We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“131 Herbert Baker in Pretoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“131 Herbert Baker in Pretoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We use 131 Herbert Baker for all of our discerning overseas guests. It is such a beautiful hotel located in the heart of Pretoria and has an amazing view. It only has 8 rooms with a stunning Presidential suite. This boutique hotel has it all for all ages. It is also located close to the shops and restaurants, even though it boasts the best restaurant on the property itself.

Room Tip: When you book you cant go wrong as all the rooms have a lovely view and they are all cosy, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was luxurious and comfortable. The second night of our stay we ate dinner at the hotel and it was so delicious that we returned the third night. We had speical dietary requests and the chef went out of his way to accommodate us. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I have found in many years travelling - not particularly cheap but well worth it. Reception was most helpful, room was very comfortable, food was excellent. Location offered lovely views of Pretoria's jacarandas.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at 131 on Herbert Baker after going to Notten's Bush Camp for a 3 day safari. We only spent one night there, before going to the Pretoria station for our Rovos Rail trip to Victoria Falls. Wow. They arranged for Gift to pick us up at the airport and bring us around to the guest house. Three people helped us take in our bags, brought us water, arranged ice in the room, and checked us in. What a beautiful setting. We sat on the patio outside our room door looking over the mountain side to the city and enjoyed a great cheese and snack tray from the kitchen. The room was modern, luxurious and spotless. In the morning, Mike came around from the entry and walked up the tiled patio to greet us as we are sitting outside again. Mike owns the guesthouse but is only the boss when his wife is not there. He clearly wants to satisfy just about any want or whim. We asked about changing some cash for smaller bills and he told us his accountant has not arrived yet but he will check. Regardless, he will arrange for our driver to stop at an ATM on the way to the train station. At breakfast, we had no less than three waitstaff helping us. If we are in Pretoria again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Did not know what to expect as we arrived at our hotel in a very elegant and private residential neighborhood overlooking Pretoria. We were treated as special guests, even though the hotel was at capacity. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle until we were driven to the train station, every effort was made to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. The service, food, beverages were all excellent. The kitchen was outstanding as was the wine selection. The owners and Willem made sure that every request was handled with courtesy and professionalism. Our room was beautiful, spotless, and spacious. Lucky us to have found 131!

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

131 Herbert Baker is a gem of a hotel. The staff is attentive, the rooms are gorgeous, and one simply feels at home. The owners are wonderful and go out of their way to make sure that your stay in South Africa is not only utterly enjoyable, but also successful. In our case, they volunteered superb relocation services. If your rooms faces out back, you have a chance to see some wildlife from the comfort of your own bed. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: If you want to see city lights, face out front. If you want your chance at spotting wildlife, face o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

From the time Willem Potgieter met us at the door until we left four days later we were treated like we were the only guests. As I normally stay in budget hotels, the 131 is easily the best place I have ever stayed. The rooms are perfectly inviting with every detail well thought out. The hotel restaurant served the best food I've had in Africa. From their version of a continental breakfast to the exquisite dinner entrees, everything was perfect. The team even made a to-go meal for our safari as we left long before breakfast started. I cannot say enough good things...STAY HERE!
and thank you to Willem and his awesome staff.

Room Tip: IF available choose a room in the front overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exquisite boutique hotel is grandly situated on the famous Herbert Baker street in Pretoria. Boasts breathtaking views of the city whilst offering an elite clientele the luxury of exclusive accommodation in the privacy they require. There are seven individually appointed luxury bedrooms with private balconies and breathtaking views. The rooms are beautifully furnished in an understated elegance. Each room has large, comfortable beds (extra length king-size or extra length single beds (twin option available upon request), fine linen, telephone, wi-fi, TV, air-conditioning, hairdryer, mini bar and digital safe. Luxurious gowns matching slippers range of amenities complete a stay that surpasses a five star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.