We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It met expectations - It isn't a Grand Hotel but an Efficient Travel Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Pretoria
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“It met expectations - It isn't a Grand Hotel but an Efficient Travel Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I looked around at different hotels for my stay in Pretoria, City Lodge won because of the closeness of the small shopping mall and location for heading out.

Pretty much you turn in the Shopping Centre and the hotel is on the left hand side, they have a man on a "temporary gate" stopping casual shoppers from using the hotel car park. I drove and was swiftly allowed entrance and I parked in the good sized underground car park.

I'm not sure what it is with South Africa and Hotel Reception but rarely do you get a "great service" and City Lodge continues with the relatively bland service at their reception. They will help you, but when they are ready and it seems to be a time of day thing to how helpful they are willing to be.

The hotel is clean and appeared well maintained in all areas, my room was a good sized and very clean including the bathroom. All facilities were working which included a good size safe, good aircon, reasonable TV, a good sized working desk with International Power sockets and a good desk light.

Whilst the room was fine, it is a "noisy" hotel and by that I mean you hear pretty much everything from adjacent rooms and those above you. It is a thinly constructed building, which radiates noise. This is further exasperated by the single glazed glass windows which keeps little if any outside noise out.

The room I had on the 2nd floor was always cleaned and made up by my return, I didn't see any plates hanging about outside rooms. I did hear the maid drop some once though but was all cleared by the time I hit the corridor.

Breakfast between 6-9am on weekdays gave a good choice of food, the happiest person I met in the hotel was the Chef at breakfast. There were always lots of waitresses, unfortunately you had to chase them for any service such as Coffee or Tea as they congregated together. Even with an occassional supervisor / manager at breakfast, service does not improve and I failed to see the benefit she bought. However I always finally got my tea or coffee, it would just have been nice for them to tour the tables to see if anyone wanted service!

The hotel does do light snacks between 12pm and 10pm, although I would highly recommend you walk out of the hotel into one of the many good restaurants in the adjacent Lynnwood Mall.

Outside of those times you are restricted to their limited vending machines, there is a sign which says "ask at reception for change". Each time I asked reception, they didn't have any change and there was no effort to get any for the next time. Perhaps remove the sign, or provide a change machine or move to 24x7 room service?

There is an outside pool, I didn't use it but it looked fine and there was outside seating.

Whilst it wasn't the best hotel I've stayed in, I've still given the Hotel a "Very Good" as it delivered on what I expected for the price and description. With some tweaks here and there it can become a lot better.

Room Tip: Well if you take a room on the front, you are opposite the mall and local night Life. Not too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    56
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
3
1
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location to the restaurants across the street. The staff is clueless and blatantly does not care. The owner really needs to work on this as the reviews consistently show "service" and the reception as below acceptable. They did not have a room ready when I got here and said it would take 30 minutes to get one ready. Took more than two hours plus another 20 minutes just to do the check in. Requested a voucher for wifi internet access and it took them more than 3 hours to bring me the voucher after I called reception two more times and walked down personally to ask again. Also, housekeeping came into my room while I was at work and took my towels, but did not make up the room. I returned to my room and noticed my towels were gone (and not replaced) so I assumed housekeeping would be coming back shortly to finish making up the room. I did some work for a couple of hours while waiting for housekeeping until the jet lag kicked in and forced me to take a nap. An hour later they started to knock on my door. I asked for them to come back in an hour as I was sleeping. However, they came back twice more in the next 10 minutes. I finally told them that I did not want housekeeping as this was the only thing I could do to get them to stop knocking on my door. The following day I called reception to request the towels that were not replaced. They told me they would send them right up. After 35 minutes and two more calls to reception, the person at the reception desk started to get snappy with me and cut me off when I was talking. I went down to reception and spoke to the manager on duty directly. It took a total of 40 minutes to get towels, and the manager brought them personally, because they clearly do not know how to control or train their staff. Seriously pathetic. No mini fridge and no room service after 10pm. If you get hungry at night there is a vending machine with chips and soda. I don't eat chips or drink soda but bought some chips out of hunger... and twice they got stuck in the machine. If you do order food from room service, expect your dirty plates to sit outside your door the entire day. I walked by in the morning to find dishes outside a room by the elevator, then came back after work to see the same dishes there, then went out at night and came back to find them still there. This happened with two other rooms the very next day. The staff always appears to be bothered when you communicate with them. The staff makes it very apparent they they hate their jobs and dealing with people. They are rude to everyone. There is only one gentleman (really tall guy) who has been nice, respectful, engaging, and smiles. I have not seen a single other staff member smile or say good day.

Room Tip: Unless they lied... they told me that all the rooms are the same. I find this to be untrue as I see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
While we are glad you like our location, we're disappointed that the rest of your experience was unsatisfactory - we will definitely look into this on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights of a 7 day trip. The hotel is very clean, the bedrooms were large and comfortable. The location is excellent, with plenty of great restaurants nearby and the butchers across the road does the best biltong I've ever eaten. Also, the gym isn't a gym, its a cupboard with a couple of pieces of equipment in it.
My only gripe was with reception, specifically when checking out. The first time I checked out took about 20 mins. I actually thought the receptionist was hacking the FBI, rather than trying to get my bill sorted. No time for breakfast as a result.
The second time I tried to check out, it was supposed to be charged to my company, however they couldn't (be bothered?) to find confirmation of this, so had to pay myself. Irritating.
Sort out reception, and this is a hotel I would wholly recommend for the business or leisure traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments about our hotel - we will certainly look into the reception issue which seems to have let us and you down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I only write this review of what happened to me at breakfast because it has happened to me a few times at the Lynnwood City Lodge (note - NOT at other City Lodge hotels!)

At breakfast I had my muesli and fruit and coffee. When I was done with this, I ordered a refill of coffee. My plan was to leave the refilled coffee untouched while I went to fetch some scrambled eggs and toast. I hoped this would keep my table for me while I was away. (In previous instances I have left a newspaper; and once even my cell phone on the table - the newspaper got thrown away and the cell phone handed in a reception). You see the recurring problem? The staff is too eager/effective in clearing the tables - they forget that single travellers do not have anyone to "keep" the table for them. In any case - back to this visit - I returned 3 minutes later with my scrambled eggs to find my table occupied! Not the fault of the new occupants - serviettes in front of these new people folded and standing upright, my full coffee taken away, new cutlery etc....
I had nowhere to go!
As I said - this has happened before! No, the coffee was not half full so that someone could have thought it was left and the table occupant left permanently.
What must I do - bring my own poster next time that says "table occupied"?
BAD SERVICE City Lodge Lynnwood!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - sorry for the staff being too eager to clear the tables; we will certainly look into this on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is centrally located just of the N 1 highway in Pretoria. Fantastic area and restaurants close by. Big comfortable rooms with wifi. No fridge in room, only 15 min. Free wifi time. Mattress was superb. Breakfast not included but affordable.

Room Tip: Park in the under cover parking available to guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind review - we hope to welcome you again soon to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The greeters very professional and very friendly. Clean, breakfast menu excellent as well as the hostesses. Had trouble with safe in room make sure working properly before using. Would be nice if TV had more free channels as well as DVD player. May think about adding inside pool, also need own shuttle to airport or discounted rate. wii 15mins free could be increased or free as other hotels have.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had nice outside view. Did Not have room service could not delete rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us - watch this space, as they say, re our wireless internet offering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Okay this a medium priced chain hotel - a sort of South African equivalent of the UKs Premier Inns, but where as Premier Inns have really got their act together in terms of service and value, (Honestly a UK hotel that doesn't rip you off and treats you as a valued customer!) this branch is a very poor advertisement for the brand. The hotel is an attractive building, and the guy at the front door even greets you in a pith helmet, but the next impression you get almost wants you to turn tail. The team at reception, without exception in my experience of two visits, are sullen and unwelcoming. They barely make eye contact, they make no attempt to welcome you or acquaint you with the hotel's facilities, and if the answer to your question is a negative they just shake their heads and don't even verbalise their response. The rooms are okay and well maintained but the all important impression is that you're just another customer and they don't care whether you enjoy your stay or contemplate a return visit. I certainly won't be back!

Room Tip: Come prepared for an indifferent welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.