We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretoria's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fumo

Fumo
48 Bronkhorst Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
0123460916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 365 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretoria's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've been fans of Fumo since it opened in Pretoria. The service is excellent, the wine cellar is comprehensive but above all the food is the star. Chef Claudio brings his Italian heritage and global experience to South Africa's capital city to highlight simple but authentic - he is Neapolitan - cuisine. The soups and pasta are fantastic but Claudio is an expert with fish. The (relatively) new pizza oven allows the Fumo team to take the humble classic to a fine dining level. Don't miss the Italian classics on the dessert menu or the strong coffee and huge range of grappa to close.

We will miss Fumo we when leave South Africa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    35
    29
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A placed called Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

People long for good food, good atmosphere, good service and mostly value for money!
if you are one of those, Fumo will be your detination of choice....whether during the night or night, the atmosphere is to die for! the food is wonderful, as natural and tasty as you would want!
my advise here would be clear and simple..."i cant wait to go back"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Complimenti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Thanks to Claudio, and the whole Fumo staff for the amazing food and overall experience!
a real piece of Napoli abroad...
from starter to the great coffee (Lavazza), it was all perfect!!!

I cant wait to go there again x

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best italian restaurant in Gauteng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The place, the food and the service, really excellent!! As an italian, i have been looking for a place like this for long in Gauteng! And as a Napolitan, I finally found an original pizza coming from my own city! I will be there many times!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Italy in Pretoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I go to Fumo very often. I like the atmosphere and the decor. It's not like the other places in Pretoria where sometimes you feel a bit cramped up. You can have a nice dinner with your friends or your partner in total privacy. The food is very good and all the dishes are freshly made which is very rare. The prices are good if you just look at the menu and very diverse. The specials are a bit more expensive but give you another level of food. I have never been disappointed by the specials and also every week Claudio and his team try to make something new. And every time it's a new experiment of very nice food. My favorite starter is "il salumiere" which is for me the starter in Pretoria considering price/quality/quantity. So if you like salami you have to try. My best special is the black pastas which is just amazing. The pizza base is just for me the best of Pretoria and respect the italian pasta without being too fancy like in most of the other places. My advice is just to go and try the Claudio's food because it deserves it. By the way Claudio is very good to give you an advice for the wine and always try to make you like at home !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fumo also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Fumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fumo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.