We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for young business traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Hatfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Hatfield to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Hatfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1141 Burnett Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Pretoria
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good for young business traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I arrived at the hotel to receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff who directed me to my room quickly. The room was big-enough for a business traveller and very central to shops and restaurants in the city. It was a fair distance from the venue of the conference I was attending, but I didn't mind the drive as the shuttle was arranged by the hotel. The only disappointment was that there was no room service, so one had to either eat lunch at the restaurant (which only offered a buffet dinner), eat out or purchase take-aways. There was also no fridge in the rooms. It was an overall comfortable stay for my short trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear T_Girl

Thank you for post here on TripAdvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your feedback is therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
7
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A very averge hotel. Suitable only for a one or two night stay. Small but clean room and a comfy bed. Spent one night at this hotel with my partner- a little over priced in my opinion. The bathroom was tiny. The hotel situated in a noisy area with a club around the corner, we were on the forth floor and could hear all the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear SandraLiza

Thank you for posting comments regarding your recent stay here on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result of the noise from the night club in the area. We have fitted all rooms with double glazed windows and I am engaging with the authorities to permanently address the problem.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us and will be used to improve our Service and product offering to our GUESTS where possible.
Regards
Etienne Potgieter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good, very good and it was worth every penny. It's a true 3 star hotel with all the amenities one would require and it was clean with no mess insight. I came here with my wife and had an amazing time there. There was shops and restaurants in walking distance. So we didn't feel like pressured into thinking that the restaurant in the hotel was the only option we had when it came to food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kogoshoko

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had an amazing time whilst staying with us!!.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Hatfield and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Etienne Potgieter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are shops and restaurants close by and an ideal venue for business travel. However, the hotel is situated near a club which plays extremely loud music every night from 10:30 until 4 am. This means that it is impossible to sleep here before 4 am.

Room Tip: All rooms are affected by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear SouthAfricaTraveller

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your stay at The Protea Hotel Hatfield on TripAdvisor.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor sleep quality you experience at our hotel as a result of the Night club in the area. All rooms on the Hatfield Square side of the Hotel have been fitted with double Glazing, and I am surprised to hear that your sleep quality was affected. I will address the matter immediately with the Night Club and also double check our rooms to ensure that all window seals are in place and that there has not been any compromise of the soundproofing qualities of our Double Glazed windows.
Best Regards

Etienne Potgieter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to Pretoria for a visit of an embassy.
The hotel location is very close to the embassies zone, so it was perfect for my purposes.
In any case, I found out that the hotel zone was really nice, sure and with many shops and restaurants.
The transfer from Johannesburg airport was organized by the hotel and it was payable (450 ZAR).
I stayed in a double room, which was as per my request on the 6th floor. The room was always very clean.
At the 3rd floor there is a nice restaurant, food at the hotel was really good-quality even if much more expensive compared to the closest restaurants.
From every floor you can have a nice panoramic view of the area.
WI-FI was free and worked perfectly also in the room.
Staff was always friendly.
This is a 3 star hotel, the relationship between quality/service and price was really good. I can certainly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit Pretoria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on business and it was okay. The location was good for me as it was only a 10 minute walk to work and there is a large selection of food outlets nearby and the hotel is also directly opposite the Hatfield Plaza where there is a supermarket and loads of other shops. The Gautrain is also about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, so you definitely can’t fault it for location.

Check in was fine, really friendly chap and none of the issues that previous reviewers have noted. None of the staff seemed ‘confused’. The room was a little on the small side and I was expecting a fridge in the room, so if you are staying for as long as I did, then that might inform your choice as for me, I like to have somewhere to store water and other perishables and room temperature just doesn’t do it. So next time I should check before I book. I didn’t find it noisy though, but my room was facing the rear of the hotel. Wi-Fi was fine as well with a decent enough speed. Occasionally it dropped out here and there but never for extended periods of time, so that really was a bonus.

The restaurant was fine and the breakfast more than enough to satisfy you. I was put off by the buffet when I came down for dinner one evening as it didn’t look that appetising, but then again, I did come quite late, so that was my own fault really. However there was one evening when I was working in my room and just wanted a plate of food to snack on while doing some work without having to ‘make an effort’ to have a sit down meal. There is a sign in the restaurant that says you can’t take food into the rooms, which I can understand if you have had your dinner in the restaurant and then want to take more food away with you, as that’s just out of order. But I was happy to pay full buffet price for a plate instead of sitting in the restaurant and the lady I spoke to was very staunch in that I wasn’t allowed to do this as it was hotel policy. I countered that with it’s fine to bring in fast food from outside, so it can’t be a hygiene issue and she just said nothing after that and ignored me. Which I thought was very rude. And in addition to that policy, you won’t be surprised to know that there is no room service either.

I noticed on a number of occasions there were live and dead cockroaches in the corridor leading to the rooms. I never saw any in the room itself, but it’s slightly disturbing in that regard. If that is an issue, then I can understand the policy in the previous paragraph to a certain degree, but it still remains that you can bring your own food in from outside. And I don’t know of any hotel that doesn’t allow any food in the room as it wouldn’t be in business for very long, so still a little confusing.

The laundry service was very efficient and clothes collected in the morning were returned in the evening. Again, on my penultimate night, I got a call from reception asking me how many socks I had put in to the laundry in the morning as she was arguing with housekeeping about how many there should be. That was my fault as I put in 5 and a half pairs and she though it should be 6. I explained that my socks are pretty much all the same so I don’t have to worry about them being mismatched when I throw one away when it’s got holes in. She took this in good spirits and my laundry was delivered minutes later.

Towards the end of my stay, I found that when I returned to my room at the end of the working day that the aircon would be on, which is fine. However, the temperature that the housekeeping staff set the unit to run at was very varied! On my penultimate night, I came back to find the room like a sauna and that the unit was set to 30 degrees. The few nights preceding that, it was set to aircon and at 16 degrees which is way too cold. And on the days before that it was mainly set at 23 degrees, which was fine. So I’m not sure what was happening there.

On the final day of my stay (I had arranged a late check-out as I was on a night flight to my next destination) a number of things happened. First of all, my key card didn’t work when I tried to get into my room (not a massive drama). Secondly, it was about 1430 hrs when I got back to the room (left at 0800 hrs) and the room hadn’t been made up. Thirdly, I put up the Do Not Disturb sign and half an hour later, I got a knock on the door from one of the staff asking me when I was checking out. So ignore the sign on the door (could have called instead?) and secondly, not be aware of when I was checking out which accounts for the first two points. At 1725 hrs, I got a call from reception telling me that my lift to the airport had arrived. So I went downstairs to check out and after we had cleared the bill arrangements, I asked where my lift was. I was told that nobody had come. I explained that I had a phone call from reception telling me the opposite and she denied any knowledge of this. So I popped outside the hotel, spoke to one of the drivers, who happened to be my driver and he told me that he had already been in and asked for them to call me to tell me he had arrived. I rescind my earlier mention in the second paragraph that the staff were not confused.

So a disappointing end to what was an okay stay and on reflection, I am going to downgrade that to just below average. There’s not much else I can say really as there was nothing outstanding that I could point to which would put it ahead of other hotels and similarly nothing totally bad that puts it behind other hotels. I do think a fridge in the room would be a good idea as there is a space in the corner that it would fit in. And I also think the policy about taking food from the restaurant needs addressing too as well as the cockroaches of course. Which should be the first issue to address!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Crouching Hippo
Thank you for the constructive and comprehensive feedback you posted on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to us not providing room service, as well as for the few issues you experienced during your stay.
Your review will be discussed during our next Management meeting and corrective measure will be put in place where necessary to improve our service offering to our GUESTS.

Pest control efforts at the restaurant next to the hotel may have been the cause for the dead insects you witnessed in the passage during your stay with us. I have also witnessed these and subsequently had my own pest control company investigate the problem and we found that the source of the problem was indeed external. Nevertheless we sprayed the entire hotel as a precaution and no pests were detected.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Best Regards

Etienne Potgieter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here the beginning of April with a friend who was teaching in the village schools. Had arrived late evening from Botswana. Had already been charged on credit card for two nights. They could not find our reservations , were fully booked and sent us to another hotel around the corner. We had to pay there for the night. Protea Hatfield found our reservations the next day which had been through Expedia. The hotel manager said due to the confusion they would give us a comp dinner and breakfast. She never relayed that to the dining room. They would not give receipts. They have overcharged us for two nights, two meals and still claim that the manager did not tell us we would have comp meals. They claimed that the one refund which was not equal to what we had been charged was what we were to receive. I am reporting this to the corporate office and putting it on for all to see on Facebook, etc. These people kept giving different quotes each time I have exchanged emails. Do not let Delta air refer you to Expedia for reservations with this hotel. We have very good results with Grosvenor Gardens Fair City in Pretoria Hatfield. I am having to deal with this from the US.

Room Tip: Do not believe these people when they say they will give you a comp dinner or meal because they misp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MaryKD

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused as a result of your booking not reflecting in our system upon arrival. After follow up and investigation the following morning we managed to find the details of your booking and you were accommodated at our hotel.

We have been in contact with you via email and have given you a detailed breakdown of all charges and these have been balanced back to your credit card expense statement. Due to exchange rate fluctuations these amounts converted at today’s rate may not necessarily be the amounts you paid on the day.

As you were invoiced by Delta airlines and accommodation paid with the airline, we are unable to offer you with an invoice for the accommodation part of your stay, however I will forward you the additional expense receipts via email and be in contact with you to discuss further.

Regards
Etienne Potgieter
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hatfield

Address: 1141 Burnett Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Pretoria accommodation. Protea Hotel Hatfield is situated in the trendy and upmarket suburb of Hatfield. Ideally positioned close to tourist attractions, business centres, shopping malls, embassies and sports stadiums. What more could a business or leisure traveller ask for? It also offers easy access to a host of entertainment venues and restaurants in Pretoria, as well as the Union Buildings and University of Pretoria. The Protea Hotel Hatfield comprises 119 contemporary rooms, designed to offer fashionable yet comfortable accommodation in Hatfield. Every room offers en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, colour LCD televisions, Wi-Fi connectivity and secure digital safes. Bring the kids and take advantage of babysitting services and a 24-hour reception desk, or enjoy satellite TV channels and the bar facilities. As a central hotel in Pretoria, the Protea Hotel Hatfield is located within walking distance of leading attractions and landmarks in Pretoria. These include the University of Pretoria, Loftus Versveld sports stadium and the Hatfield Gautrain station, as well as bus routes and 24-hour medical centres. Enjoy easy access to all major roads and highways, as well as to O.R. Tambo Airport and the city of Johannesburg. Whatever your reason for travelling to Pretoria, you could not ask for a more perfect location for your Hatfield accommodation requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Hatfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.