We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arcadia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Proes Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Good venue for training and conferencing. Good food (buffet), helpful and friendly staff. Conferencing room always immaculately clean and prepared for the next day. Safe, secure parking. Convenient for delegates to sleep over at the same venue. Not too expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was a little concerned when I first arrived at the hotel, as it looked a bit old and worn, but once I got settled it, I really liked it. Everything was immaculately clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the lady who cleaned my room was especially sweet and friendly. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is exceptional, and the location is great. I would strongly recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,095 reviews 1,095 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
682 helpful votes 682 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

After my first night in the Arcadia, I would have told you that it was a reasonable place to stay. But after the second night, my opinion changed in a big way!
The location is probably not great, but it was okay for me, as I was doing tours that offered door to door service. There are some shops and restaurants nearby, and I didn’t have any issues walking around the immediate area by day or night.
I was greeted by friendly, efficient staff and was able to check in at 9am, without issue. My room was okay – not exactly 5-star, but decent. Included was a comfortable-enough bed, with very lumpy pillows, a narrow desk, a tv, AC, kettle and some coffee/tea supplies, a hairdryer and a good sized wardrobe with a safe inside. Of note, there was no fridge. Included in my booking was a buffet breakfast – good selection of nice food and attentive, friendly staff.
The real problem was that on my 2nd day, the hotel checked in 240 school students. Not only did these students run riot through the reception and public areas (playing games on the elevators which turned a 30 second trip to a 5 minute nightmare), they also checked in these children on the same floor as the other guests – eg. me! Obviously total unsupervised by their teachers, these children made all hell of a noise for the whole night. Three times I had kids banging on my door – when I yelled out they kept banging and I had to open the door and tell them to go away. My complaints to the hotel to do something about them fell on deaf ears – this is where the hotel really failed. So two nights with very little sleep – thanks a lot, Arcadia. If I wanted to sleep in a school dormitory, I would have booked with one! And thanks to whatever school it was that has failed so badly to teach their children respect.
Other little issue – they have signs up saying that WIFI is available for a ‘nominal’ fee. I think they need to check the dictionary, because the charges are ridiculous ($10 for 20MB, $36 for 20MB and $50 for 80MB – prices in Rand) and even then, when I tried to get an internet pass on my second day I was told their computer had crashed!
You certainly get what you pay for! I would not recommend the Arcadia – while the hotel is decent (although quite run-down) the service is seriously lacking. Arcadia cannot be trusted to do the right thing by its guests - you just might find yourself in some sort of high-school excursion from hell. Sounds like a desperate grab for cash from a business that is going downhill fast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Businesslike middle class hotel.
Nothing fancy but good for it's price (appx. € 40)
Regrettable there are no decent eating faciltie other then the hotel restaurant in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

A friendly warm atphosphere, outstanding hospitality a home from Home !!!!

I was resident at the hotel from the 12th June, 2008 -24th June, 2008. During my stay i found that the bed, together with all meals were were of a high standard. A hotel that can be recommended as value for money.

The staff were very friendly and socialble and more than helpful, smiles all round.

Personal thanks to barman/supervisor Robert Ndala and senior recepionist Ciphus, both professionals nothing too much trouble and more than willing to provide an excellent service .Both gentlemen are a great asset to the hotel, keep up the good work, well done !

I highly recommend this hotel and will definately be staying there again.

Michael- London United Kingdom.

  • Liked — The Hospitality, Freindly And Warm
  • Disliked — Internet Too Expensive, Internet Cafe In Mall A Lot More Cheaper.Iron On Third Floor Requires Replacing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Address: 515 Proes Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foothills of the historic Union Buildings in Pretoria, the hotel is easily located just 40 minutes from OR Thambo Airport. Arcadia Hotel offers comfortable accommodation in bedrooms which are en-suite, recently renovated, air-conditioned and equipped with colour satellite TV and Electronic Safes. Wi-Fi in public areas. There are 8 conference venues accommodating from 10 to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.