We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel looks great but room a bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Hatfield

Save Saved
You added Garden Court Hatfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Hatfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr End & Pretorius Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Kokstad, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The hotel looks great but room a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel looked great and welcoming, the security is top notch however the rooms weren't that great. The lighting in the room was terrible and the rooms were quiet stuffy.The rooms were very average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
5
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tzaneen, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fantastic accommodation in Pretoria.
We stayed over when watching the springboks play New Zealand

Rooms are perfect and well priced
Many restaurants in the area. Close to the major freeways

Professional staff. Good value for money. Parking available

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed hotel, but the attention to detail - one of the foundations of excellent service - was lacklustre at best. The checkin process was inordinately slow. Not one lamp in my room worked. Nor did the safe. Dining in the restaurant, I waited almost an hour for a stodgy ravioli with a sauce that was mostly ketchup. At breakfast there was no bread available for toasting, and none could be found in time to eat with the rest of my breakfast. After I sat down I was told that I was at a reserved table - not marked in any way at all. Thoroughly fed up, I refused to move. The fact that they didn't insist was miraculous, given how little attention to customer needs is envisaged by the hotel as a whole.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On check in our rooms were not ready so we were asked to wait without any reason, eventually we got one room and no apology was given.one hour later my wife called and they said that they would send the key up and still no apology was given and thank goodness I haven't lit up a cigarette yet when my wife called the front desk to see if it was a smoking room , and yet again adding to the very disappointing service we were told that it was a non smoking room. Mmmm should it be better to just check out at this time or wait for more. Well let's see how much more can go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, SA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our flight got delayed and I phoned and e-mailed the Hotel to tell them we will be late but are still coming. Yet, when we arrived late night, our room "was not available" and we were told that we had to take a smoking room. We were offered a proper room only after we cancelled and started to walk out. Apart from this mishap, the hotel was actually fine, except their "free wifi" which is not really "free" (only a small amount of data for a small period of time is free). Everything was clean and staff friendly, so it was actually a fine stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pretoria was in the middle of a heatwave on Friday the 27th September. I booked in just after 19:00 and no mention was made that A/C system is not functional. I went to the room after 23:00 only to find out that my room is now a sauna. The reception was not helpful at all.

The next morning Lindiwe at the reception arranged to have a fan sent to the room for the Saturday night. This helped a little bit.

Room Tip: A/C system not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Court Hatfield in mid August 2013 and had a great visit! We were part of a convention group & I have to say the hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, & the staff was pleasant & accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located to a couple fuel stations & convenience marts. It also is close to a KFC, McDonald's, & a Fish & Chips style fast food place that was pretty good! They also are within walking distance to a great Indian Food restaurant as well as a great Portuguese restaurant. This hotel offers a buffet style breakfast as well as dinner, but you can also order dinner off of an ala carte menu as well. While the buffet was pretty good, it would be better if they changed up the offerings a little from day to day. My only complaint about the food is that when you order off the ala carte menu, the food was average at best. Another thing to consider is that if you have children, this hotel only offers a maximum of double occupancy. When we checked in with our teenage son, our rooms were on the same floor but there was quite a distance between our two rooms which was concerning, & while we asked for non-smoking rooms, our sons room was directly next to some individuals who smoked quite a bit & this was noticeable in his room. Outside of this, we were pleased overall with our stay at the Garden Court Hatfield & would stay there again if were back in Pretoria.

Room Tip: If traveling with family, specifically request that your rooms are together & make sure if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Court Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hatfield

Address: Cnr End & Pretorius Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hatfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the CBD, the Garden Court in Hatfield, Pretoria offers easy access to the CBD, to the national highways, gautrain and to historical sites such as the Voortrekker Monument and the Union Buildings. Offering the affordability and modern facilities that characterize Garden Court hotels, this hotel is the perfect destination for regular visitors to Pretoria, who appreciate good, old-fashioned value for money in conjunction with warm hospitality and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Garden Court Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Hatfield Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Hatfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.