We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pretoria Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Pretoria Sheraton in August 2012. This year I observed a remarkable improvement in the check-in process and I was given a double bed as requested. The food at breakfast time is an excellent variety as always and the cleanliness of the hotel is good. The only complaint I had was that my safe failed to work one evening and the manager on duty assured me that it would be fixed early the next morning but the repairs were done after 48 hours. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Pretoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the hotel and its associates. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It’s nice to hear that that you experienced an improvement in check-in process and are pleased with the food and the service offered by our staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. I do apologise for the delay with getting you safe fixed, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    105
    47
    22
    10
See reviews for
21
65
21
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff, uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Sheraton is probably the best hotel in Pretoria and a solid option for business travel. However bear in mind that it is unsafe to venture outside this hotel unless you are in a car. The customer service is average to poor. Check-in is slow and bureaucratic as is the check-out. The rooms are generally good however some feel a bit dated. The restaurant food is OK but repetitive if you are there for a few days. The gym is dated and the staff are clueless. The rooms facing the main road can be noisy especially the lower level floors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do apologize for any service issues you may have experienced during your stay. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we get. We aim to deliver good quality and attentive service, and will continue to address the inconveniences / problems mentioned, in order to provide our guests with the service they deserve and rightly expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
1,189 helpful votes 1,189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is very nice and pretty much up to par with the standards they advertise. Food it good and plenty, rooms are neat and well kept, staff nice and caring.
The only real problem is that the hotel is in a bad area. It is safe though as it is gate and guarded 24 hours per day. Inside the Sheraton is really quite nice. The pool area is perfect with views of the famous landmark park "The Union". I did take the time to get out and walk in the day time around the area and all through town. It really is questionable in every way and the feeling of safety is not that abundant. But I am quite adventurous and tend to go about no matter what location I am in around the world. I am sure this area was absolutely the cream of the crop'' in the past as it is still filled with grand homes and estates that are now run down and filled with all the wrong people, most likely transients. But as long as you stay in the hotel it has plenty to keep you busy and the prices are decent for all the services including a spa with massage, gym, facials, hair, etc. In short, this is a great hotel in a bad area. If this hotel were in a really high end area, the prices would be higher and there would be few complaints here in Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing The Union and pool area. Really nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and had the opportunity to explore the hotel and its facilities. It is unfortunate that the surrounding area is not as safe as we would like it to be, however I can assure you that the hotel staff and security go out of their way to ensure that all our guests are safe and well taken care off.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed one night en route to Botswana. I didn't actually realise it was Pretoria - I thought we'd be in Jo'burg, but this was a happy error. (The 2 cities practically run in to each other.) A pleasant town and the administrative capital of SA so lots of fine buildings and statues, museums and art galleries. The Jacaranda trees were out and the place looked good. I've found Sheratons to be pretty reliable even if a little soul-less. This was a great location, very efficient staff, lovely big room with great amenities. To try and experience a bit of local life, we ate out, so cannot comment on the food. On the whole, pretty plush, lots of diplomats and ex-Presidents staying, but a night was enough and certainly a good place to recover from a long overnight flight.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the parliament buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your visit to Pretoria; it is indeed a very pleasant town with lots to see. The Jacaranda season is definitely one of the prettiest months in Pretoria. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable overnight stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Qabis, Tunisia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The biggest positive of this hotel is its location. Rooms are adequate, but the food is average. The gym is inadequate, but well maintained. There is absolutely no one to help in the gym. The biggest minus is its unhelpful staff. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

We reviewed your comments, and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the lack of service. We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, which will help us in our on-going efforts to improve our service, and ensure that we deliver the products and associated services which you as our guests expect from us. Thank you again for your comments.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I chose this hotel for a meeting because of its great location (opposite the beautiful Union Building), nice rooms and as part of the Sheraton group, the expectation of great service. Hmmm......unfortunately the service doesn't exist. As I write this, I am still in the hotel and have one more night to stay. Where to start......
In our week long meeting, we have had to consistently ask for refreshments, water for the coffee machine, to stop the noise from renovations going on next to the meeting room, even one of the scheduled tea breaks was completely missed!!!!!
There is no service at the pool and when called, staff are sullen.....it took Walter 30 minutes to get a menu to the guest!!!!
There is no bed turn down service
On four occassions, I have seen staff walk into guests as they hurry to get their job done
Staff exit the elevator before guests
Consistent mistakes with orders
Food labeled incorrectly at the buffet
Wake Up call not recieved
Overall there is a clear lack of understanding of what is service in a service industry. The GM really needs to accept responsibility to improve on this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation when visiting Pretoria.

We would like to take this opportunity to offer our most sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced. We do appreciate the fact that you elected to bring your experiences to our attention.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please send an email to robvander.velden@starwoodhotels.com, so we may address it with your directly.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was recommended by the conference we were attending - there is not a lot wrong with it apart form the location. This part of Pretoria is really on a downward spiral and in peak traffic accessing the main routes is actually a bit of work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review of the hotel and its associates. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It’s nice to hear that that you are pleased with the friendly service offered by our staff; they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.