We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene yet regal- the Cape's grace brought inland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kievits Kroon

Save Saved
You added Kievits Kroon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Serene yet regal- the Cape's grace brought inland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had a wonderful weekend out with my husband. The service was consistent and the staff were gracious at all times. we booked a spa package with a gourmet lunch - it was devine. I was impressed by both the menu and presentation of the menu. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for this great feedback. I will make sure that your comments reach our staff. Head Chef Sammy Mashile will be delighted that you enjoyed his new gourmet menu.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
60
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our company had a year end function at Kievits Kroon and all 50 guests stayed over night.Very nice setting, with upgraded security since the honeymoon suite shooting incident of 2007.The rooms were up to standard.However few mood spoilers really left a bitter taste. The food was mediocre with very small portions and most of the guests were still hungry after dinner. During the function our company's camera went missing from one of the tables.Furthermore, the Barmen were on the take. Not ringing up all transactions and offering drinks after the till was closed for a cash reward.In the morning of check out we found that some of our equipment got stollen from the venue. All lost/stolen items were reported in the morning post our event to the staff on duty. Two months post the event we have received a very short and careless response from one of the managers to say that they have not retrieved any of the missing goods.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am obviously distressed to hear about the missing items and your experience in the bar. I am also disappointed that your complaints did not receive the proper attention. I take this matter very seriously and would like to address your concerns personally. Please will you send your email address to md@kievitskroon.co.za so that I can contact you directly.
Alan O’Leary, Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend for our anniversary with the true romance package. We had an amazing time!! Kievits Kroon is an amazing place to stay. The spa is beautiful and all the treatments were all great. We had delicious food the entire weekend (had a gourmet picnic, buffet dinner at Kingsley's, buffet breakfast at Kingsley's and lunch at Granita).

The staff are all friendly and helpful and nothing is too much to ask.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Kievits Kroon and for this great feedback. We hope to see you again next year!
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Following a previous visit which was below par, I was very pleased that management took note of the issues that I had raised, and that they addressed them. We had a return visit in Sept. 2012 and we experienced Kievitskroon as it should be. Everything was just perfect - the food was again "absolutely superb", the room was quiet and tastefully furnished, and very private down in the bottom corner of the estate. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout. The gardens were magnificent. Kievitskroon is certainly a 'spoil destination' that we will re-visit .. only next time it will be for a minimum of a 2 night stay so that there is enough time to enjoy the spa, pool and gardens. In my opinion, based on the last visit, Kievitskroon is the top destination for a relaxing indulgent week-end in the Pretoria area. Well done to Mr Schutte and staff!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room down in the bottom corner of the estate - it's very private and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
I'm delighted that we were able to match your expectations this time and assure you that we constantly strive to sustain the high standards our guests demand. Thank you for giving us a second chance and for taking the time to write this great review.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Kievitskroon is a secluded oasis of calm, luxury and enjoyment. Although I was here for only 2 nights on a business trip, my stay was extremely pleasant. The conference facilities are top-class, the food is delicious & the service is excellent.
I stayed in a lovely room, with an extremely comfortable double bed, en-suite with modern fittings (bath & shower) & also DSTV included. There were some problems with the wi-fi, as the room was a bit far away from the hotspot. Therefore, I'd recommend that people choose a room closer to reception or the main area/restaurant if Internet is required. As it is also a spa, guests are allowed to use the spa facilities at certain times - which makes the stay even more enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend the continental room service breakfast - it is absolutely top-class & the staff really go out of their way to please.
Overall, a definite must for business events & luxurious escapes.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to reception/main area for better wi-fi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience on TripAdvisor. With regards to the Wi-Fi, since your stay in May, we have implemented a programme to install newer access points in all the rooms. This will be complete by the end of the month. I think that you will find the connection much improved when you visit us again.
Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a relaxing overnight breakaway experience that left us with a pampered feeling of contentment.
The staff was extraordinarely interested in how we experience the service offering. (right through from reception, to the bar, restuarant and spa)
The food was fantastic, the grounds were exceptional, the accomodation luxurious and the spa peaceful and relaxing.
We received a hearty welcome, adequate attention and left feeling like long time friends.
All the worth while to visit and enjoy !

Room Tip: The luxurious suites are suitably located to provide privacy and peace (if you like to take a stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Your comments are extremely gratifying and it is great to know that we are getting it right! We do pride ourselves on our service and make an effort to maintain the high standards we set. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Celebrating our recent anniversary on the 16 th and 17th of December at Kievits Kroon my spouse and I were really impressed by the all round EXCELLENT SERVICE from ALL STAFF.

It really was a WOW!! experience in that from check in, to the Spa, to the Dining Room, to Breakfast we had amazing service from every staff member. In fact, this made me turn through the bedroom brochure and we were not surprised to find that the leader of the Organisation personally puts emphasis on treating his staff as the important key to Customer Excellence. Mr O' Leary, our compliments as Dr John C Maxwell puts it so succinctly: 'Everything rises and falls on Leadership', so well done!

We loved the beautiful setting and will certainly return.
Doc Anthony and Michelle van Tonder, Executive Coaches

Room Tip: Make sure you request the rooms with the larger shower, even if you have to pay slightly more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for this great feedback! I'm delighted that you experienced Kievits Kroon's great service first hand. I will ensure that all our staff see this review.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kievits Kroon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.