We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, classy, full-service; relatively reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pretoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 hotels in Pretoria
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Spacious, classy, full-service; relatively reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Probably one of the better/best hotels in Protoria. The hotel sits on a nice hunk-o-land with good visible security throughout. Large open lobby area and check in desks, not a central front desk area make it feel a bit more personal. Welcome drink and cool wash cloth greeted me on arrival.

The rooms are spacious, good views and a fun espresso-like machine in the room. Beds comfortable, marble-shower and full bath were additional nice touches. Two baby-sized bottles of water in the room were complimentary.

Food prices were really steep, particularly for dinner. Dinner buffet was scarce and worth far less than the $25. It was rather embarrasing to the Sheraton brand the limited selection available. Breakfast on the other hand was impressive with treats to tempt foodies of all types. Unfortunately, other eats are not nearby the hotel. Parking was about $10 a day.

The fitness center was decent, including one multi-use weight machine, a set of dumbells and four or so cardio machines and a small stretch/abs area. If fitness is important to you, this is definitly a good starting point (many hotels in SA don't have fitness centers!).

Staff were friendly throughout the stay from the restaurant to lounge, check in desk to fitness center.

Room Tip: Don't eat dinner at the restaurant / seek out better options outside the hotel unless truly in n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Pretoria.

It was such a pleasure reading that you consider the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as “one of the better\best hotels in Pretoria”. Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel, services and it’s staff. Your detailing of your experiences during your stay is highly appreciated as it gives future guests a good idea of what to expect from us and is also seen as an opportunity to evaluate our service level and facilities. We shared your comments about breakfast and dinner with our restaurant team and will look into it.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
15
50
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nr London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had booked an overnight stay which happened to coincide with an ANC conference, also the first day of the Oscar Pistorius trial. As mentioned by other reviewers the TV channels are pathetic - just soaps and Bloomberg. No news at all. We could not find out anything about the trial. The cost of WiFi is ridiculous. Yes first impressions are that it is a grand hotel with smart flunkies but the reality is you have to wait ages to be served or noticed.
The room was fine with good coffee and a large bathroom but was rather noisy.
We also had tried to arrange a day room for a week later as we were returning to Pretoria early in the morning and our flight to the UK was late at night. This proved difficult so we decided to pay for an overnight stay which we would not use. Before leaving our first stay we spent ages trying to explain that we wanted an early check - in an our return and the room should be available at 10.30 as we actually just wanted it for a few hours. When we arrived of course no room was available and we had to sit around waiting until housekeeping had finished at 12.00ish. There was no record of our request. We checked - out at 5.00 so it was an expensive 5 hours.
If I have to go back to Pretoria I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us.

Please accept our most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of TV channels during your stay. We were busy with an upgrade at that time. We are pleased to inform you that we now have 27 channels available.

As a management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff. Your exact detailing of your experiences will contribute greatly in investigating the cause of such issues and taking corrective action to ensure that we provide our guests with the service and products they deserve and rightly expect from Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

We thank you once again for taking the time to detail your experiences and apologise for any inconveniences you experienced.

I sincerely hope you return to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel for your next visit to Pretoria, in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding Sheraton guest hospitality.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We really loved this hotel.

Had an issue with a really loud party also staying there... however the staff moved us to a new room and bent over backwards to make it all good. Excellent location!! Only downside I think it should have free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It was such a pleasure reading that you loved your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the noise.

We look forward to welcoming you at your next to Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice sized room with a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed - very comfortable sleep. Bathrooms well sized and with nice amenities. The TV in the room has only 8 channels - no BBC, CNN or Sky. One of the hotel managers said they were working on an upgrade of their TV system which would be very welcomed! As a business traveler, I wish there were more power points at the desk - both outlets occupied by the coffeemaker and phone/data. There are an additional 2 EU power points but those weren't useful to my UK three prong plugs! Check in process was very nice, the staff at the front desk and those at the travel desk were helpful in answering questions and arranging taxi services. Meals at Tiffins were fine - food is ok, service is not terribly speedy but I wasn't in a rush. The on-site spa is not owned or operated by Sheraton though it doesn't reflect well on the hotel, I arrived for my appointment which I had booked in person the day before and the on duty staff in the salon were not aware of the booking and the aesthetician was not there. They asked me to wait 5 minutes but I was put off by the fact that the two staff members had been washing their own hair in the sinks when I arrived. It just didn't present a professional operation so I cancelled the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and you preferred accommodation during your visit to South Africa.

We are delighted to hear that our staff was off assistance during your stay and that you had a very comfortable sleep on the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed.

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the lack of TV channels. Once the upgrade is completed we will have 28 channels available. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience at the spa. Your comment has been addressed with the relevant department which will help us in our on-going efforts to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit and we will make sure that you have pleasant stay.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sheraton promises a lot from the outside (and inside the lobby). The atrium is quite impressive and it gives the impression of a very professional operation. However, this is certainly not true for long-term stays. In fact, there are little to no perks for long-term stays (beyond a few days). A good example is that there is a total of 45 minutes free internet access in the "business area" for the duration of your stay, no matter how long you are there! The mini-bar is also rarely replenished.

The breakfast is way too over-priced and the gym is disappointing (machines out of order and dirty work-out mats). I am still not sure why a turn-down service is provided at 9:30pm (and then compensated by doing so at 6pm the next day!)!

If you are looking for a decent place just to spend the night this is fine, but not for anything else. It does have good proximity to the Gautrain station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Pretoria. We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments about our hotel and your experience while staying with us.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff which will help provide the services which our guests expect from us.

With regards to the internet access we offer 45 minutes complimentary internet access at the Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft. We do have packaged rates which includes internet access.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria and we will ensure that your expectations are met.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at the Sheraton after a 7 hour drive from St Lucia. The initial greeting at the reception was friendly however during the check in the receptionist constantly picked up the ringing phone, we were keen to get to our room as we were very tired from our long dive, the process took at least 30 minutes! This seemed to be the theme for the rest of our stay, room service was slow, bar food was delayed for at least 20 minutes . We ordered milk shakes by the pool which took 50 minutes to arrive! Unacceptable. We requested late check out, this is available but at a charge of 100ZAR per hour after 1pm, parking was 80ZAR a day and unbelievably the wifi was also charged at 60 ZAR per hour, I would have thought a hotel chain as big as the Shereton would offer this free of charge, like many of the guet houses were stayed in on our holiday.
I would not recommend this hotel, it was a very impersonal experience and very over priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation when visiting Pretoria.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced. We are saddened to read that you were disappointed, in different aspects of our service during you stay.

We very much appreciate your comments as such feedback gives us the opportunity to recognize the areas the needs improvement on our side.

I sincerely hope to have you return for another stay in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding Sheraton guest hospitality.

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding reception at the Sheraton Hotel in 2003. It was wonderful. We had not been back for almost ten years and this year while we had a visit from friends from the USA we decided to stay there whilst showing them the sights in Pretoria. First of all for an early prepaid booking it was only R1200 per night per couple! We had a spectacular view on the Union Buildings, the staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. We had, included in the price, a complimentary mini bar with beer, juice, cold drinks, chocolate and crisps. The rooms were spacious, clean and an order from room service took only a few minutes.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the Union Buildings. The lady said it could be noisy as it faced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your stay with us. It was such a pleasure reading that you had your wedding at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and chose to visit again after almost 10 years. We are pleased to hear that our staff was extremely friendly and helpful during your stay they work exceptionally hard to ensure our guests are comfortable. We will ensure that your compliment will be shared with all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.