We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional at that price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 224

Save Saved
You added Hotel 224 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 224
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   596 Schoeman Street | c/o Leyds & Schoeman, Pretoria 7, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional at that price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days, while working in Pretoria - as mentioned in other reviews, building is nothing special, but the service is really great. Breakfast is a must and everything I needed was provided for. The front desk was very friendly and so was every other person I ran into. Parking in the basement is insufficient and ran out of space twice (not to mention it is the tightest parking spots I have ever had to park in). All rooms have WIFI, and the maid service is safe and good.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Look for the high up rooms -- there is a lot of street noise from local partying on the week-ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
9
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we stayed during the 2010 worldcup and I had made reservations far in advance so early I believe they normally don't allow it, but one of the employees just ok'd it anyway and when we arrived we got the greatest reception, we walked in and the man that made my reservation was there and and once I said checking in Patterson a big smile appeared on his face and in this great happy voice he said Mr.Patterson we've been waiting for you! I guess they had been discussing whether or not we would actually come i'm glad we didn't let him down it was a great moment in our trip. ok now for the hotel no it's not a five star hotel but don't tell the staff because they work like it is. We had a great view out of our room, everything was clean the buffet they had was really good and they intoduced us to one of our favorite things Grapeteiser!!! when we go back to south africa i'm sure there will be one reason to go to pretoria and that will be to see our friends at hotel 224!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staff was friendly...Rooms are very very tiny, you can barely walk around...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed for over a month in this hotel, during my first visit to South Africa, the entire month of January and part of February, thanks to a good deal I got. The good thing about this hotel: friendly Staff, reasonably good food, convenient location with ample indoors parking. From the terrace I could get some great photos of the Union Building. What can be improved?: The rooms are small, the bar was full of groups that put me off end I ended up looking for a better place (to drink or to eat) somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

rooms are stale,tiny, uninviting. Staff are ok. This hotel is way past its sell by date

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivNel, Manager at Hotel 224, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
It is with great regret that we hear about your bad experience in our hotel. Since your visit in November 2009 the hotel has gone through major changes. We have totally revamped our entrance, reception area, bar, restaurant and all conference rooms, we have also totally revamped our rooms with new curtains, aircons, furniture and linnen.

We are continually upgrading all areas.

Since 2010 we have been awarded AA travel guides highly recommended hotel status, as well as being a finalist in our category.

Next time youre in Pretoria, pop in and we'll take you on a tour of all our changes!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Nice Hotel in a good location with a very good restaurant, loved the buffet, the staff was very helpful

they could use more receptionists as there was a lot of waiting time in the reception

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Hotel 224 was very comfortable and friendly. It's motto is "Budget in comfort" and it met that description. In the U.S., I usually stay in Holiday Inns or Comfort Inns and it was comparable. The room was small but clean, nice flat screen TV, towels, soap and shampoo provided, drinkable tap water (in Africa that is sometimes in doubt), very friendly and helpful staff. If I wanted to go somewhere and their van was there they gave me a free ride. If the van was not availalbe they called me a taxi and made sure I got into it safely. The restaurant was good. A complete breakfast buffet was included in the room price, including eggs, bacon, fruit, coffee/tea, toast, rolls, hot cereal, eggs, etc. Dinner was also a buffet, but there was a menu too if you didn't want the buffet. Generally the menu was heavy on the meat, which I'm told is common throughout SA. But they also had good salads and some fish too. All in all, I highly recommend Hotel 224.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, safety, helpful staff
  • Disliked — The neighborhood was a little bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 224? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 224

Address: 596 Schoeman Street | c/o Leyds & Schoeman, Pretoria 7, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 224 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Arcadia, Pretoria's premier budget accommodation affords visitors the perfect opportunity to enjoy whatever the Jacaranda City has to offer. Hotel 224 is literally minutes from the Union Buildings, Universities, the State Theatre, Pretoria Art Museum, hospitals, most embassies, Loftus and other sport stadiums, Major shopping centres and entertainment venues. The Hotel 224 overlooks a breathtaking view of city and the landmark Union Buildings, particularly spectacular at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel 224 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
224 Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 224, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.