We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illyria transports you to another era” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Illyria House to your Saves list
Illyria House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
pretoria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Illyria transports you to another era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enter Illyria and you enter a world of beauty.Every objet has been selected and put together with
a very discerning eye, add to this the beautiful gardens and magnificent pool area and you almost
do not want to leave.
Illyria has to be one of the most beautiful small hotels in the country.

Room Tip: For an oriental atmosphere - the annex For old world magic - the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
76
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon before boarding the blue train. Upon arrival we were taken to some tables and ordered to choose our evening meal! The food prices were extremely high. We were then taken through some overgrown vegetation whereupon we stumbled upon an algae covered pond. Sadly it was not a pond but the swimming pool. As I did not have my scuba gear I decided not to take the plunge. We were then taken through a bush into an outbuilding contains some bedrooms. Our room was small and the bed and furnishings looked like they had seen better days, probably several decades ago. The room was dusty and smelt damp. We would have liked to make ourselves a cup of tea but upon checking we found that the sugar must have been put there when the hotel first opened. Happily there were some nibbles in our room. Upon putting one into my mouth my mouth was reminded of days gone by, indeed many days gone by since these nibbles had last come out of a packet. The evening meal was poor and took an eternity to be served. The whole place is tatty and dirty with a strange atmosphere. It is nothing like the website please do not be fooled. The blue train was amazing and soon made us forget this hell hole. If your travel agent tries to book you in here before the blu train plead with them to book you somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Illyria House hosted a very good friend of mines small wedding. The service, the table decor and the food (dinner) was exceptional. Most of the guests stayed over for the night. Some in the main house and others (including us) in rooms around the spa. There was a lot of building material lying around and it was quite noisy early the next morning. I was very disappointed because they made no effort with the bride and groom's room and the owner kept on quieting down the DJ even though the music was not that loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This Hotel is one of the most delightful destinations we have stayed in. The staff are pleasant,courteous and attentive, and Marietjie is a charming hostess. The Hotel has a unique appeal, being filled with beautiful antiques, and the food is exceptionally good. We loved the family of ducks, who without doubt reside at one of the most luxurious 'homes' they could possibly find! Very relaxing and Marietjie has a wealth of knowledge of the history of the area. An exceptional establishment with service harking back to a time of much more gracious living.

Room Tip: The outside rooms may be difficult to access by people with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at Illyria House as a group of friends who wanted to get away for the weekend. It was every thing we've hoped for and more! And the service! The staff made us feel at home and we even had tears in our eyes when we had to leave because the staff send us off with a beautifull tradisional song.

We had high tea (delicious), spa treatments (very good) and a wonderful evening meal with the stately dining room all to ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Illyria House, and we were once again blown away. My husband and I went there to wind down after our safari in the Kruger and what a relaxing time we had. We stayed in the Catharina Suite this time, which overlooks the garden and has a lovely roll-top bath in the marble bathroom. We loved sitting on our little balcony and the one evening, we asked for a private dinner which Patience, our butler brought there especially for us. Everything was prepared to the very last detail, from the little nougats on our bed, to the delicate snacks before dinner. We are real foodies and the meals we had there, easily matches the menus in the restaurants of Gordon Ramsay and Raymond Blanc in the UK. The wine list was extensive and very reasonably priced. One new addition to Illyria House was the Thai massage therapist. She was quite amazing and I wished I could take her home with me. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the swimming pool and jacuzzi this time as it was quite windy during our stay. I am sure we will return to do that on our next trip to South Africa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Illyria House and I have to say, this was one of the most special places I have ever been to. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews saying that Illyria House needs updating. The house was in pristine condition and as an art historian, I was amazed at the quality of the antique French and Italian furniture. Such a beautiful collection is rarely even found in European chateaus. Perhaps some of the previous reviewers do not quite understand that antique furniture is not brand new and cannot appreciate their rarity quality.

The house itself is and imposing place in Italian architecture that takes your breath away. The garden is beautifully maintained and such a pleasure to look at.

I enjoyed delicious meals and Foster, my butler heeded to my every whim and need. I loved the massage and the heated swimming pool with its classical underwater music was just magical.

Thank you, Illyria House for a most memorable experience!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Salome Suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illyria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.