We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Manor to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Burnett and Festival Streets | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa (Formerly Hatfield Manor Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Pretoria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I write my reviews as I see it and I'm sorry, but for us Protea Manor failed to live up to our expectations. Here's why:

Trying to book a room was almost impossible. The website was unable to deal with it, the email contact we had never responded with anything useful (after 4 emails) and we ended up having to use an agent - probably making the cost more expensive.

The room we had was a standard room. On the first night, it was very noisy as the windows faced the main road and petrol garage. Goodness knows why the petrol garage thought it was appropriate to play load music all night. The windows failed to block out the noise and subsequently we had a very poor nights sleep. We reported this to reception and were told that all we could do was PAY to be upgraded so our room wasn't facing the road. Needless to say we didn't bother. The noise did improve throughout the week to be fair, but it was still disappointing we couldn't move rooms without paying a charge.

The rooms were cleaned daily, and the ladies did a very good job, but there was clearly a towel shortage as we had to wait all day for fresh towels. To be honest we would have preferred to keep the same towels all week rather than having to wait every day.

The breakfasts were extortionate (R135), when you could eat around the corner for about R50. The room rates were also what I'd consider on the steep side. The wifi cost was also huge, so make sure you don't download anything big. I have had feedback that they have increased the free wifi allowance from 100mb per day to 500mb - this should help in future.

They were unable to assist us with booking taxis on a couple of occasions. We were told a taxi would come but then it would go off on another job with no warning.

We mentioned the above to the duty manager on two occasions and the response was fairly useless. We were told our concerns would be looked into but we heard nothing. We had to retrospectively email head office to get any sort of answers. Eventually we received a satisfactory response to our comments, nearly a month down the line. I have some faith that our comments were eventually taken seriously so may not become issues in the future.

As far as the hotel itself goes, it is quite nice. The rooms were comfortable, clean, modern. The communal areas were nice. The staff were nice to us, despite not being able to deal with most our concerns. The pool looked OK, though as we stayed in winter too cold to swim. I can imagine that once they get their customer service sorted out this will be a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the main road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Respondant, Manager at Protea Hotel Manor, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr Paton

Thank you for your comments, as per my previous emails to you regarding your concerns we have investigated your complaints and have taken the appropriate action to rectify the shortcomings.
Our new linen has recently arrived so any towel shortages will be elimated in future, however it is not the usual level of service we would like to offer.
We do have double glazed windows to try and eliminate any street noise as we are a city hotel, however in certain cases it may not block out noise completely and I apologise that you had one nights bad rest.
We do have 3 taxi companies that we recommend to our guests for transport further than 5km's from the hotel, therefore there should always be a company that can assist in a reasonable amount of time. I will investigate as to why this was not the case.
I trust you received the refund we did as a gesture of of my concern and in order to show you our true service excellence.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service.

Kind Regards
Victoria McLachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Protea Manor hotel is in the Hatfield area. It is 3 minutes walk from University of Pretoria and the area is safe. The hotel is a brief walk from Hatfield mall and the eating places. The accommodations were excellent and for good price as well. The service was also very efficient and courteous. The breakfast had a good verity of food and fruits. From the looks of it the hotel seems to be recently renovated/extended. A note of caution: the receptionists had a very accent and we had difficulty in getting the bills worked out for two occupants. Although we asked room with breakfast but it did not get on their system properly so we had to pay a bit extra. It was partly our fault as we did not get the breakfast issue cleared up in the mornings. I will strongly recommend the hotel but would advice to have the billing etc. sorted out upfront.

The hotel did not have many extra facilities. The swimming pool was not heated which made it unusable during the southern winters. The gym facility was off-property and costed extra ZAR 110/person/day. But in the price we payed these facilities were not anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Respondant, General Manager at Protea Hotel Manor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Fahadist

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Yours sincerely,
Victoria McLachlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Almost 7 months since we were in hatfield Manor, now protea, and the renovations are just beautiful. You need to visit the place. Went there for a meal and the place looks completely different. A complete makeover. Thanks for the guys behind this. The interiors are great. Good mix of colors, new chairs though i noticed that the tables are still the old ones. Didn't get a chance to spend in their rooms for the experience. For the interiors, meals, the Bar and the service there is value for the time and money. The only annoying thing is the ongoing work which goes on even at dinner time. Anybody visiting may want to find out when all this will be completed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Respondant, Owner at Protea Hotel Manor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Eric

So wonderful to have your feedback, thank you. We have been working hard at the renovations of the hotel since September 2012 and we are nearing the end.
Apologies for the noise caused during your dinner, I know that next time you come and visit there will not be this annoyance as we would have completed our downstairs reception by the end of this month.
We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Victoria McLachlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Manor

Address: Corner of Burnett and Festival Streets | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa (Formerly Hatfield Manor Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Manor provides an urban adventure. It’s chic design and true affordability provides the ultimate lifestyle hotel for all travellers. The hotel is a brilliant reflection of the trendy and life filled city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Chic – stylish, young at heart and utterly cool. The hotel features a trendy cocktail bar, deck, pool, bistro and nail bar. For all laptop nomads, the hotel features 100MB free Wi-Fi throughout. Centrally located in the urban district, just meters away from the Gautrain, University and entertainment hub and within walking distance from Loftus Versveld, 5km from the CBD and 45 min from OR Tambo International Airport. Needing to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city? Up in the rooms, big white fluffy beds and bliss spa toiletries make you actually want to spend time there. Our deluxe and standard rooms are equipped with double glazed windows providing a quiet and relaxing environment in the urban hub in which to unwind. Our 29 self-catering apartments have kitchenettes with refrigerators, stovetops and ovens. Once you're ready to face the world again, the hotel's lobby makes for a great spot to grab a drink and catch up with friends. All GUEST rooms at the Protea Hotel Manor are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.