We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Illyria House to your Saves list
Illyria House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful gardens, stunning furniture which includes a dining room which could grace the set of Downton Abbey. Wonderful hospitaliy service and food. This hotel is a real treasure and somewhere we will never forget

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    22
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
78
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There should be a special category for places like Illyria House here. It is more an experience than a hotel. Staying there is like being in an authentic re-enactment of colonial times. This means white-gloved butlers, lots of silverware and rugs and lace and wallpaper, and of course stunning premises. It also means a bit of dust and chipped paint and general maintenance issues, and food is not a focus. However, because of the unique experience and especially because of the extremely nice and welcoming staff, it is easy to forgive those shortcomings. Definitely far better than some random chain hotel. And with a bit of an investment this place could become truly stellar.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

A beautiful hotel with friendly staff and great food. The gardens are exquisite and the swimming pool area lovely. There is an area on the lower terrace which has an Oriental look and feel which is very romantic. The rooms are spacious and there is a lot of attention to detail to be found. There are many interesting nooks and crannies which I found fascinating not to mention the history of the place. Reading in the Visitors Books kept me busy for a while. All the staff were very helpful and friendly although the service was a bit slow sometimes. The food presentation was lovely. The 'fairwell party' is an interesting touch to the overall experience. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

What a beautiful and tranquil boutique hotel. I hosted an event here and I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. The food was delicious, the waitstaff very attentive and helpful and the owner gracious and kind.

I absolutely loved everything about my experience here!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Our last minute plans changed, and I booked this "hotel" in transit from the airport after we just landed from a long international flight. Staff were very accommodating although they used terms that I was not fully familiar with, such as, when I asked about the rate, only one rate was available.... A special at 1,5 per person sharing. Over the phone, I could not get clarity what this meant, but let it be. When I arrived, I found out it is R1,500 per night, dinner, bed and breakfast, per person sharing. We could not do dinner, so they gave us lunch instead. We were the only people booked for the night, and it was last minute, so arriving in the evening was a bit odd, as this is not your typical main stream hotel. However, the staff were still very accommodating. Our room was huge with a separate study, walk-in cupboard and big separate full bathroom. The bed was also comfortable. It had a very charming classical feel to it. My only criticism was there was no specific view on the lovely gardens and it was hard to watch TV from the bed due to the TV cabinet positioning. Breakfast and lunch were very personalised and classy, with a beautiful view on the gardens. Our stay was great, and I rate it as a B&B plus, because it was charming, had the potential of a small boutique hotel, is very much a B&B, feels like an ideal setup for a small wedding or events, but did feel a bit odd as being the only occupant for the night. It also had a bit of quirkiness to it... A very old worldly, classic decor but the building most probably do not originate from the same era. I also had the feeling it might require a little bit of maintenance although I really could not fault anything specifically. We had a great stay!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

This is a real gem that is definitely worth the visit. When we walked in it seemed a bit old until its character grew on us. 250 year old furniture and beautifully decorated rooms. Owner was a great hostess and the staff were amazing. My wife and I do 5 star weekends away 6 times a year and we really loved this one. Was different and unique. Will see us again! If you like modern then this is not the place for you but if you have and like character then it is.

Room Tip: Any one of the top rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Beautiful unique hotel full of antiquities in immaculate gardens .Staff very attentive and charming hostess gave us a wonderful informative tour of Pretoria. Room spacious and clean and bed comfortable. Dinner in the private wine cellar was delicious and memorable. Breakfast was slow but we were in no hurry.
If you are looking for a standard Americanised chain hotel this is not for you, but if you prefer the glamour of the luxurious past then look no further.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illyria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.