and loved it for almost a decade). It is owned and run by Renee and Fred McCleary, who always make us feel at home -- almost as if we're part of their family. They go well beyond what we'd expect even from a good-quality bed-and-breakfast.

On our most recent trip, we came with our three-month-old baby girl. We arranged this with Renee in advance, and she reserved one of the larger family rooms and installed a lovely cot in it. At the airport, we discovered that one of our suitcases -- the one with all the baby stuff-- went missing; Renee immediately came to the rescue, making sure my wife and the baby were comfortable and taking me to do emergency shopping for baby supplies. She did this on her own initiative -- we didn't even have to ask. She also helped us in contacting the airport and keeping in touch with them until our suitcase was finally returned.

Roper Street is not a main road, so even rooms facing the street are quiet.

Throughout our stay (on this and previous occasions), Renee and Fred took an interest in our well being, providing a warm and friendly atmosphere. The place is kept to a high standard, with a fine breakfast, beautiful and well-equipped rooms, and good cleaning and maintenance services. This has always been our first choice whenever we go to Pretoria. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and well-equipped, but they differ in size. Our favorite is Room 9, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornhill canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Baytree is run by Renee and Fred who cannot do enough for their guests. The place is spotless and quite beautiful. Our "room" is enormous: An entrance way, large bedroom, a huge dressing room and a large, modern, clean bathroom. We have our own private orchid garden which leads out to the beautiful pool area.

We have our own kettle, toaster, fridge, range and microwave plus dishes and utensils so youcan use these. Tea, coffee, milk are provided as well as rusks and apples.

The breakfast, served by Fred and/or Renee is wonderful.

I think I will come and live here permanently!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We spent a night there for the second time and were once again overwhelmed by the generous hospitality and attention to detail! Nothing is too much trouble! Rooms are luxuriously comfortable and the rates are extremely fair! This is definitely our home from home in Pretoria and conveniently close to the University for us! Very close to Loftus Versfeld stadium and close to town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

This BB/guesthouse is our home for 18 days -- and we love it.

The owner, Renee, is caring and thoughtful. She is very hands-on and makes sure that everything is alright, if not perfect. The service is personalize. Her husband, Fred, is equally warm and friendly.

There's a garden and a pool to relax.

Security is good.

There's even a laundry service --- and the charge is reasonable.

Renee and Fred have reliable and efficient assistants --- Silia, Dalsy and Sam. They are nice and friendly.

Breakfast is huge -- eggs, ham/bacon and sausages with rice/bread/pork&beans. Yogurt, fruits and cereals are always available.

This place is clean and tidy. Our room is big. We have a small fridge, a mini kitchen with cupboard. It has a closet. The king size bed is always tucked. Toilet and bath are clean.

Wifi and cable-tv are available.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent a wonderful time at this guest house. We had never expected such a personlised welcome and hospitality and we are very happy that we have chosen the Bay Tree Guest house.
Renee, the owner is a wonderful person and she makes her guests feel that she really cares about all of us. She went not only the extra mile but the extra marathon for our group, down to the point of taking one of our participants to the hospital, setting up an appointment with a specialist for another guest, taking us to the ATM, waiting for a missing guest on a saturday night and coming to the restaurant to tell us the missing guest did not show up, confirming flight tickets, adapting the dinners to the home cooking of some members of our group, organising our transfers and taxis, taking care of all our little and big needs and everything with a warm and caring attitude.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Guest House

Address: 489 Roper Street | Bailey's Muckleneuk, Pretoria 181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tree Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.