We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Mosaic

Restaurant Mosaic
The Orient Hotel | Elandsfontein, Crocodile River Valley, Pretoria, South Africa
012 3712903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 357 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Innovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved it. Great innovation and terrific flow of courses, Staff are outstanding, helpful and an asset to what was a well thought through menu. The food (as expected) was the highlight of the evening but all other facets were terrific. Well done!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband is a "foodie" and whenever I really want to treat him to something really special I take him to a fancy restaurant. From all the fine dining restaurants we have been to (around the world and including Michelin star restaurants, none beat Restaurant Mosaic. Chantell Dartnell (the Head Chef) is an artist and takes you on a gastronomic adventure with her meals. The Restaurant is located in the Francolin Conservancy and is in a beautiful Morrocan inspired building. What comes out of Chantell's kitchen is pure bliss that will tickle your taste buds and make you wanting more.We always have the degustation menu with the wine pairing - a marriage made in food heaven! This is fine dining at its absolute finest!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I passed the sign every day and thought nothing until one day a work colleague asked if I had ever been to this restaurant. Intrigued I looked at the sample menus and decided to go based on the menu. Well what a find and what an experience. With the chef personally walking you through the menu which consists of numerous tasting bits for starters then main and dessert all accompanied by wine,this experience was 3 hours of taste delights. I could not believe how long we had been there and whilst the +R550 per person may sound a lot, it really is good value and a great experience with many dining areas and the tower is on my list this summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The most outstanding, brillaintly presented french gourmet food! A true feast of the senses hardly matched any where else in the world!!! A must eat, certainly one of the very best restaurants i South africa and in the world!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worthy of a Michelin star or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Regrettably the inspectors of the Michelin Guide do not venture that far south, otherwise Chantel Dartnall, Head Chef of Restaurant Mosaic, would surely have had a star or two to add to her long list of accolades.

We chose the six-course degustation menu with wine pairing for our diner. What a gastronomically adventure! Each dish challenged the palate with unusual tastes and textures, seamlessly fusing East and West into what Chantel calls “botanical cuisine”. Everyone in our group of twelve agreed that this was truly a memorable meal.

Tip: Book a room at the exquisite The Orient Boutique Hotel and stay the night. Breakfast the next morning is a feast in itself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mosaic also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Restaurant Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Mosaic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.