We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Kloof Restaurant

De Kloof Restaurant
Waterkloof Golf Estate | Johan Rissik Drive, Pretoria 0000, South Africa
0730928562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 357 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: De Kloof Restaurant endeavours to break the mould in Pretoria and offers high quality food at great value, in a beautiful setting.
1 review
“Disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We tried the 5 course tasting menu on our first visit to De Kloof. The food and wine was above average, but they can do a lot to improve their service. They seemed very rushed - a Friday evening at a fine restaurant should be a calm and relaxing experience. Also, the wines were not always delivered with each course, and we had to wait, and with the main course even ask for the wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    26
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We did the degustation menu with the wine pairing. The wine is out of this world and the food was the best I have ever had. Absolutely incredible. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and knowledgable and the food was creative, well presented and delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Devine food and wine in Pretoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of dining at De Kloof. If you are looking for the best of South Africa in food and wine, do yourself a favour and book in!

It was clear right from the amuse bouche that dining was going to be on another level and no course disappointed. Behind their simple and elegant food (made from the best produce) is a complexity that is exciting. If you're used to Michelin starred food, this is where you want to go. Paired with the food is an expansive wine South African wine list. Boutique and well selected to complement whatever you select.

Definitely the best culinary experience I've had in a long time!

So looking forward to returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed this experience, from starter to dessert. The restaurant is small but very nice. The meals are small as expected from fine dinning and very enjoyable. Service very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“De Raw fish encounter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As part of a party of 25 people attending a birthday party, we ate at this place the 22 nd of June
The venue is nice, overlooking the golf course.
We had a set menu selected by our host.
One of the main course dishes was " Seabass" which I chose, but what a disappointment- the fish was not properly cooked.
When a big party dines at a restaurant it is an ideal time to impress the guests and show off, but this place stuffed it up!
This is a pricy restaurant, not for the faint hearted.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kloof Restaurant also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to De Kloof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kloof Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.