We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Menlo Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Town Lodge Menlo Park to your Saves list
Town Lodge Menlo Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Pretoria
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A very basic inn suitable for short stopovers if you need to be in the area. The office parks of Eastern Pretoria are just over the freeway, which is inaudible from the hotel, as is the giant Menlyn shopping center.
The rooms are tiny and sparsely equipped. I can't remember when last I was in a hotel room with one standard double bed. Couples sharing will be very much on top of each other. The cleaning is fine but with old-style sheets and blankets on the bed. It's best not to inspect the blankets too closely. A very significant omission for business travellers is an in-room safe.
Breakfast is simple but fine. Staff were good too and there is a pool and free computer if needed. Room service from the attached restaurant was quick and reasonably priced but the food was awful.
Fine for a single-night stopover but I'd need a spectacularly good price deal to keep me here longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the front looks at the parking lot and has no privacy. Ground floor at the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please note that our City Lodge and Courtyard brands offer more features and services than our Town Lodge brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in town lodge menlopark for most of my visit to pretoria. Very nice hotel with menlopark mall in the nearby area. hotel is good for business traveler and value for money for the service it provides. though would like to see little bit more varieties during breakfast time i would recommend a good hotel to stay if you visit pretoria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but comfortable with good customer service. The pool area is really nice! The staff were very friendly and eager to assist. I had room-service from the Dros and I must say, it was very fast and piping hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Better than I expected. Clean, comfortable and cosy rooms. Good shower pressure. Liked the fact that there was both a square and round power point socket in the room. Could do with more milk in the tea / coffee tray.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just had a most disappointing stay at the Town Lodge in Menlo Park - not the first time I've stayed there and each time before was great! This time I was given a smoking room which stank to high heaven of smoke and the only response to my complaint was "we'll put the ozone machine in your room" - which did nothing at all to lessen the stink. I had to soak the ashtray beside the bed. Instead of being pleased to get home every evening, I reluctantly went home to the smoky room. I do not appreciate this kind of service. And the irony..... the current slogan at the hotel is "We are kind"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your posting regarding Town Lodge Menlo. We are sorry to hear about your smoking room experience. Please accept our apologies.This will be taken up with management at the hotel. You say that you are a regular guest at this hotel and that your other experiences have been good ones. Rest assured that we will be doing our best to make your next stay another good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing exceptional, but as long as they keep the rooms spotless as they are, we will return. It is convenient, familiar and adequate. Tip - find somewhere better to eat than the on-site Dros!

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwells can be a bit noisy due to rowdy guests, if this bothers you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Town Lodge Menlo Park for a night en-route to Sun City. This hotel is conveniently located close to the freeway, so it was ideal for our purposes. The room was your typical no-frills hotel room, clean and comfortable. It is close to the Menlyn Park shopping centre, which was convenient for finding somewhere to eat. (We had previously had a bad meal at the Dros which is next door, so opted for a meal elsewhere this time) We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but were pleasantly surprised to be offered a brown bag with a complimentary muffin and apple when we checked out in the morning - I thought this was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Lodge Menlo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Menlo Park

Address: cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Menlo Park 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Menlo Park with a restaurant on the property. The hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Menlyn Park Shopping Centre, 10 minutes from the Pretoria CBD, very close to trendy Hatfield for restaurants and entertainment and also a short drive to Loftus Sports Stadium. The hotel is just 1 minute away from the N1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town Lodge Menlo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Menlo Park Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Lodge Menlo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.