We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Pretoria
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Was on Business in Pretoria and chose the City Lodge. Rooms were OK and lots of Restaurants in the area for Food.
The location was good and a pleasure to get around. The area is safe and at night time a lot of action by the mall next to the Hotel.
There is some construction happening next to the Hotel at the moment but does not affect anybody after hours. So you can still have a good nights rest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
5
1
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel was good value for money. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel had mostly business people when I stayed there and the dining area provides great space for small meetings. Although the hotel do not serve dinner there is a small shopping centre 20m walking from the front door. Here you can find restaurants or pop in to Woolworths for a self serve supper. The hotel serves a great breakfast offering a wide variety of choice. There is major building next to the hotel but I was never disturbed by the noise. The only down side was slow serves at booking in but it was at peak hour. I can recommend this hotel for a worth while stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is my second time at the hotel and the first time was during construction and everything was chaos outside the hotel, just about the time the hotel was completed a few years back. I had a very comfortable stay this time around and although the hotel was busy, the service at reception was quick and friendly. I stayed in a room with a twin bed, which was spacious and had a good working air conditioner. There is no bar fridge in the room, just a kettle with coffee, tea and milk. The TV works well and shows some local channels and a few pay channels. There is a small gym for a workout and a lovely pool for those hot summer days. Breakfast was awesome with hot and cold foods to choose from, better than most options that I had at overseas hotels. You can enjoy breakfast in fine South African style.
The waiters are friendly and ready to clean your dishes from the table and provide assistance at breakfast or supper. I will defineitely return in the future if the service stays above average as it is currently.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east is quieter and warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for the second and last time for two days in February.

Very rudely treated at check in. I arrived early and had to wait for a room. No problem at all with this, I understand. However, three times the receptionist told me I should have told them. Then when I asked how long it would take she said she had no idea and I should have told them (4th time). I said, calmly, that she wasn't listening to me and that all I was asking was how long. The reply was I wasn't listening to her and I should have told them earlier.

On the second day I had a series of calls to make from 3pm. At 11 I asked for the room to be cleaned and went out. I came back at 1pm and nothing had been done. I phoned down and repeated the request. at 3.30 someone came to the room, finally.

The construction isn't nice but that isn't the hotel's fault. Poor service and frankly rudeness certainly is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. We apologize for the rudeness from the staff. Please give us another try as this is something we will definitely look into. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The construction site outside my window was a hindrance to work and sleep. Despite being assured that the workers would be done shortly, the noise continued past 10pm.... Whilst I would gladly sit in the lobby away from the noise to work the internet reception is so poor on my modem outside my room I am forced to purchase the costly internet of the hotel. Staff at the hotel were not able to change my room nor willing to allow me additional access to their network so I could at least work in peace.... I enjoyed my stay here before but this was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room FAR from the construction!!!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. I arrived very early on the first day and was able to check into the room straight away.
The breakfast was great and the service was excellent.
The bedroom was a very good size and the bed comfortable.
The only complaint would be the level of noise from other rooms at times which thankfully didn't disturb my sleep. I could hear TV's, showers etc...
I would certainly consider using this hotel for my next visit on business. I don't think I would choose this place for a holiday.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, Usa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel...fairly new, so everything is in good shape. It is mostly there to service some local government offices, but is fine for tourists, reasonably priced, and with full restaurant facilities with a shopping mall next door. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety including cooked-to-order eggs.

We arrived after an overnight flight, and contrary to promises made to our local contact (and confirmed shortly before our arrival), our room was not ready. We had to stow our luggage and go out for the day unshowered. That was really the only disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for staying with us - sorry that your room was not ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.