We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis in a busy street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Capital

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Capital to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Capital
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Lilian Ngoyi Street | P O Box 2154, Pretoria 0002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in a busy street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed only one night and had a compact room with clean facilities. I could not hear the traffic at all. Very near shops and restaurants as well as a reasonable distance from the train. Staff were very helpful although it took a bit of time to get my wireless connection configured.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavCha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Capital, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Kufunda

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Protea Hotel Capital.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Monique Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved our one night stay! After a very busy day of sightseeing, all we wanted to do was go to the Hotel and relax, and that's exactly what we got! We had a lovely little room on the 2nd floor! We ordered room service and although there wasn't much variety, I loved my toasted sandwich. Would definitely go back, as it was a lovely hotel with cheap rooms!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavCha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Capital, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michelle L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Protea Hotel Capital.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards
Monique Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Me and my bf had a wonderful time, it was great I was a bit dissipointed on the way the phone was opperrated when I phoned in tofind out about the rates the other day, but when we got there I feld at home, I was surpriced tho, the morning before we checked out, I'm not sure if it was a cleaner or a guy from the other room,he opend one of the doors that was linked to our room not knowing if there were people or not it was still early round about 8:00! I think action needs to be taken there make sure those doors are locked at all tyms... Not everyone checks out at 10. Other then that we had more then fun ill def go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Respondant, Director of Sales at Protea Hotel Capital, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the Protea Hotel Capital, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
We did look into your comments and took corrective measures.
We hope to have you back in the near future!

Kind Regards
Victoria McLachlan
Sales and Marketing Director of Boulevard Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

A hotel that take care of you like your own mother! They know what this business is all about ! Will tell our friends !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W6
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

we stayed here after our previous hotel was a let down, and choose here for the pool and good rates (R450) its clean and modern but the rooms need maintenance. ground floor rooms are the only non smoking which is disappointing considering your in the middle of the city and i didn't feel comfortable staying on the ground floor. We had a smoking double on the 2nd floor, it was small with many maintenance issues, the safe didn't work, the window we had to force shut and the air conditioning unit clicked and banged so much we turned it off. we moved to another room the following afternoon which was interconnecting, a surprise as we hadn't been told it would be and for some i would imagine that wouldn't be appreciated. Bar staff were friendly although drinks over priced R23 for Hunters Gold, R16 for 330ml coke can,breakfast we didnt have as also believed it was over priced at R130+. Reception staff were the least friendly.
Pool area is clean and nice but not used by many. The hotels in a busy area with a short drive to main shopping centre Menlyn.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the pool to avoid road/barbed wire views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Got this on a Prokard voucher, so I only paid R147.60 for a room worth around R850.00 . I booked the cheapest room and as a Prokard member I requested a free upgrade and I actually got it! It was a beautiful room (deluxe, when I'd booked for a twin) with two big mirrors and a bath. The retrofit shower, however, was a disaster, spilling water all over the bathroom floor! They committed to fix that.

I'm not impressed with Protea hotels' standard pricing, but what you definitely get for the price is consitency; Protea is the only hotel chain that has always met a certain set standard, no matter which of their hotels you use.

Incidentally, across the road you get Moning Star Express hotel, which is quite OK itself if you want to pay less than the usual standard Protea rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Capital

Address: 390 Lilian Ngoyi Street | P O Box 2154, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Capital 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Capital with its lush landscaped garden and glistening swimming pool is centrally located in Pretoria’s Van der Walt Street in the city’s central business district. This convenient location provides easy access to all major highways and O.R. Tambo International Airport is a mere 45 km from the Hotel. Protea Hotel Capital features a themed pub - the Thistle Cocktail Bar, a welcoming GUEST lounge and complimentary 24-hour secure parking for your peace of mind. Savour culinary delights in the distinctive dining room while the friendly STAFF provide personal service to make you feel at home. Explore the golf courses, shopping centres, theatres, restaurants and Government departments of the Pretoria CBD with the hotel’s complimentary transport between 07h00 to 16h00 or make use of the Pretoria Gautrain Station which is within close proximity. If a business venue is what you are looking for the hotel offers stylish conference and banqueting facilities suitable for seminars, dinners and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Capital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.