We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Illyria House to your Saves list
Illyria House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Pretoria
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a fabulous 'High Tea' experience, and I thought the place was wonderful, and the hospitality was second to none. The house definitely transports one to a bygone era, and the service was friendly, personal and attentive. Even though we only booked for tea, the staff and owner were happy to take us on a tour of the property, showed us several of the rooms and even let us take pictures in various locations. Everything was spotless, the wooden floors and stairs gleamed and the place is filled with a charming array of antique furniture and objects that add to the ambience. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Oriental Room is breathtaking and private, and the perfect place for a romantic break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    19
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
16
74
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dressed up in 1920's attire, a group of 7 young ladies attended the morning High Tea this morning. Well let me tell you this Hotel is breath taking, the antiques in this hotel are of another world, a time long before mine. The staff are super friendly. The tea was divine and the rooms for of victorian times and so so romantic! The garden is exquisite! All i can say is thank you! And for those snotty comments have no idea of class or appreciating old world!!

Room Tip: The oriental house is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a special romantic day arranged by my wife for us before our holidays. We arrived and were not greeted, a waiter showed us to a table outside and threw the forms to fill out on the table. After 1 hour we were shown to our room, I was so disappointed with what greeted us, compared to the pics on the website this was not the same place. The bathroom had a green vinyl bath, not big enough to lie down in. The shower had a piece of wood as the roof, and the whole bathrooms were in cubicles with the toilet cubicle not big enough to move in. The whole area we were to be accomodated in looked and felt like a extension that hadn't been finished. We ordered coffee (this took 55mins) I then requested to see the manager and showed her the pictures we had seen in the website and asked where this was, we were informed it was in the main house, I then told the manager that we would not be staying there and wanted to be moved in to the main house. While this was going on the (butler) asked us what we would like for dinner!! At 3 o clock in the afternoon, I told them it was (as per the website) a 5 star A la carte menu and I would choose then, I was informed that we had to order now. We ordered and were then told our order was not available and had to choose something else!! 5 star and they can't provide what is on the menu or get it 4hrs before dinner. We were moved in to the main house (a room "became" available) this was better but certainly NOT what we expected! The food was good and there when we got our 2nd choice it was very good. My overall statement is this establishment is on its way down, scruffy, lack of maintenance and the service was very bad. NOT what you would expect from a 5 star boutique hotel. We were so disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Personalised service, fantastic food, relaxing and re-energising experience and a great location. We felt like we never wanted to leave. Would definately recommend it to others. Not sure if this was the room or us but the rooms could use some stronger air-conditioners coz boy was it hot at night.,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My hubby surprised me with a stay over and spa treatment package for my birthday, wow - absolute bliss. Our personalised white gloved butler Jan ensured that we were exeptionally taken care of, we were spoilt with thai massages and delicious cuisine. The beautiful antiques and 17th century tapestries gave us a taste of living the colonial lifestyle. We will certainly be regulars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If this is what a 5 star is then I would rather spend good money at a 3 star.
1. On arrival – Lemonade???? Really more like water and lemon juice
2. Waiting areas curtains – white???? No really now so dirty – they were grey
3. Room – has that room ever been dusted? Smelt of mould and dust
4. Renovating and painting right next to our room – smelt like paint
5. Cupboard in the room had old grape stems in it
6. Fridge was leaking
7. Tap in bathroom was leaking dripping the whole time
8. High Tea – not to bad – however to many sweet things not enough savoury bits
9. Pool – dirty
10. While relaxing at pool area – workers walking up and down – invading your privacy
11. Garden not well maintained at all
12. Seating area around pool was supposed to be white however there were water stains on the couches and dusty ( not white at all)
13. Asked for towels at pool – it took them 1 and half hours to bring a towel.
14. Dinner – food was good BUT overpriced – how do they get away with this?
15. Breakfast – I don’t even want to talk about breakfast………………. What a disappointment.

I am very upset that this was the place we chose to spend our 3 year anniversary – I will never again in my life recommend or stay at this Illyria House.
There 5 star rating should be taken away, it is not worth the paper that the 5 star rating is printed on.

One positive thing I would like to mention is that the staff are always smiling and extremely friendly that was refreshing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i stay in alot of guest houses and hotels WORLD WIDE as i do a lot of traveling. This was my second worst experience with accommodation!!! The smell was terrible (mouldy). The bedding wasn't even white, it was dirty. They promise on the website "nice elegant 5 star rooms" and treatment but i have had better stay in 3 star hotels! Never again!! the breakfast tasted like mothballs!!! no it was terrible!!! There was no parking... Struggled for an hour with that... How is that a romantic stay?
The room was just the size of our bed. The bathroom the size of the bath. How did they get a five star???? maybe it was 20 years ago? I honestly want health and safety to have a check there....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illyria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.