We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfrtable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Menlo Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Town Lodge Menlo Park to your Saves list
Town Lodge Menlo Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfrtable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in town lodge menlopark for most of my visit to pretoria. Very nice hotel with menlopark mall in the nearby area. hotel is good for business traveler and value for money for the service it provides. though would like to see little bit more varieties during breakfast time i would recommend a good hotel to stay if you visit pretoria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
3
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but comfortable with good customer service. The pool area is really nice! The staff were very friendly and eager to assist. I had room-service from the Dros and I must say, it was very fast and piping hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Better than I expected. Clean, comfortable and cosy rooms. Good shower pressure. Liked the fact that there was both a square and round power point socket in the room. Could do with more milk in the tea / coffee tray.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just had a most disappointing stay at the Town Lodge in Menlo Park - not the first time I've stayed there and each time before was great! This time I was given a smoking room which stank to high heaven of smoke and the only response to my complaint was "we'll put the ozone machine in your room" - which did nothing at all to lessen the stink. I had to soak the ashtray beside the bed. Instead of being pleased to get home every evening, I reluctantly went home to the smoky room. I do not appreciate this kind of service. And the irony..... the current slogan at the hotel is "We are kind"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your posting regarding Town Lodge Menlo. We are sorry to hear about your smoking room experience. Please accept our apologies.This will be taken up with management at the hotel. You say that you are a regular guest at this hotel and that your other experiences have been good ones. Rest assured that we will be doing our best to make your next stay another good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing exceptional, but as long as they keep the rooms spotless as they are, we will return. It is convenient, familiar and adequate. Tip - find somewhere better to eat than the on-site Dros!

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwells can be a bit noisy due to rowdy guests, if this bothers you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Town Lodge Menlo Park for a night en-route to Sun City. This hotel is conveniently located close to the freeway, so it was ideal for our purposes. The room was your typical no-frills hotel room, clean and comfortable. It is close to the Menlyn Park shopping centre, which was convenient for finding somewhere to eat. (We had previously had a bad meal at the Dros which is next door, so opted for a meal elsewhere this time) We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but were pleasantly surprised to be offered a brown bag with a complimentary muffin and apple when we checked out in the morning - I thought this was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Positives:

Great location, next to freeway, nice restaurant next-door, and close to the Menlyn Park Shopping Centre.

Price is reasonable for the area.

Rooms are small but have all the basics you need.

Negatives:

We were very disappointed with the service and attitude at the front desk. I made an online booking the morning of our stay and paid by credit card at the time of the booking. We have stayed in the Town/City Lodge groups often and it has never been a problem to find my booking, so I didn’t even print my booking confirmation. I am also part of their loyalty program, the lodger club. The lady at the front desk “Lethu” couldn’t find my booking using my surname, I then offered to go and find the reservation on the Town Lodge website using the business centre pc available. I came back with the reservation number – she still couldn’t find the booking.

I then asked her what to do now and she just stated that it clearly says in the “terms and conditions” when making an online booking that you have to print the booking confirmation. She kind of just left us standing there and her attitude was really one of arrogance rather than trying to assist us to sort out the problem.

I then offered again to go back to the business centre pc and print the actual confirmation from their website. According to Lethu the confirmation looked different from the normal confirmations but she suddenly now were able to give us a room.

My wife and I were really upset by then, and told her that we were not happy with the service and she again just referred us to the “terms and conditions”.

We were not given directions to our room and found the two guys booking in before us also coming down the stairs still trying to locate their room.

We found it strange that the Town Lodge booking system would not automatically update after an online booking.

To summarize:
We will definitely stay here again because of price and location; we hope it was just a bad experience with a specific person at the front desk.

But remember to print your booking confirmation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Lodge Menlo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Menlo Park

Address: cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Menlo Park 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Menlo Park with a restaurant on the property. The hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Menlyn Park Shopping Centre, 10 minutes from the Pretoria CBD, very close to trendy Hatfield for restaurants and entertainment and also a short drive to Loftus Sports Stadium. The hotel is just 1 minute away from the N1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Town Lodge Menlo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Menlo Park Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Lodge Menlo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.