We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere - good food - Italian style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capeesh

Capeesh
Cherry Lane Centre, cnr Fehrsen and Middle Streets, Brooklyn, Pretoria, South Africa
12 346 1932
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 364 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - good food - Italian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We took friend for dinner for my birthday to Capeesh.
The food is very good, and refreshingly well prised, with a good range of wines.
The service was also very efficient and food was on time.
I had mains and dessert from the Specials - Oxtail was great! - as well as the white chocolate cheese cake... I can also recommend the Fettuccini Al Salmone & Vodka and the Linguine Marinara...
The decor is also fitting with the whole theme of the restaurant, and the quotes on the menu will make you giggle - especially the one about the wife cooking and the husband drinking :)
Only thing that bothered, is the smoking area is not well separated from the rest, and we smelled as if we were in a smoking room afterwards.
But still, a pleasant evening out

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gordons Bay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fehrsen St, Pretoria 0181, 012 346 1932, Thnak you Victoria, our waitron for excellent service.
This piece of Italy serves excellent food and reasonable prices.

Good variety on menu, warmed in winter with lap blankets at the tbales, a fire in the hearth, pleasant music, vibey waitrons.

The only 'off' is the rude patrons who must smoke every 5 minutes taking a short cut through the vinyl curtains to the veranda and not closing them porperly. If this is still the case next time, we will eat elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good choice for a special evening out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Having heard a lot about this restaurant I decided that it was about time that my wife and I try it for ourselves... And we weren't disappointed!

To keep it brief: the service was very good. The food was tasty and cooked the way we wanted it (Fillet with pepper & brandy sauce is awesome!!) and really felt worth every cent we payed for it. Good house wines, and even better coffee.

Will definitely return, next for the lamb shank! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We dine here very often. Good italian food. But look out for the specials. Good wine selection. One of the better italian restaurants in pretoria. The waiters can be trained better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanoneiland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Capeesh Brooklyn, Pretoria, south Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our neighbourhood restaurant, but I do believe they serve the best food in Pretoria. The staff is attentive, the (mostly Italian) food is great and the vibe always positive.
There is also a small separate venue for intimate dinners for up to 12 people.
The wine list is extensive and includes good South African wine and some Italian wines and French Champagnes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capeesh also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Capeesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capeesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.