We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, Quality and personal attention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 hotels in Pretoria
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Views, Quality and personal attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The rooms at this guest house are of an exeptional quality with attention to detail in the little things like great quality linen and towels. The view is to die for and encompasses the whole city bowl. On various visits I have encountered heads of State, celebrities and notables who like me enjoy the personal touch offered by a family run establishment who are willing to go out of their way. I love the downstairs bar where guests can relax on the lovely terrace. Oh and by the way...for a change great wi-fi....and its free.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view over the front garden. They each have a little terrace - very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent a single night here before a trip on the Rovos Rail, which seems to be a common reason to stay at 131 Herbert Baker. They readily accommodated our early check-in after our flight.

Facilities: The room was very comfortable (with a huge bathroom), the wifi worked well, and the views from the restaurant were nice (save for the power lines).

Location: The hotel is in an upscale neighborhood/suburb of Pretoria, and as far as we can tell is not close to much (certainly not close enough to walk). We had booked our own tour, and so got out for the day, or I am not sure how we would have occupied our time.

Food: Their Grissini restaurant does not seem to have a separate entry, and if you stay here you'll be eating a good portion of your meals there. The breakfast was excellent -- one of the best of our trip. Salads and appetizers were quite good, as was dessert (we had the red velvet cake three times). Mains, however, were not as good as the rest of meal.

Service: Overall, the service was a little chaotic for what aspires to be an upscale hotel. It was hard to tell who did what, as everyone seemed to do everything (desk, waiting, bar, service, etc.). The guys primarily working as waiters were really nice and friendly, but one of them seemed to get flustered when there were more than two tables. Check-out took a very long time.

Transportation: We needed to get some rand from an ATM, and the hotel drove us to the nearby shops free of charge. They also provided our transportation to the Rovos Rail station, our other frustration with the service -- at check-in, we specifically arranged a 1:30 departure to have time to take photos in the train yard. About 1pm that day, they wanted to combine us in a vehicle with a separate large group going to the station (who had just sat down to lunch and would take some time) and tried to assure us it would only be a "5 or maybe 10 minute drive." I pushed back, insisting on the previous arrangement, and we ultimately left about 1:35pm. It actually took 25 minutes with the driver maneuvering VERY aggressively -- and that other group wound up being the very last people to arrive at the Rovos Rail station, missing the welcome champagne!

It was an excellent place for a single night stay before/after the train, but I don't know that I would use 131 Herbert Baker for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We use 131 Herbert Baker for all of our discerning overseas guests. It is such a beautiful hotel located in the heart of Pretoria and has an amazing view. It only has 8 rooms with a stunning Presidential suite. This boutique hotel has it all for all ages. It is also located close to the shops and restaurants, even though it boasts the best restaurant on the property itself.

Room Tip: When you book you cant go wrong as all the rooms have a lovely view and they are all cosy, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was luxurious and comfortable. The second night of our stay we ate dinner at the hotel and it was so delicious that we returned the third night. We had speical dietary requests and the chef went out of his way to accommodate us. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I have found in many years travelling - not particularly cheap but well worth it. Reception was most helpful, room was very comfortable, food was excellent. Location offered lovely views of Pretoria's jacarandas.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at 131 on Herbert Baker after going to Notten's Bush Camp for a 3 day safari. We only spent one night there, before going to the Pretoria station for our Rovos Rail trip to Victoria Falls. Wow. They arranged for Gift to pick us up at the airport and bring us around to the guest house. Three people helped us take in our bags, brought us water, arranged ice in the room, and checked us in. What a beautiful setting. We sat on the patio outside our room door looking over the mountain side to the city and enjoyed a great cheese and snack tray from the kitchen. The room was modern, luxurious and spotless. In the morning, Mike came around from the entry and walked up the tiled patio to greet us as we are sitting outside again. Mike owns the guesthouse but is only the boss when his wife is not there. He clearly wants to satisfy just about any want or whim. We asked about changing some cash for smaller bills and he told us his accountant has not arrived yet but he will check. Regardless, he will arrange for our driver to stop at an ATM on the way to the train station. At breakfast, we had no less than three waitstaff helping us. If we are in Pretoria again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Did not know what to expect as we arrived at our hotel in a very elegant and private residential neighborhood overlooking Pretoria. We were treated as special guests, even though the hotel was at capacity. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle until we were driven to the train station, every effort was made to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. The service, food, beverages were all excellent. The kitchen was outstanding as was the wine selection. The owners and Willem made sure that every request was handled with courtesy and professionalism. Our room was beautiful, spotless, and spacious. Lucky us to have found 131!

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exquisite boutique hotel is grandly situated on the famous Herbert Baker street in Pretoria. Boasts breathtaking views of the city whilst offering an elite clientele the luxury of exclusive accommodation in the privacy they require. There are seven individually appointed luxury bedrooms with private balconies and breathtaking views. The rooms are beautifully furnished in an understated elegance. Each room has large, comfortable beds (extra length king-size or extra length single beds (twin option available upon request), fine linen, telephone, wi-fi, TV, air-conditioning, hairdryer, mini bar and digital safe. Luxurious gowns matching slippers range of amenities complete a stay that surpasses a five star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.