We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get Away from City Life - Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kievits Kroon to your Saves list
Kievits Kroon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Get Away from City Life - Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for a short drive get away from Johannesburg as we did not want to be to far from the city - we stumbled across the ultimate jewel of a Hotel - Kievits Kroon - only 45 minutes drive from Sandton.

From arrival to departure the staff were excellent and friendly and the quality of the stay was excellent.

I highly recommend Kievits Kroon - try eat in both the Fine Dining Granita as well as the buffet in Kingsleys.

The spa is out of the world and very affordable too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your romantic getaway and appreciate you taking the time to compliment us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
72
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went to Kieviets for a Birthday weekend and stating on booking in it was for a birthday, I did not expect the reception I got from all the staff that we dealt with. On arrival we had drinks while waiting to check in and the staff member that came to check us in surprisingly new it was my bday and sang happy birthday to me, surprisingly he had a very good voice as well... The room was very nicely presented with a basket of biltong, chocolates, sparkling wine, etc. At dinner I was served with small chocolate cake and happy birthday written on the plate, was a very nice experience the dinner in itself. I would strongly recommend Kieveits Kroon to all my friends, family and clients. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room presentation is awesome, the food is exceptional, wine list is great. All in all an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are pleased to have been part of your special day and glad that you had a good birthday. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this very nice review.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This place was beautiful. It reminded me of a gorgeous country estate that might exist in the southern U.S. The location was difficult and we had problems getting a reliable driver who knew where we were going and almost missed the wedding we were there to attend. The estate would be better off to keep their own drivers as we did not feel safe in the vehicle they arranged for us. It appeared to us that they did not take care in booking someone reputable even though they were given ample notice. It was a little disappointing considering the cost to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
The issue with your transfer is regrettable, but unfortunately the very reliable transfer company we normally use was not available. I apologise for the inconvenience and stress that this caused you.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to the venue where we had to attend a wedding. The driver that was provided for our transport was inept, having to ask directions from Kievits Kroon staff, stopping at 2 gas station enroute and not even seeing the sign for our destination. What should have been a 5 to 10 miinute drive turned out to be 45 minutes and we almost misse the ceremony that we had come to attend all the way from Canada. Very nice accommodations but make your transport arrangements carefully or rent a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We apologise for this bad experience with your transfer. We use a very reliable local company for guest transfers but they need to be booked in advance and I understand that they were not available on the day.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We've been to Kievitskroon twice now and all I can say is great food, wonderful staff, comfortable rooms and a spa worth visiting. This establishment is well run with staff that's properly trained in customer satisfaction. I can highly recommend Kievitskroon for a getaway that will create beautiful memories!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review.
We hope to see you at Kievits Kroon again soon.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I went for the Lazy Sunday package at Kieviets Kroon and it was one of the most memorable days of our lives. We started at the Spa where the service and friendliness of staff was exceptional, the facilities were spectacular and the massage was one of the best I've ever had. After that we went for the 3 (actually seven) course lunch where once again the service was fantastic, and the food was of top quality and well presented. Finally we ended off by relaxing in the Jacuzzi as the sun set. The facilities were exquisite and clean and the ambiance of the lodge makes one feel as though one is of royal importance. I cannot recommend this enough! And on top of all this it is extremely well priced and great value for money; we'll definitely be doing it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Lalabam

I'm delighted you enjoyed our Laid-back Sunday package ("Lazy" is a good word to describe it!), which is relatively new and proving to be very popular. It's a great way to prepare for the new week.

Many thanks for posting this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kieivits Kroon.

Kind regards

Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I decided to get away and relax. The beauty about Kievits Kroon is that you do not have to drive far yet the moment you drive into the gates you feel as though you have escaped into another world of relaxation and tranquility. We were welcomed with a cocktail and very friendly staff. The Cape Dutch architecture and beautiful gardens add to the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Katevh
Thank you for this great review. You really have captured the essence of Kievits Kroon - a fantastic escape just outside the city. I'm very happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kievits Kroon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.