We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat , clean , but not after dark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Hatfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Hatfield to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Hatfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1141 Burnett Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Neat , clean , but not after dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights to attend a function, the hotel was very clean, but the area did not make us feel safe. The road was blocked with Taxis, we could not get into the Hotel parking area, and at night the area turned into an alcohol for all party.

Room Tip: If you are going to sleep and stay in the night , then it is fine , but else , nope!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
7
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is a pretty standard western hotel but offers everything you would expect it to. The room was clean, the bathroom was a good size with a great shower and the bed was comfy. The location is very good, plenty eating/shopping/drinking opportunities within a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

A quite new hotel in the student area of Pretoria - Hatfield. Lots of bars, restaurants and shops in close walking distance. The best place to eat is surely Papas, 3 blocks away to the right. Also one finds antique shops etc around that restaurant.
The hotel welcomes friendly, even if my reservation was made wrongly for the next day, but a room was fixed in the middle of the night. Good breakfast, free internet (even if one day the system was down and I had to insist them to restart it...). The rooms are large enough for spending couple of days there. It could be good to add on some more news channels to the TV - watchig Sky News only gives one a limited understanding of the world..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010 via mobile

Spent a week there for a conference. Hotel is in unpleasant location in Hatfield - heart of student land and downtown Pretoria is run down anyway.
Parking is in a weird 3rd floor lot accessed by a narrow ramp only wide enough for one vehicle - had to reverse down it and around corners several times to after meeting another car halfway up. Not fun :(
The managers try to be very helpful and solve problems but the dining room staff are horribly grumpy and sullen (interestingly this only affects the female staff - the older males are professional).

If you travel in Zimbabwe and Malawi and are used to charming, helpful service and African warmth - this IS NOT the place you will find it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 334 cities Reviews in 334 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We looked at several hotels the best was the Arcadia Courtyard, but it was in an isolated calm area, and decided to stay where there are stores and restaurants walking distance in a safe area. The hotel was very noise Saturday night since there were rock bands in the square. They stopped at 11:30 PM so it was not too bad. We got a deluxe room which was still on the small side, but comfortable enough. Free internet and parking. Plenty of amenities and a very clean room and white bright clean thick towels. The shower has no pressure and you spend more water trying to get the soap off which defeats the purpose to save water. We went to Cullinan Village a nice little village perfect for breakfast with little shops and restaurants. We then went to visit Sammy Marks museum which is a house of the late 1800’s and learned about an extraordinary pioneer and entrepreneur. From there we went to have lunch at the Blue Crane on the Austin Roberst bird sanctuary and saw the blue cranes and an assortment of interesting birds while we had a nice buffet. In the afternoon we took a driving tour of a very run down Pretoria downtown. The square and buildings are lovely but there are a lot of homeless and trash around. We did not get out of the car. We also visited the Union buildings. Next day we booked a tour through Footprints of Africa to the Cradle of humanity (the next day the paper said the cradle is in Libia!) and Johannesburg highlights. Instead of a guided tour we got a driver for 900 rand a piece. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here during the Danone nations cup football tournament and found the hotel to be spot on. The location meant that within 30feet you could be in the main bar and restraunt area in Hatfield. The staff were great with the owner and manager going out of their way to ensure we were looked after. We wanted to go on safari so he organised it drove us himself and had a beautiful lunch laid on for us when we arrived then brought us to Sun City which was an experience. There was a complimentary bus which brought us where ever we wanted to go and back within a 5 km radius including the main shopping centre. The pool is small though only a splash pool.
Once again top hotel, top location, top owner and top staff.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

located in a nice part of town with everything you need within walking distance. perfect place for the business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hatfield

Address: 1141 Burnett Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Pretoria accommodation. Protea Hotel Hatfield is situated in the trendy and upmarket suburb of Hatfield. Ideally positioned close to tourist attractions, business centres, shopping malls, embassies and sports stadiums. What more could a business or leisure traveller ask for? It also offers easy access to a host of entertainment venues and restaurants in Pretoria, as well as the Union Buildings and University of Pretoria. The Protea Hotel Hatfield comprises 119 contemporary rooms, designed to offer fashionable yet comfortable accommodation in Hatfield. Every room offers en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, colour LCD televisions, Wi-Fi connectivity and secure digital safes. Bring the kids and take advantage of babysitting services and a 24-hour reception desk, or enjoy satellite TV channels and the bar facilities. As a central hotel in Pretoria, the Protea Hotel Hatfield is located within walking distance of leading attractions and landmarks in Pretoria. These include the University of Pretoria, Loftus Versveld sports stadium and the Hatfield Gautrain station, as well as bus routes and 24-hour medical centres. Enjoy easy access to all major roads and highways, as well as to O.R. Tambo Airport and the city of Johannesburg. Whatever your reason for travelling to Pretoria, you could not ask for a more perfect location for your Hatfield accommodation requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Hatfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.