We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pretoria Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Pretoria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Pretoria for two days. The hotel is nice, the lobby is beautiful and picturesque and the staff are very friendly. But, the hotel is away from everything. There is nothing close by and it can get pretty boring if you are not working or do not have activities planned. The rooms are nice and spacious, the bathroom is awesome. The room cleaning crew are not that friendly but they do their job well. There are flyers that tell you to keep your things safe and that the hotel is not responsible even if things from the safe get lost. I think that it is just a regular update, since I did not lose anything even though I left things in the safe and went out. We got an awesome room on a top floor with a view of the Union Buildings and it was just wonderful.

Overall I would say the hotel is not a bad choice but it is not in the midst of things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear V R

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay at the hotel and enjoyed the bathroom and the amazing view of the Union Buildings. Your feedback in much appreciated as it assists us in improving any service shortcomings.
.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    115
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
22
77
23
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Choose to stay here because I wanted some luxury in the middle of a chaotic 2 week multi city trip around SA. Rooms seem perfectly good. But the restaurant/bar option is akin to an Ibis. Both are in essentially the foyer, the menu choice for both a la carte and buffet is terrible, and the drinks prices ought to make Paris, Helsinki or Tokyo blush. There must be better in Pretoria. Keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear paulcurtley

Thank you for taking the tome to share your comments. I am pleased that you liked the rooms.
It was sad to read that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant as well as the prices of the drinks. I shall share you feedback with our executive team this will help us in our on-going efforts to improve on our guest satisfaction.
We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

For foreign visitors, paying R80 per night to keep your car in the basement (when you are already a paying guest) may seem reasonable, but for South Africans its really ridiculous, and should be included in the room rate.

Internet is pedestrian and often breaks down. Breakfast was good, Lavazza coffee in the room a great touch (as were the recycling bins), but service at the bar and on the patio was slow to say the least....

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel, but for its star rating and the prices it charges, it needs to improve its service...

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Senti2comun,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments about you stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and the Lavazza machine in the room. Please accept my sincere apologies for the slow service you experienced. Your feedback with regards to the price of parking and service has been shared with the relevant departments and will be taken into consideration to improve our guest satisfaction. With regards to the internet our IT manager is currently working on improving the speed of the internet.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon for your next visit to Pretoria.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here twice within a month. As a Starwood Platinum we were upgrade to the 7th floor ( top floor) It also included the Lounge breakfast and happy hour in the evening, which was good. The rooms are fine - standard Sheraton facilities. The staff are good and very helpful. Where this hotel falls down is with the food - there is only one restaurant -and the first time we were there it was only a buffet and my husband was sick the next day.
Also the bathroom is small - with poor lighting - you can not put make up on it is too dark and there are no plugs for hair curlers etc, only a mans shaver plug !
These two issues need to be addressed.
We used the hotel car service to and from the airport both times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Rojaan1,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us you thoughts about you stay and the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast and cocktail hour on the Club Floor. It was sad to read that you did not enjoy the food in the restaurant and that your husband got sick, I know how inconveniencing this can be especially while travelling. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any in inconvenience you experienced.

Thank you for providing us with feedback about the rooms, we appreciate all the feedback we get which will help us in our on-going efforts to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

2nd stay - 2nd time really appreciated the extremely courteous staff all throughout the hotel. A big difference to most hotels in Pretoria area, and making so much of a difference. Location ok. Perfect for short business stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear MarcusZug,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Sheraton Pretoria hotel for a second time. Thank you very much for your appreciative comments about our staff, they work exceptionally hard to ensure our guest enjoy their stay.

We look forward to welcome you back for your third visit to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Neat hotel, very good service, could be the best hotel in Pretoria if they had a good kitchen.
Rooms are big and very well maintained staff is helpful and smiling.
The lobby bar is well furnished and a nice spot to start the evening.
Internet is slow and unfortunately the food is not very good.The swimming pool is too small and sad.
This hotel just miss a good restaurant, and a pool bar that actually works as it is abandoned (you ll just find a phone and the room service number)... then would be perfect.
Thanks for a wonderful stay as usual.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and its staff. It was nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the food and that the internet was slow. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments and will help us in our on-going efforts to improve the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is fine (though over glitzy for my taste) but do avoid the dinner buffet. When I went down to eat at 20h30 it was empty and took ages to restock with poor quality food (Boerewors Casserole???). I was reduced to eating tepid soup while I waited for something more substantial to arrive. There was no butter for the bread and I had to scratch around for cutlery as no one had bothered to relay the tables properly after the hordes who must have decimated the buffet had left. I was never offered a drink so bad was the service. I eventually ate some very poor greasy garlic potatoes, half a gem squash stuffed with frozen peas and a hard piece of fish. Yuk! It was not cheap either.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ChrissieB

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am grateful that your experience in the restaurant was brought to my attention. I would like to take this opportunity to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced.

You’re detailing of your experience has helped us to isolate where we went wrong and how we can improve on our service in the future. Your review has been shared with the chef and restaurant teams who will action and address the points raised to ensure that we provide our guests with the service and products they deserve and rightfully expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.