We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rietvlei Nature Reserve

Rietvlei Nature Reserve
Nelmapious Drive | Centurian, Pretoria, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great weekend outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went the sunday there for lunch and game viewing/ photography. A great outing close to Pretoria. At the one picnic spot a new hippo view was put up since my last visit. There is 2 picnic spots that i know off. Great photograph opportunities. A Lapa that can be booked.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    55
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great family weekend outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a gem. I've lived in Gauteng all my life and we'd never been here before until today.
It is close to Pretoria (45min from Jhb NW suburbs) but once inside it is hard to imagine that you are in close proximity to a large city. The facilites are immaculate - lots of attention has been paid to upkeep of the bird hides and the roads. The tar roads are exemplary and the dirt roads are excellent.

We were rewarded with lots of great sightings - unfortunately the antelope are a tad skittish and seemed to uniformly congregate well off the roads - except for a special sighting of a herd comprising around 30 buffalo. Winter birdlife is abundant and while I'm sure it is chaotic in summer, there were very few other visitors. The picnic sites are pristine.

For the price - (R45/adult and R30 for kids) I'd be hard pressed to find a day trip of better value. We had a wonderful day and will no doubt return (perhaps earlier to get better photography light - gates open at 06h00 year round.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Easy to see animals- close to town and worth the price of admission. Lots of Zebra- saw many rhinos up close and personal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Animal lovers...Baby rhinos in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I visited the nature reserve 2 weeks ago upon hearing that there were 3 baby rhinos. It was my first time seeing baby rhinos and it was amazing. Enter through gate 13 and go to the restaurant. We found out from the game rangers that the rhinos do come by for a feeding in the afternoon, as it is winter and they put out additional lucerne for the animals. So we had lunch and at about 3pm saw a little baby rhino trotting along with its mommy. There were 2 adult rhinos who came along at the same time. We got to watch them interact and basically go about in their own environment whilst we stood at the restaurant and watched. It was a beautiful experience. A little while later another mommy and baby pair came along. It is amazing to watch how they react to each other and how protective and territorial the moms can be.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A touch of the wild close to home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Rietvlei Nature Reserve is a place you can visit for an hour or the whole day. Close to Pretoria, well priced with a good variety of animals and places to view them. Looking forward to going back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rietvlei Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Rietvlei Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rietvlei Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.