We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey moon quality romantic getaway. Simply suberb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illyria House

Save Saved
You added Illyria House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Illyria House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honey moon quality romantic getaway. Simply suberb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Personalised service, fantastic food, relaxing and re-energising experience and a great location. We felt like we never wanted to leave. Would definately recommend it to others. Not sure if this was the room or us but the rooms could use some stronger air-conditioners coz boy was it hot at night.,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    4
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
67
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My hubby surprised me with a stay over and spa treatment package for my birthday, wow - absolute bliss. Our personalised white gloved butler Jan ensured that we were exeptionally taken care of, we were spoilt with thai massages and delicious cuisine. The beautiful antiques and 17th century tapestries gave us a taste of living the colonial lifestyle. We will certainly be regulars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If this is what a 5 star is then I would rather spend good money at a 3 star.
1. On arrival – Lemonade???? Really more like water and lemon juice
2. Waiting areas curtains – white???? No really now so dirty – they were grey
3. Room – has that room ever been dusted? Smelt of mould and dust
4. Renovating and painting right next to our room – smelt like paint
5. Cupboard in the room had old grape stems in it
6. Fridge was leaking
7. Tap in bathroom was leaking dripping the whole time
8. High Tea – not to bad – however to many sweet things not enough savoury bits
9. Pool – dirty
10. While relaxing at pool area – workers walking up and down – invading your privacy
11. Garden not well maintained at all
12. Seating area around pool was supposed to be white however there were water stains on the couches and dusty ( not white at all)
13. Asked for towels at pool – it took them 1 and half hours to bring a towel.
14. Dinner – food was good BUT overpriced – how do they get away with this?
15. Breakfast – I don’t even want to talk about breakfast………………. What a disappointment.

I am very upset that this was the place we chose to spend our 3 year anniversary – I will never again in my life recommend or stay at this Illyria House.
There 5 star rating should be taken away, it is not worth the paper that the 5 star rating is printed on.

One positive thing I would like to mention is that the staff are always smiling and extremely friendly that was refreshing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i stay in alot of guest houses and hotels WORLD WIDE as i do a lot of traveling. This was my second worst experience with accommodation!!! The smell was terrible (mouldy). The bedding wasn't even white, it was dirty. They promise on the website "nice elegant 5 star rooms" and treatment but i have had better stay in 3 star hotels! Never again!! the breakfast tasted like mothballs!!! no it was terrible!!! There was no parking... Struggled for an hour with that... How is that a romantic stay?
The room was just the size of our bed. The bathroom the size of the bath. How did they get a five star???? maybe it was 20 years ago? I honestly want health and safety to have a check there....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Emanuel,Johannes and all other Staff members are outstanding. The hotel is tired and needs an upgrade badly. The restaurant is a rip off, R140 for chicken mayonnaise sandwich and R200 for a tuna salad!The quality of the food was poor. If you looking for 5 star at this price there are many other places to go. Has potential but as it is is a rip off. Not a place I would go back to. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

To sum the hotel up in one word it would be elegance. It's like stepping back in time and forgetting the modern day problems. Located in the heart of Pretoria, you completely forget you are in a bustling city. The food and service is fantastic! The rooms are decorated in a Victorian style with a twist!

I have visited the Hotel 3 times now and every time I am amazed at how beautiful it is!

And if you can't afford a night, at least go for high tea which is out of this world!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Illyria for only one night, sadly so. The hotel has a Venitian, mixed with colonial charm. We were swept away by the personal service we received. from checking in to the best full body Thai massage I have ever had, to the most fabulous dinner served by a white gloved waiter, under a silver dome, to cappucinos and dessert in our room, (at lightning speed) and the next morning's lingering breakfast, again served by our white gloved waiter.
We would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illyria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.