We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - amazing staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kievits Kroon to your Saves list
Kievits Kroon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - amazing staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just come home from a fantastic stay. Everything was great, from my initial enquiry until we checked out. The spa facilities were very clean and the treatments top class. But what both my husband and I commented on was how friendly, attentive and professional every staff member we came onto contact with was. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Manager at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It's very rewarding to get such a positive review, thank you. I will be certain to pass on your comments to all the staff, who really do go the extra mile for our guests.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
72
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great venue for a weekend getaway or a conference with team members. beautiful grounds and well laid out so you do not feel the place is crowded. Stayed in Exec rooms, simple but I did not spend much time there so that was OK. Nice pool. Food was good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Many thanks for this great review. I appreciate you taking the time to post it.
Hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I would probably visit again but was disappointed by a few small things. On the first evening the air-conditioner made a massive noise and we couldn't keep it on or sleep well. They did send someone to fix the next day after I asked so it was fine then there after.

Also the cleaners who cleaned up on our corridor put music on in the one of the rooms whilst cleaning all the rooms in our corridor at the same time and we couldn't have a nice long sleep in on that day (think they had a conference to get ready for). It was a noisy area of the estate. It was a week day but it was dissapointing that it wasnt as quiet as I had hoped.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I apologise that your experience at Kievits Kroon was disappointing and assure you that we have taken your comments seriously. All the air-conditioners were checked during the recent closure of the hotel for our annual maintenance programme and will be monitored closely. The housekeeping team has been made aware of your comments and the fact that it is absolutely not acceptable to disturb sleeping guests. We pride ourselves on the peace and tranquillity of the estate and will ensure that everything is done to ensure that our guests can continue to enjoy these benefits when staying with us.

ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've just returned from a night booked with 3 other couples at Kievits Kroon. The facility is spectacular, you feel as if you've entered a wine estate in Franschoek with elegant Cape Dutch buildings, lush green lawns, tall trees and beautiful gardens and water features.

We stayed in a luxury room which was perfectly elegant and clean with all the facilities one could need.

The pool area is ideal.

The only criticism I have unfortunately is a BIG one - the restaurant buffet was sparse and the dinner left a lot to be desired. The restaurant and bars lack ambience as well as a few elements of finesse which would make all the difference to your experience. The buffet was closed and cleared at 10pm without informing us so we missed out on dessert and at 10:10pm when the heavens opened and we required seating inside the restaurant we were told to sit in the foyer as the restaurant was being cleared!

Breakfast had a better offering but still lacked finesse and organization as we had to wait for people to leave before we could be able to get a 2 tables put together to seat our party of 8. The booking was made as a group booking so they surely should be aware of the number of guests needing breakfast.

I would recommend trying the a la carte restaurant when staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary remarks regarding the estate, our gardens, rooms and pool.

I want to apologise about your experience of our buffet. I cannot understand why the food was cleared before you had finished eating. This is absolutely not the way we do things. Our staff are normally very careful about ensuring that everyone has had dessert before the food is removed.

I had a discussion with the manager who was on duty at the time, and he explained that as you were the only table left, and you were sitting outside, the staff commenced with setting up for breakfast, which is acceptable. Unfortunately they did not expect you to want to go inside as they thought you had finished eating. The foyer, as you know, caters for an overflow in the restaurant and is set up with tables, so it seemed to the staff to be a good solution to seat you there.

I apologise again for the inconvenience it caused you.

I am also sorry you had to wait for a table for breakfast. The hotel has been unexpectedly busy for this time of year and this has put our staff under quite a lot of pressure. We are making every effort to try to ensure that we deliver the kind of service we have become known for, and hopefully we will not disappoint again.

Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent 3 days at Kievits Kroon with a conference and we had an amazing time ! The first impressions as you drive in - Tranquility ! Feel like you are far away from the hustle and Bustle of teh city life and yet in very close proximity of Johannesburg and Pretoria. The accommodation provides a confortable retreat after a long day in conference with airconditioned rooms, comfortable beds and even a choise of the type of pillow you prefer ! The Conference venue was really well equippedand the staff are really helpful and friendly. The Restauarant and Bar areas provides a great setting for meals and relaxation. I can recommend this venue, not only for companies for conferences but also a retreat for couples or even a family !

Room Tip: There are a variety of options but I prefer the Cape Dutch style units (3 together)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed your conference at Kievits Kroon, and the tranquility and comfort of the hotel. Our proximity to Johannesburg is indeed an asset, as is the friendliness of our staff. You have described us, and what we strive to be, in a nutshell. Thank you for this great review. We hope to see you back again soon. Should you decide to bring your family for a stay with us, please be aware that we welcome children over 14 years of age, to ensure that we maintain the peace and tranquility we have become known for.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Becarful the hotel is not really in pretoria but 18 kms away from the city and not easy to find without GPS.
The hotel was built as a replica of the cape houses, the estate is quite big rooms are clean and confortable.
It is not a business hotel but more for a seminar or romantic geteway.
Service is fine, food is just average south african style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kievits Kroon is indeed a country estate outside of Pretoria (and we advertise it as such), which makes it ideal for romantic getaways and out-of-city conferencing. We send all our guests a map with directions when they make a booking, just in case they don’t have GPS. The directions are also on our website.
I am glad you found the rooms and service to your liking and hope you will be back to enjoy a leisure break with us!
Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I loved the service here. The food was great too. The estate is beautiful. The rooms are large and well-equipped except that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. There is a full spa on the premises. I would go back again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for this short but sweet review. I think you summed us up brilliantly - a beautiful estate with great service and food! We hope you will indeed be back.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kievits Kroon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.