We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Pretoria
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well located and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here for three nights eventhough it was for work only.

What I liked:
Location - was able to get a massage, go to the supermarket or choose from a choice of great restaurants all at walking distance
Team - I liked the diversity, friendliness and professionalism of the team. I forgot my phone at breakfast one day and one of the waitresses handed it to reception for me. They also called taxis for us when we needed them. Check in and out was efficiently carried out.
Rooms were cleaned every day and to one of the highest standards Ive encountered.
I love the reception/bar area, had a few drinks and coffee with a muffin (delicious!).
My colleagues enjoyed the pool, I didnt get time to use it.

Room for improvement...:
Get my laundry on time. I had to chase it twice.
Gym is small but functional and opens long hours

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We appreciate it and hope to welcome you again as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I arrived earlier than check in time and was told that no room was available (despite having been aranged through my work that one would be available). The reception staff were not so much rude as just very uninterested and not particularly friendly. The breakfast was good but service is very, very slow at the bar and the restaurant - I ordered a sandwich for lunch one day and it took over 45 minutes to arrive (after I had enquired twice as to where it was) with no apology.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is nice as there are a number of shops and different restaurants opposite the hotel but I would not choose to stay here again as poor service lets the hotel down. No free wifi either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will certainly look into your complaints as we pride ourselves on our friendly and efficieint services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed over on Saturday night at city lodge at Lynwood bridge and was pleasantly surprised at the level of service. Will definitely stop there again. Great location. Convenient to shops and restaurants. In the past stayed at the one up the road.... The town lodge which was also good, but this one is even better with so many great places to eat right outside the hotel. Had dinner at Co Cacchio and breakfast at Tribeca.... Both places I would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which was great in the morning to sit and watch Pretoria come to life
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your favourable comments about our hotel, its services, and its proximity to many facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I frequently stay at City Lodges, but this one, together with the Umhlanga hotel, is my favourite. In fact, since their first week of opening I have returned frequently. It is especially the location that is appealing: the highway is easily accessible, and there are a number of restaurants within 50 meters of the hotel. There is also a theatre (the Atterbury Theatre) in the precinct. The only real issue is that there is the constant noise of construction activities during the day - and they start early, like 06h00!

Room Tip: Although the area looking out over the restaurants may become noisy late at night with the revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good business hotel..little costly but shopping complex and restaurants in surrounding is very nice...staff need to be more polite and educated to talk with guests....quite rigid in their attitude...rooms are of perfect size for business traveler definitely not good for family...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The rooms and food are fine, but there's abit of schooling needed for the reception staff. First they mispelled my name, though i didnt feel that was anything, he yelled "FIX IT!" I didnt feel that was respectable. Instead of apologizing you instead shout to me Fix it? He was too bossy & kinda argumentative when i said i am ok with error. Also when my cab came to pick me up i was at the restaurant taking breakfast having checked out afew minutes before and when my taxi driver came up asking for me, they tell him that the had no customer by my name! Abit more professionalism needed at the reception!! Lesson-Go there and stay quiet because the staff will most likely annoy you. Just have as little as possible interaction with them and you will be fine.

Room Tip: the rooms arent sound proof, so if you have noisy neighbors you wont have peace. the ladies on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I arrived late on a Sunday night after a long haul flight and although the check in staff were very friendly it was a little surprising to be told that room service stops at 8:30 on a Sunday and nowhere in there area delivers so dinner was a bag of chips and a bar of chocolate from the lobby vending machine. overall the rooms are well appointed but just with some amenities you'd expect are missing, no mini bar fridge for example. service is not the fastest in the world and they would probably benefit from some competition in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.