We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Hatfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Court Hatfield to your Saves list
Garden Court Hatfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr End & Pretorius Street | Kempton Park, Pretoria 1620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is in a good location on a main road but the rooms are not at all noisy the facilities are good with a small splash pool and gym. Staff are pleasant and the service good although we did have to wait for a few minutes during the morning check out rush. We had to change our booking and this was done without hassle. The only slight let down was the food whcih was good but uninspiring and the coffee from the machine in the breakfast room was weak perhaps a bad choice of bean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Ronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey R, General Manager at Garden Court Hatfield, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kiwi_Ronin

Thank you for choosing Garden Court Hatfield on your recent visit to Pretoria and for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your comments regarding the food offering to heart. In the next two weeks we will be launching a new room service, light lunch and a la carte menu.
Once again thank you for you feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our property.
Kind Regards
Mickey Rautenbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Secunda, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a great hotel, the service was excellent, it really exceeded my expectations. Breakfast was great, however, the waiters was a bit too slow to collect the dirty plates and as a result the tables was a bit over crowded with plates. Overall experience was great, this is a must stay. Well done guys, keep up the good work!!!!!

Room Tip: The roomas on the first floor is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickey R, General Manager at Garden Court Hatfield, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Firstly my sincere apologies for the tables not being cleared and leaving a poor impression. We are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Mickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great hotel, in a good location for work that I do and the staff are very good, but the one thing that lets it down is the food - when compared to other hotels.

The breakfast is OK as you would expect from this hotel group, but the evening meal really only caters for the buffet style. The a la carte is limited or if you dont have a car (as I dont have) your then logical chocie is to cross the three lane main road to KFC or MacDonalds...not much choice there then.

The rooms are all good that I have ever stayed in, so really my only critism is with the evening food offerings and I am only comparing with other Garden Court hotels that I use / have used in South Africa.

Room Tip: Request a rear facing room so that you dont get the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had a great time here. Even tho the hotel has been around for a while but the standards are still high. Well all in all the hotel exceeded my expectations. Bathrooms and rooms are modern. Well done guys. Just one Major thing that you guys just need to work on. The pictures that are on this website must be a before but the after that i saw over the past weekend 22nd to 24th June....must be the after. Your pool garden didnt do it for me. Good looking gardens to us travelers helps relax our minds and freshin up for our next meetings. Some water features, abit of grass, less high trees and not forgetting music. Take some garden ideas from Stay Easy Pretoria or Garden Court Umhlanga. Many thanks to the young lady for her help during my check out yesterday. I forget her name but slim and fare in complection. Ow and guys. i think your internet vouchers are abit of a Rip Off. R30 for 15min and R60 for 30min....Really... Come on. Bandwidth is not this expensive now days. I needed to Check into my flight online. Something that will take me 5min was going to cost me R60 because R30 vouchers for 15min ran out. i went to an internet cafe in arcadia. i only paid R4.50 for 15min....Really Guys!!!

Room Tip: If you like a good view from your window. dont use room 347. nothing to see outside but brick walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thokozani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night only and this is our experience:

The check in was a bit unprofessional. They were trying to find a cleaned room for us and this after we have made a reservation and checked in after two in the afternoon. Not a nice start. The hotel staff was very friendly though.

The room was satisfactory, nice bathroom, bed comfy, well equipped. The only negative point i can point out is that the room is quite small and the walls very thin, you hear a lot of noise from your neighbors.

Breakfast was very good, it is a buffet set up but everything i had was lovely.

Centrally located in Pretoria, easily accessible from the highways. Good for a business trip or a weekend visit to the city.

Good solid three star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafrompotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

stayed here for 1 night. rooms and bathroom have been renovated and now feel 4 star. staff are friendly. breakfast room gets full at times but the variety is good. near menlyn shopping mall. has a gym, swimming pool. mcdonalds opposite. would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed for a few days on business and had a good stay overall. It seemed to me to be practically new; decor, surroundings and rooms are all clean, neat and modern. Staff are all very friendly and capable. Meals were nice and the pool was clean. My only problem with the room was that it didn't have a fridge.

Wifi internet was available with a voucher and was fast and reliable. My MTN 3G card struggled to find 3G service on the ground floor but was fine in my room on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbroomhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#19 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Hatfield
Protea Hotel Hatfield
#31 of 70 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Capital
Protea Hotel Capital
#17 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Morning Star Express Hotel
#12 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#24 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hatfield

Address: Cnr End & Pretorius Street | Kempton Park, Pretoria 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the CBD, the Garden Court in Hatfield, Pretoria offers easy access to the CBD, to the national highways, gautrain and to historical sites such as the Voortrekker Monument and the Union Buildings. Offering the affordability and modern facilities that characterize Garden Court hotels, this hotel is the perfect destination for regular visitors to Pretoria, who appreciate good, old-fashioned value for money in conjunction with warm hospitality and personalised service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Court Hatfield Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing